We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #187 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square is a good hotel for people traveling with children. My niece & I had a Suite with 2 double beds & a living room. We each shared a bed with a 10 year-old & a 12 year-old. We were very comfortable & secure with the kids in the same room with us. The hotel security in this busy location was very good! The suite was more than adequate and the staff was very accomodating. Room service food was hot, delicious & plentiful. I would definitely book this hotel again! The location was great, TV's in living room & bedroom; with refrigerator, coffee maker, sink, counter-top in the small wet bar. Blackout drapes allowed us to sleep-in after some late nights. Starbucks coffee & pastries available on the 3rd floor in the AM. Quiet lounge in the afternoon & late night for an after theatre glass of wine, etc. Only thing that could have better was our view, but next time I'll know to request a room on the Times Square side of the building.

Room Tip: We were on a 30 something floor, but no view---Ask for a view if you want one. But we slept very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,319 - 5,325 of 8,274 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times, but had not been to NYC for last few years. It is still our favorite place to stay in Manhatten. It is right at 47th and 7th in the heart of Times Square. Walk out the front and you are there. Walking distance to almost all the BW theaters. Subway stations, one next door and one a block away.
We opted for a higher floor and had great view of the city. Two room suites with lots of room, even in the "smaller" ones that you get if you use one of the discounts (AARP, AAA, etc.). Two TVs, wet bar, shower/bath combo, large sitting room with couch, chairs, desk.
They have started charging for internet in the rooms, but it is free in the lobby and in the business center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SedonaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Guest Suites are located right in the centre of Times Square so if you're visiting New York sightseeing you get the full experience. Looking out of your window at all hours you see bright lights and exciting things, all without disruption as the curtains keep out the light and no sound permeates through.

The rooms are neat and tidy, the living room areas nicely appointed with a small kitchen area. Huge LCD TVs in both rooms. The overall feeling isn't of luxury but just a good 3*, clean with the right facilities.

Slightly unusually you go up to reception from the ground floor, check-in (including your warm welcome cookie!) and then take another lift to the floor your room is on. This can make it hard to spot the hotel initially, but if you have a cab that should be fine. From here you can easily walk to all the main sites - Rockefellar Center and MOMA are just a couple of streets away, With Central Park further over, Empire State a few more blocks in the opposite direction.

I rented 2 rooms for myself and 3 friends as part of a birthday visit. We got adjoinining rooms and each had either the bedroom bed or the very good sofa bed in the living room. There is a Walgreen's just down the square a little to pick up some shopping and beers for the fridge. If you turn right out of the hotel and go north a couple of blocks there is a good liquor store as well.

Plenty of places to eat in Times Square but can be a little expensive and touristy, so we tended to walk straight over and down West 47th a bit to the Mean Fiddler which is a nice pub and just past that to 8th Ave, where there are loads of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vurtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I took my family to New York to run the 2011 New York Marathon. We booked two rooms which were adjoining and they were large luxurious and very comfortable. The Hotel was located right in the heart of Times Square which meant we had access to lots of restaurants and shops. I was worried about noise and lights as we would be waking up at 5am to go and meet a bus to take us to the start line. The location was close to the bus pick up points and within walking distance to the finish line and near enough for family and friends to walk to the finish. My children loved being in the heart of Times Square not far from M& M World and the red steps featured on an episode of Glee. We walked to Broadway to see Wicked and walked to 5th Avenue, Tiffany's to buy some gifts and Maceys for wonderful shopping. The hop on hop off bus is right at the door and if you walk a little away from Times Square the prices of the street vendors and the restaurants are a little less than those in Times Square. Wi Fi in the foyer was popular with the 15 year old twins and the the gym was useful for the pre race lead up days for a quick easy jog. Would definitely stay there again!!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
Thank Jules01Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here in summer of 2006.Great place to stay,staff are very helpful and efficient,security are very strick but this is a good thing you have to show your room key ever time on entering the hotel.Rooms are large,clean,ice cold air conditioning.Location is just perfect in the middle of times square.All in all a great hotel with a perfect location.

Stayed here in june 2006.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just returned from 4 nights at the Doubletree. We arrived at about 1230pm intending to drop off our luggage but were told that our room was ready so we were able to go straight to the room. We were surprised at how large the room was, there was a living room are with a sofabed, tv, desk, wet bar, fridge and microwave and safe plus a bedroom with a king sized bed plus bathroom. We were on the 36th floor and it was not at all noisy. The elevators were very fast and we did not ever have to wait for one. We booked our hop on hop off bus tickets through the concierge desk - they were very helpful during the day - we had inquired the previous night but the lady suggested we return the next day because she didn't know. There was wi-fi in the lobby on the 3rd floor which was sufficient for our needs. The tkts booth for discounted theater tickets is across the street and there is a hop-on-hop-off stop across the street also. We were able to walk to the Empire state building, Central Park, all the shopping on 5th Avenue from here. We were also able to walk to the theater. We found staff helpful, the room very comfortable and had absolutely no complaints. If I were to return to New York, I would definitely stay here again and would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a king suite on the 36th floor which was large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamelaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the hotel during a family vacation in NYC.

Hotel: Clean and well-kept with a very cool/chic lobby. It is located on the 3rd floor of the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and checking in and out was a breeze. We checked in early at around 1 p.m., and since the rooms weren't ready, we stored our luggage with the bellhop, Since we couldn't check in immediately, the front desk also arranged for us to have some medications stored at their restaurant's fridge. We were offered cookies as well.

Parking: Parking was at a different location at a garage between 7th and 6th avenues along 47th street. Doubletree has a special arrangement with the garage and there's a self park discounted rate of $35 per day (no in and out privileges). We decided to self park so before we checked in, we called the hotel for directions to the garage (which is a few steps away from the hotel), and took our vehicle to the garage. The garage would give you a stub, which you have to have the hotel validate and present back to the garage when you are ready to claim your vehicle. Parking payment is done at the garage.

Room: The suite we stayed in was huge for New York standards. There were 2 queen beds in a separate room, and a sofa bed in the living area. There were 2 flat screen televisions as well.

There's a mini kitchen with sink, coffee maker (Wolfgang Puck coffee), microwave, and a small fridge. There's a locked safe in the "Kitchen" cupboards

There are three phones, and two flat screen TVs. There is wireless internet connection available however it is for a fee of $12.95 for 24 hours.

The bathroom is huge, with soft towels and Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. A nice touch was when we checked in, there were sewing kit, shavers, shaving cream, toothbrushes, shoe mitt and shower cap placed on the washroom countertop.

The only issue we encountered was that the bathtub wasn't draining properly but when we called the front desk, they sent someone up right away to fix the issue. The repairman was very apologetic about the situation.

Amenities: They offer Starbucks products for breakfast in the lobby, and there is a restaurant, Ginger, on the 5th floor. We did not try the restaurant though.

Location: What can I say? It is in the centre of activity in Times Square which we really liked. It is at the corner of 47th and 7th, with a bank and subway entrance beside the hotel. McDonald's is just a few steps away.

We would definitely return to the hotel and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,388 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 470 in New York City
9,892 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#173 of 470 in New York City
11,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#110 of 470 in New York City
7,023 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#285 of 470 in New York City
5,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing