We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, affordable, Times Square Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #184 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed last week of September 2012, 33rd floor, 2 room queen suite overlooking Times Square.

Very quiet, good drapes to keep light out. Location is great if you are planning on seeing broadway shows.

Rooms are dated but clean. Living room has a pull out bed. 1 bathroom but with access from both the bedroom and the living room.

Breakfast buffert is great. Complimentary for Hilton Diamond members.

Staff is great. We didn't have any issues during our stay.

Read some reviews that noise/lights were a concern. We didn't think so at all. Couldn't hear the people next door let alone traffic or noise from the street.

I recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay close to Times Square. It's priced affordably and offers a decent sized suite for NY standards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,067)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,111 - 5,117 of 8,067 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location is fantastic with an entrance for the 49th Street subway station literally next door. The hotel itself is not fantastic but perfectly adequate. We travelled with our 2 young children so it was the most cost effective option for a suite in NYC with a separate bedroom so the children could go to sleep while we had a bottle of wine. The suite was 1990s and the in room facilities are basic ie not even a kettle for a cup of tea. The suite is small by any standard except for NYC but it was clean and quiet. There is free wifi in the lobby and free freshly baked cookies for the kids at reception. Entertainment and dining options abound 24/7 at the front door. We never felt unsafe in NYC. Due to the location you don't spend any time at the hotel except to sleep so who cares.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank UncleBucksunderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Location is great and is close to everything - including many subway stations leading to everywhere in the city. We stayed on the 29th floor and there was no noise at all, despite being directly above the Times Square with its 24 hour non-stop traffic. The suite is well equipped, with a sofa bed, a microwave, a mini fridge and a mini bar, in-room safe, and dual sink vanity. Beds are very comfortable. The service is mostly okay. The doormen are pleasant, but seem to have some dubious connection with some cabbies waiting in front door. Concierge is also pretty helpful, although knowledge level could be enhanced.

The TKTS booth across the street is a great convenience for people wanting to hunt for last minute Broadway show tickets. Be sure to be there early to get a greater variety of choices and better seating - it opens 3pm and 10am on Wednesdays for matinee shows.

Overall it's a good choice for NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It is hard to say just how special the staff at DT made us feel on recent 5 day stay. From the Security Team to the Gingers Restaurant Staff, they were truly awesome in the excellent service, personal attention, friendliness and respect shown to me and my sisters. I have to give mention to those who were even more outstanding and whose service was so good, I had to provide this review. Can't thank enough the following persons -- Sheriff Daniel, Joseph the Chef, John and Juan the Restaurant & Food Service Mgrs, Mo, Nur, Benny, Adriel, Hannah, Chandra, Steve all of Gingers, Fitzroy and Moses. All the little things you did made our vacation one of my best ever... You made us happy from check-in to check-out and we hated to leave. Thanks So Very Much to each of you!!!!

Room Tip: The room does not matter; it is the location!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynG523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

location is the main thing going for this hotel, you step out the door straight into the hustle and bustle of times square. rooms were adequate for four adults but the fold out bed was a bit uncomfortable but ok for a few nights. check in staff were efficiant but no more, unlike the door staff and concierge who did everything in their power to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear leonard a,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your time in NYC. The issues you mentioned have been shared with our team. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. And we would really appreciate if you can provide more information on your stay or suggestions that would have made a perfect stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we hope you will give us another opportunity to make your stay the best it can be.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location in Times Square, right beside the entrance for 49th Street subway station and opposite the start of the downtown loop for the Gray Line bus tours. The hotel doesn't have the wow factor but is a good solid hotel with great facilities. We were on the 14th floor at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet, so a good nights sleep was had all round, the beds were very comfortable. Rooms were a reasonable size, not as small as other reviewers might make you believe, and by New York standards quite large. As the rooms were suites we also had the benefit of a seperate living area with coffee making facilities, fridge and microwave, ideal especially if you have kids. We were fortunate enough to have breakfast included with our rate and it was excellent. Overall found all staff very helpful and would recommend this hotel if you were to visit the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fingal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stay at the Doubletree in Times Square. We stayed on points, as this hotel runs about $500- $600 a night with taxes, etc. added. That's about standard for a nice room in New York. All rooms at the Doubletree are 2 bedroom suites, which is great space if you're there for more than a day or two. Rooms had a mini-bar, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, etc. Found staff to be friendly and hotel to be very clean. The rooms are quiet as others have mentioned even though you are in the middle of Times Square. We ate at the breakfast buffet because it was included with our reservation -otherwise runs $60 for two people. There is a McDonalds a couple doors down--if breakfast wasn't included, we would have opted for that. Food was good on the buffet - you could also order eggs made to order, etc. very nice. There are convenience stores nearby for water, soft drinks, etc. We did that as soft drinks at the hotel were $4.50 each. There is also a Walgreens up the street - better prices than the convenience stores. Location is right in Times Square and VERY convenient if you will be taking the subway around the city - that's why we chose this hotel. Traveled on subway several times a day during our stay - very easy access and easy to return at night. The area around this location is very crowded, keep that in mind. This was strictly a trip to visit family-- although we did make it down to the 9/11 Memorial - our stay at the Doubletree was flawless and made for a wonderful visit!

Room Tip: If you can, make your reservation early - we could not get a King bedded room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNeeces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,662 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 468 in New York City
6,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#172 of 468 in New York City
11,105 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 468 in New York City
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $205 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing