We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always under construction but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #171 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Shibuya, Japan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always under construction but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

A very nice place to stay--a suite for the price of a hotel room, and children/family friendly. Just across from TKTS and 5-10 minutes from most Broadway theaters. You step out of the hotel into the Times Square area, something that will seem very lively to some but crowded and gross to others. Breakfast is good here, and the restaurant Gingers is OK, but most visitors venture out to eat, and outsiders seldom come in. A room key is required all day to get into the elevators that take you to the reception desk. Recently, they have added a concierge desk on the ground level. Furnishings of the suites are basic, and the doors seem to be made of plywood. And then there is the seemingly endless construction--over seven years in my experience. Still, I return here for convenience, space, moderate price, and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Higher floors and facing Times Square, which looks better from high up and far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear jtdorsey,

Thank you so much for staying again with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so happy that you had a great stay! We want to let you know that we are also, happy let you know of the changes: the scaffolding, it is gone! Lobby with unveiling soon! We hope to see you on your next trip! Thank you so much for your review and your feedback!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,037
    2,552
    715
    229
    148
See reviews for
3,869
1,305
184
737
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have stayed at a few Hitlon Hotels in New York City and I find this location to be the best. The rooms were big, clean and had great views of Times Square from the 30th floor. The Breakfast was a great buffet and and everyone (staff) was great. It rained one day ans the front doorman went out of their way to find me a cab.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear William J E,

Thank you so much for staying with us again on your last trip to Manhattan! We are so happy that you had another great stay! Thank you so much for your FAB review! See you again soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here on a personal trip to see a concert and used points. The location could not get much better if you are into the Times Square atmosphere; however with the constant NYC construction, don't be surprised if you walk right past the front entrance. The lobby of the hotel is getting a face-lift, apparently, also. Check in was easy and so was getting to our room. We lucked-out and were given a corner room (3703) on the 37th floor, which looked down on Times Square...pretty cool.
At first the suite seemed small, but the way it wrapped around the corner of the building was perfect. With the pull-out couch being located near the entrance of the room, you could not see the other person from the bed. Smart and well designed.
The bathroom is my reasoning behind the missing star in the rating. While the dual sinks were a nice touch, the shower was lacking. I understand why a hotel might not want to have a full tub, which is fine, but if you are going to go this route, at least make the shower larger. Really nice room before this point.
Breakfast was great the next morning, good cook-to-order chef and attentive staff which I honestly was not expecting. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: High floor numbers ending in 01-03
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpreston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear jpreston1,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so happy that you had a great stay! The views are great! So sorry about the construction! All hotel upgrades will be completed very soon! We hope that you come back soon! Thank you so much for sharing your experience!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I recently stayed at the Doubletree in Times Square. Even though the lobby was being renovated, we were able to leave our bags before check in and we were called when our room was ready. The location was excellent! We were able to walk all over mid-town. The suite worked well for our group of 6 and being on the 34th floor gave us a great view but a quiet night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Andrea B,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are thrilled that you had a fin stay! The upgrades will be completed super soon! Please come back to visit! Thank you so much for your fin review!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

excellent hotel right in the middle of time square new york.within walking distance of shops,entertainment everything.no need for cabs.the night life is brillant and shops do not close till late.then again shops are open early in the morning.the hotel the doubletree hilton was excellent with there morning breakfast,lunch,evening meal.you just could not fault the staff for there manner and would go to lenght to help you at all times

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Felan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Felan L,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so excited about your review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience! Thank you so much for the praises of our Staff members! We do so hope that you come back soon! Thank you for your 5 star rating!


Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

they have great prices and big rooms i stayed there 4 days and it was very good i paid 130 usd per day for suite .we was 5 people with 4 different rooms everything it was great .i recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iphonemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear iphonemania,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so happy that you had a great stay! We are so happy about your recommendation. Come back soon!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Doubletree Suites in Times Square. This hotel is in the heart of Times Square, on Broadway across from TKTS. We knew there were renovations underway, but didn't expect that there would be no signage for the hotel. I drove around the block 3 times trying to "find" the hotel; we'd just been passing it as there are no signs identifying the hotel. Also, they don't mention on their webpage that there is NO place to stop to unload luggage and people; you just pull over to the curb in front of the hotel and hope for the best. Once we found where we needed to be, a bellman got our luggage up to the 3rd floor (where the temporary check-in desk is) and then went to park the car- no offer was made for us to self-park in the hotel's garage (actually not the hotel's, just the garage they use) although this is described on their webpage.

Check-in was smooth, and although we asked for an upgrade to a king bedded suite (and it was available, for the same price), we let the desk clerk convince us to take the queen bedded suite because of the "amazing view." What he neglected to mention was that this was a handicapped access room, and while the view from the 27th floor was impressive, the room itself was tiny. With the sofa bed opened, there was no way to go from the bedroom into the living room unless one went through the super-sized bathroom (bigger than our spare bedroom at home). Of course, it didn't really matter, as with the sofa bed opened there was ZERO floor space in the living area; you couldn't even get to the countertop where the microwave and coffeemaker were located. Also, it was impossible to open the fridge when the sofa bed was opened; the foot of the bed went smack up against the TV stand, where the fridge was located (in a cabinet under the stand surface). There was no real table, just a work desk area with a rolling desk chair, and no other chair in the room. This was very, very awkward for a family of 4; myself, my brother, and his two tweens. As we brought our aerobed, we put the tweens in the queen bed, I slept on the sofa (not pulled out, just on the sofa, so there was space for the aerobed) and my brother took the aerobed on the available floorspace; this way we could access the fridge in the evenings. As mentioned, the bathroom was HUGE. Water pressure in the shower was mediocre, and the shower head is actually a hand-held model, so when it was "mounted" the spray came out at a very awkward angle; you had to stand directly, completely under the spray as it came straight down on your head. Also, although the tub had three different safety grab bars, there was no tread on the bottom of the tub. It's the slipperiest tub I've ever showered in, and I fell the first morning. Also, the minibar sink doesn't drain well; there was always standing water in there for at least 5 minutes after rinsing a glass or otherwise using the sink.

There is a business center with three desktop PCs and a wireless printer. In-room internet access must be purchased unless you are a Hilton Honors gold or silver member. In this day and age, I think charging for internet is just a money grabber, especially in a room that cost $350 a night.

Upon checkout, we were informed that if we wanted to pick up our car ourselves, they'd only charge us the self-park, not the valet park fee, but that we'd need to walk a half-block down 47th Street, with our luggage, to the parking garage. We opted to do this to save the $15/day difference between self-park and valet parking.

Overall, the hotel is clean, staff friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. Unfortunately, I feel we were "bamboozled" into accepting an inferior room; handicapped accessibility is a booking option that we did NOT choose, and to be stuck in an extremely small suite with no access to the fridge and minibar area when the sofa bed was in use is unacceptable; at the very least, there should have been the offer of a lowered rate or free internet or SOMETHING to make up for the inconvenience. The desk clerk was SO eager to inform us of the "amazing" view; he should also have been fair and told us that this was a handicapped access suite. I guess my caveat here is to make SURE you don't get stuck in a XX02 room (we were 2702) without ensuring it's not a handicapped access room- unless you don't care about space (and really, if you don't care about space, why would you book a suite?)

Room Tip: ASK if you are being assigned a smaller, handicapped accessible suite; the desk clerk didn't men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Lee B,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your last stay in Manhattan! We are so sorry for the experience you have endured. We will be addressing all issue to all departments. We are so sorry that the room type was not accurate. Please note that we always have a dedicated care line to assist you. Thank you so much for expressing our Friendly and Helpful Staff! Please do e-mail us directly at rshafi@dtnyc.com so that we can give our personal attention. Thank you so much for review and your feedback. We do hope that you give us another chance.

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,781 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,160 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,873 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing