We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Doubletree Times Square, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #163 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Doubletree Times Square, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

I've stayed here twicw with my wife. The location is perfect for shows, walking distance to attractions, etc.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rates
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MATravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,852
    2,435
    674
    208
    135
See reviews for
3,631
1,243
178
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

Our family of 5 stayed at the Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square November 21st - 25th and loved it. The room accomodated the 5 of us perfectly, and we loved the location. Our kids were visiting New York for the first time and the Times Square location really wowed them. We liked the central location and walked most everywhere. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were suprisingly quiet. Would highly recommend staying here, we felt like it was a good value for the money.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no pull-in area for taxi pick-up or drop-off -- felt like we were blocking traffic trying to exit a taxi
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fieldsfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

Just returned from a one night stay at the Doubletree to see a show and NYC at Christmas. We were able to check in early and given a room that overlooked the M&Ms store, my son's favorite place. We were a 15 minute walk to everything we wanted to do. Yes, the crowds are hard to navigate when you exit the hotel, especially when the theaters are starting and letting out, but that's the fun of Times Square, you just go with the flow! The lobby construction looks almost to be done, but it wasn't an inconvenience at all. The rooms are huge compared to NYC standards, separate bedroom, living room, big bathroom and wet bar in the living room. We will be staying at this hotel whenever we return, it's great for families. Also, if you are traveling with children, Mars 2112 is a really fun place to go to dinner. The food is so, so but the whole experience is "out of this world."

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kristy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

I booked this through "cheaptickets.com". What a perfect location! I was in NYC to celebrate my birthday with friends (nov 14). I booked it the day before my birthday for less than $200 including tax!
It faced the lights of Times Square which made me so happy I booked there. I really felt like I was in the middle of it all when I looked out the window. The room was HUGE for NY. Two rooms, one queen bed, one pullout couch and a bathroom which was bigger than the one I have at home!
2 TV s and a mini-bar.
Wow, what a good deal for the money.
Granted it is not a 5-star hotel, but I really considered this a "score" for the money - and it was just a couple blocks from Winter Garden theater where I saw Mama Mia! Caroline's comedy club was next to the theater so I had a really nice birthday.
Having the weather be 60 degrees was a bonus, but I can't guarantee that for you.
I can say the hotel was great - also allowed late check-out.

  • Liked — took dogs for no fee - also right in the middle of everything.
  • Disliked — had to go up 2 flights to get to lobby
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank betti14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2008

I booked a Hilton Honors stay at the Doubletree Times Square for Dec 13-17 and was pleasantly surprised! After reading some reviews on check in and potential rude employees I was a little concerned.
No need to worry and this place is in the middle of everything you need to get to. Having never been to New York we found it very easy to navigate to our broadway shows and pick up the tour bus across the street.

Also if you are an Hilton Honors member you receive 2 breakfast copupons for each night of your stay. At $25 per breakfast that definitely helps out. If we visit New York again I wouldn't hesitate to book at this Doubletree again.

  • Liked — Location right in Times Square!!!
  • Disliked — Lobby under construction-but we knew before booking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BradS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed at the hotel from Dec 12-14 using Hilton Honors points. We arrived from Los Angeles at 7 AM and were very pleasantly surprised when they allowed us to check in early. We were given room 1202 which faced Times Square. We were very happy to get a room facing all the lights and sights of Broadway right beneath us.

There were 3 of us staying so it really came in handy to have the suite with the family room and the pull out sofa. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable and I was told that the sofabed was also comfortable. We also liked having a microwave and a fridge in the room for drinks and leftovers.

We were somewhat low in the hotel on the 12th floor since I believe the hotel has 40+ floors but the noise below was manageable. We didn't have any problems sleeping. The heater in the room wasn't the type to set by degree and was tricky to find a medium between warm enough and too hot but once we did it was fine.

The location of the hotel is the main reason why we chose this hotel and we were not disappointed. It is right across from the TKTS center and we used it one afternoon to get tickets. We saw a couple Brodway shows and it only took 5 minutes to walk to either of them because of the centralized location. We spent the remainder of our trip at a hotel a few blocks east and missed the location at Times Square. There is a subway entrance right beneath the hotel that we took downtown and the location is great because there is so much within walking distance including Rockefeller Center, Central Park, 5th Ave, and more.

I was worried about the hotel lobby being renovated before the trip but it was no problem at all. You need to take an elevator from the ground floor to the lobby on the 3rd floor but it was no problem at all and added an extra sense of security.

Overall we really enjoyed this hotel and location and when we come back to NYC we will stay here again. It's a great place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelRinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

We are just finishing a one night stay at this hotel, which is the ultimate central location if you are visiting Times Square and the theatre distric. Hotels are booked and rates are up in this week before Christmas, but we scored a suite with two queen beds and a big pullout sofa in the living room for $332 including all taxes etc. The accomodations are much bigger, better and more comfortable than anything we have experienced in NYC in that price range. We would return here in a minute!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#205 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,999 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#168 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#97 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,027 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#49 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing