We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in Time Square Chaos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #169 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Time Square Chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights (award) and found the hotel just as good as my last stay several years ago. The place was fully booked as there was a jewelry and fashion accesories convention occupying 9 floors. As a result, did not receive any upgrade for Gold status.

PROS:

-spacious 2-room suites with 2 TV's, microwave, small empty fridge, touch-sensored honor bar, and small safe.

-free wireless HSIA for gold and diamond members (no wired access available)

-complimentary full hot breakfast buffet for gold and diamonds (normally $28) at restaurant

-quiet despite outside chaos; comfortable beds.

-central location: multiple subway lines within 2 blocks, close to all theaters, endless dining options

CONS:

-bathtub spout is overpressured like a firehose, as was the showerhead--major need for a flow restrictor. Would be very effective for interrogating terrorists, probably better than waterboarding.

-fitness center: dated Precor equipment that seems to shake and rattle. The room is very warm despite high ceilings. There is no bathroom on the same floor--have to go up 1 floor to the restaurant level.

-business center: temporarily located on lobby level in a tiny room the size of a closet. The least they should do is PUT UP A TERMINAL FOR PRINTING BOARDING PASSES at the front desk (plenty of room)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXBigGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bchoidtnyc, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear PDXBigGuy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our fitness center and business center. We are currently looking into replacing all cardiovascular equipment in coming months that all of our machines will be brand new again. As for the business center, our new business center space has been renovated and it is back to its original location on the 6th floor. We deeply appreciate your loyalty as a Hilton Honors Gold Member. We hope you stay with us again to enjoy our improvements.

Kind Regards,

Brian Choi
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,996
    2,528
    702
    221
    147
See reviews for
3,813
1,294
183
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My sister and I were planning a short visit to NYC....then we had to decide on a place to stay. My sister insisted we should stay in a suite hotel. After reading trip advisor and checking out the options, we decided to stay Doubletree Guest Suites Time Square. We are very pleased we did.

The location can't be beat....we were within walking distance of shows, restaurants and museums. A quick cab ride took us to more museums and restaurants. Plus a subway station was nearby. It was an easy drive into the city from Long Island and an easy drive out heading to Connecticut (the other stops on our visit to the area).

The two bedroom suite was wonderful. As most hotel rooms in Manhattan, this was small by Doubletree standards but not uncomfortable. Typical access to bathroom from both the bedroom and living room, plus a wet bar area with mirror in the living room helped with two women getting ready to leave at the same time!

Since we had a car for 10 days we drove into the city and parked for the duration of our stay. From our stopping in front of the hotel thru unloading the car, checking in and arriving at our room. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The lobby above ground level was quiet and secure....in the evening staff was checking room keys on entry at ground level to take the elevator to the lobby. When a taxi was needed staff procured one quickly. When we left staff gave us the fasted route out of the city with a smile.

Pleasant bar area for a late night-cap when we came in for the evening. We did not eat any meals in the hotel.

Although I usually prefer to stay in small boutique hotels, I definitely would stay at this Doubletree again when visiting NYC. The combination of location, service and nice rooms is too hard to pass up!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the hotel and Times Square area with a little slice of a view beyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, MD
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

While the rooms here are a bit smaller than the typical Doubletree, finding an all suite hotel at the hub of activity around Times Square makes for a nice stay, especially if you have a younger child or two that won't mind a sleeper sofa for a few nights.

Located at the NE corner of Times Square, there are a few rooms on each floor that give you a view of all the neon and people that makes this area so visually appealing. An easy walk to most of the major theatres/shows makes this a great location for the theatre goer. Families with kids who like the comfort of tried and true food chains will also enjoy this as close by are Planet Hollywood, TGI Fridays, Hardrock Cafe and others. For those who like to try smaller, local restaurants it is only a few minutes walk to a large selection of nice places including the collections of Italian restaurants along the periphery of Hell's Kitchen.

The hotel itself is clean, with a uncluttered loby that includes a small bar/lounge area, a restaurant with a nice breakfast buffet and a fitness center. The rooms are bigger than your average NY hotel room with a sitting room and a separate bedroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was a bit bigger than other NYC hotels where I've stayed.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle that is Times Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a Times Square view for a real flavor of this area. Higher floors off of Times Square may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sladerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in Time Square and has the best staff. They are seasoned and remember you from one stay to the next. The front desk staff is efficient and friendly. The staff in the dining room is delightful. Hannah McCauley, the hostess, greets you by name every morning and has anticipated your arrival. Solomon, the waiter, is also outstanding. He also knows your order and has it waiting when you arrive each day. The large rooms make working at night so convenient. They have comfy beds, large closets, and huge bathrooms. I have stayed here for years and plan to continue staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this Doubletree Guest Suites location for my daughter's birthday weekend. We chose it, because we knew we would be going to at least one show in the theater district and the location is great for that. It is right on Time Square and most of the Broadway theaters are within 5 blocks of this hotel. You enter through the front doors and then take the elevator to the 3rd floor for the Lobby and check-in. This is great, because at night, they check to make sure that people that are entering to go to the Lobby, actually have a key. Added security is always a plus! At check-in, there was a bit of a confusion about our reservation, but I think they were having a computer issue and it was fixed right away. My Mother in Law had requested a room near us and her room was literally 10 steps from our door. Perfect! We had a corner room on the 35th floor, so we had windows that looked down the street, right into Time Square and also had a view of the Hudson River, where we could see cruise ships. My MIL had a rounded room, but I think it was bigger than ours and set up a little differently. Our room was 3501 and her's was 3503. Both are nice, but hers seemed more open. The room was very nice. We had a separate bedroom and then a pull out couch for our teen. There was a microwave, coffeemaker with Wolfgang Puck coffee, a hairdryer and a safe. The king size bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. The room was very clean and I'm quite picky about that, especially when you are paying a lot for a great hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel or use room service. It just seemed too pricey. I did ask some people at the front desk if they could tell us a good place to go for breakfast, that wasn't too pricey and they told us the Evergreen Dinner, which is just out the front door of the hotel, turn right and go around the corner and then halfway down that block on the other side of the street. We had an excellent breakfast there, two days in a row and it cost us $42 for 4 people. Also, right out the front door of the hotel and to your right, is a subway stop. Very convenient. We took the subway back to the hotel, from Soho and it was a very quick and cheap trip. I think it was $1.50 each. This hotel was wonderful from the 4 cookies, we were given at check-in, to the doorman that opened the doors for us, as we were leaving. We are definitely going to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room higher than the 30th floor, because your view will be much better and paying extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lislcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Doubetree provides excellent personal service. From checking in with Michael or Daniel to having the best breakfast in the city with Hostess Hannah McCauley, Eugene the master chef or Solomon or Mo the best servers in the world! The rooms are very spacious and nice and the location is the best in the city. I make sure my return trips to NY always include the Doubetree Times Square. They treat you like family there.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Three of us stayed here for five nights on a "girls' holiday".
The room was perfect for us since we had two rooms - one with two beds and the living area with a sleeper sofa. My sister chose the sofa bed and was comfortable, but if you are an adult with any back pain issues at all, I wouldn't try it. I would have been disabled for the entire trip if I had tried to sleep on it. It's probably fine for kids/younger people. The bathroom was large and had two doors so that we didn't have to disturb each other at night. Also, the wet bar in the living area, which was right outside the bathroom door, had a mirror and outlets, so we could take a shower and then move out there for hair and make-up. It worked great for us.
We stayed on the top floor of the hotel and there was no noise at all at night. Even on the lower floors, it was quiet, which is amazing since the hotel is in such a busy area. We rarely heard any noise from people in other rooms.
The service from all of the staff was excellent. We met people who really enhanced our stay, especially the desk clerk that wears a rhinestone cowboy hat and Carlos Saldana, who sells Hilton vacations. The only down side of the service was the bartender at happy hour during the week, who was pretty non-communicative and not tourist-friendly at all. On Friday a different bartender was working and he was great. We used the Concierge desk several times and received invaluable information from them. The service from the room attendants was stellar.
We ate breakfast at the McDonald's downstairs a couple of times, but then chose the hotel's continental breakfast buffet, mainly for the fruit. It was very good and the service was excellent, as it was in every area of this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which gave us a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,659 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,372 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing