We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC location FANTASTIC service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #169 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC location FANTASTIC service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spacious clean suite, very comfortable beds with Times Square view right in the heart of theatres, shopping, restaurants & more! Considering the hotel is in the hype of Times Square, you wouldn't know it at bedtime.
Customer service was impecable from day one, staff were very friendly with a 'can do attitude" & all our needs were met promptly (& there were a few) with no fuss!
Special mention to "Carmen" from housekeeping... this wonderful lady certainly went out of her way to please with a huge smile on her face & our room was spotless. Carmen is definitely a credit to this hotel! Also Ami at front desk, very welcoming, professional & accommodating!
You can"t go up to rooms via elevator in entrance without showing your room keycard to doorman... great safety factor & the doormen become familiar with guests so it's not an inconvenience.
Cost of hotel was very comparitive for what"s on offer & especially considering location & size of room for NYC.
Being our first trip to NYC we were very impressed overall & would definitely stay at Doubletree Suites on Times Square gain!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Dee P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,997
    2,528
    702
    222
    147
See reviews for
3,813
1,294
183
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We love going to NYC for long theater weekends and we've stayed in several hotels near Times Square. We like to be right in the middle of the action! Typically, hotels in this area have SMALL rooms with HIGH prices! We don't mind paying for the location but just can't do the 150 sq foot rooms with a small bed anymore! The Doubletree was really a treat!! 2 room suite, big bed and spacious bathroom. Our room was on the 29th floor with a view of crazy Times Square and all the lights. Speaking of lights, the room darkening drapes are a blessing! Otherwise, the lights would flash all night in the room! With all the noises below, I was totally surprised at how quiet the room was! All this for the same price as the Milford with the tiny room. This is our new home when we go to NYC!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a view of Times Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on2thenextevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The DoubleTree in Times Square is a great option for big groups wanting to stay in the heart of NYC. Since each guest room is a 2-room suite, there is plenty of room to spread out, with a bedroom and a separate living room (with a sleep sofa). The beds are super comfortable, the rooms big, and the chocolate chip cookie at check-in is an added bonus!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Lucy P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to exceed our guest expectations, and your satisfaction is important to us.

We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South brunswick, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the front desk to housekeeping, great attitude. Location was great, times square right outside the front door. Hotel was very clean. Restaurants in hotel were, of course, very expensive. But hey, you're in NYC, go eat out! Lots of elevators so not a long wait. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking time square. It was amazing at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear JoRily,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose this hotel because of two factors: 1) location, location, location; and 2) suite would give kids space of their own (separate room with TV). My neighbors had stayed here for their NYC vacay so we thought, "why not?" Whoa-I was pleasantly surprised that this Times Square, in the heart of the action hotel didn't feel like it at bedtime. Expensive-you are not getting lots of value here despite my best efforts at finding discounts. But it was well worth it to have a hotel a hop, skip and jump away from theaters, shopping and restaurants galore! Just don't expect lots of customer service and hand holding here--only saw or heard from hotel staff at check-in. And biggest issue we had was one morning the hot water simply ran out after the first shower. If you are looking for spacious suite in heart of the city, Doubletree is a family-friendly choice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sherry B,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our customer service and your experience with hot water. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and the issues you mentioned have been discussed with our team. As for hot water, our building steam system was interrupted due to emergency repair in the area by Con Edison. Our system had been restored shortly. We always strive to provide a 5 star service to all of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your stay the best it can be.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We love to stay at the Times Square Doubletree when we visit NYC. It is centrally located, the suites are spacious, the service is fine, the beds and pillows are comfy, and the lobby area is great for meeting friends because it's up on the third floor away from the hustle and bustle of the street. No one gets in at night without a key, which makes you feel safe. I cannot comment on comparative costs because we stay on Hilton points.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear LPinFL,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to provide a 5 star service to all of our guests, and your satisfaction is important to us.

We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit New York City.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I wasn't sure what to think of this hotel when I first arrived. Lack of windows in the lobby area, long line at check in ... it just wasn't as inviting as other hotels I have stayed at in the city. In fact, when I arrived to my room and found that it had the lingering smell of cigarette smoke, I thought that my suspicions were confirmed. Not so fast! One call to the front desk, an in-person conversation with the manager, and I found myself in a very clean room with a great view of the area. I will definitely consider a return to this property when in the city.

Room Tip: If you have allergies or sensitivities to air pollution, request the hypo-allergenic rooms (its not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,669 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,377 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing