We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #180 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Doubletree Time Square”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was a family vacation and we had a great time. We had some issues when making reservations and my wife ultimately spoke with the General Manager, Hilda Garvey , who helped us out. Hilda and the Administration Operations Manager, Ryan Shafi, went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had special diet considerations and Ryan personally met us the first day when we went down for breakfast and made sure we were taken care of

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharanjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Sharanjit S,

We are so delighted about your review! We are so happy that we were able to provide just the service you and your family were looking for! Thank you for mentioning the GM Hilda Garvey for making the exact service follow through! The pleasure was our's (mine too) to met with you and your family! We would be happy to do the same again! Thank you for your 5 star rating! Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,091
    2,608
    746
    243
    151
See reviews for
3,954
1,331
188
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, MD
Level Contributor
129 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have traveled to NYC for recreation several times a year for many years. We have stayed here a couple of times. Great views from the rooms to watch Times Sq below. Convenient to any thing visitor might want to see or taxis and, particularly, subways to get you to what you want. Rooms are large by New York standards and the two room suites are great. Refrigerator in the room to store that desert you couldn't finish and drinks. The hotel has a little age on it but it is well maintained and hardly threadbear. The lobby is undergoing renovations now, the common areas could use some sprucing up. I think our room had been renovated within the last year.

We don't stay here all of the time because of price. We can almost always find a newly renovated hotel that has deals. This time we used points and thought the amount of points used was well worth it.

Room Tip: Early check in apparently doesn't exist at this hotel so don't plan on it. They will store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapolis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Annapolis2000,

We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities on your last visit! Thank you for coming back! Our new lobby should be ready very soon! Please come back again! Thank you for your 5 star rating! Happy new Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you want anything to drink or eat you cannot get it there unless you are willing to pay 6.00 for a soda or water. There are no vending machines or drink machines on site, so you must order from room service. Four deserts and four sodas was $100.00! The room service food was horrible. My husband and I wanted to have an adult drink after coming in one evening and the bar was closed by 10:00. Again, if you wanted something you had to order it from room service and pay three prices for it, so we had to go back to our room, put on coats, scarves, hats, and gloves to go out. The front desk staff was not very friendly. We stayed on the 15th. floor and the whole floor smelled as if we were staying in the back of a restaurant kitchen. It smelled the whole time we were there. The furniture was broken and unstable. There was only one remote in our room. The towels were dingy. We were three for New Years Eve and was given a letter giving us access to the area that was closed off and told to show it to authorities. We missed the ball dropping and were about three blocks away because authorities told us the letter meant nothing we could not have access to the area. I would not recommend this hotel for anything other than location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evelyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear evelyn h,

Thank you for your review! We are truly sorry that your experience was not what was expected. Please note that we always have a manager on duty to assist all of our guests with any inquires! We are so sorry about you not having access as our letters were for accessing the Hotel. Our objective was to ensure all of our guests are in and out of the hotel as promptly as possible. Should you feel the need to discuss your experience further, feel free to email me at rshafi@dtnyc.com. Also, our hotel is currently making changes to reflect a much more modern design. We do so hope that you give us another try! Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you a Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsdale, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is a great location but they were in the midst of renovations so it was very unorganized. Not much help with getting a cab, luggage. Etc. not very friendly. Not a good place for a drink and snacks in the afternoon. We always like a rest before getting dressed for the evening. Very limited!!! Appetizers were not good.

Room Tip: It would be a better value for someone with kids who could sleep on the pullout sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 957pat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear 957pat60,

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry about your experience on your last visit! We are currently making changes that were suggested by our guests. Please note that we always have a manager on duty to assist you at anytime. We hope that you give us another try and experience our hotel differently with our new atmosphere! Should you feel to discuss your experience further please feel free to email me at rshafi@dtnyc.com Thank you for your feedback and have a Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel needs a paint brush and new carpet. The rooms were horrendous. I can not recommend this hotel until they do some serious renovation. From the front entry to the clogged bath tub and malfunctioning heat and A/C unit, nothing seemed to go right. While the door men were very nice, the staff at the front desk seemed to care less about their job and who the customer was. They were impatient to wait on you and seemed bothered to assist. We were not warned that there was no sitting area in the front lobby because of some construction so there was no place to go and people would constantly clog the walk ways trying to get out of the elevators. An overall nightmare weekend. Thank goodness that NYC is such a pretty place to visit around Christmas that it made up for the hotel fail.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Peter A,

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently making changes that were suggested by our guests. Our lobby will be soon completed and our rooms project will begin. Please note that while on property we always have a manager on duty to assist all of our guest for any inquires. Please visit us another time and give us another try! Should your wish to further discuss your experience please e-mail me at rshafi@dtnyc.com. Thank you again for your review and we wish you a Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked the double tree in May 2013 based on positive trip advisor reviews. We stayed on the 41st floor for 14 nights with our four children.

The room was well equipped and the cleaning service was spot on; clean tools, clean bed linen, clean everything which is hard to keep on top of with young children.

The staff from the doormen to reception and maintenance were extremely helpful. There were issues with the internet over our holiday and each time it was resolved within 30-45mins.

Location is prime and I'm certain this is the biggest selling point of the hotel, though be careful at New Years as you are not guaranteed a view of the ball drop from expensive room rates. We were extremely lucky and the NYPD let us slip into the pen at 10.45pm.

The only negative I could highlight is from my two experiences the food was not up to much (average).

Overall a very good hotel designed for the hustle and bustle of Times Square and Broadway with very helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TimHorsfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear TimHorsfall,

Thank you for your detailed review on your 14 nights stay! Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of your stay. We are so sorry about food was just average. Thank you for pointing out our helpful and friendly staff! What a great picture you've posted, nice view! Thank you for your 4 star rating! Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great location, great service, great food. The best dining I’ve ever experienced - from check-in to seating to service. Fresh breakfast buffet. Clean, spacious rooms and professional, courteous staff. Despite undergoing lobby renovations, it was still a smooth and excellent experience.

Room Tip: There are 43 floors. Spectacular views of Times Square from our floor (24th). I would definitely rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshafidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Nina S,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for understanding our lobby project! It just gets better! Thank you for pointing out our courteous staff! Thank you for your 5 star rating! Happy New Year!

Ryan Shafi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 468 in New York City
6,930 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,412 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#183 of 468 in New York City
10,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 468 in New York City
6,639 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#178 of 468 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing