We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel, super location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Ranked #178 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
CONCORD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Solid hotel, super location”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed with my family at this hotel in late August (I was there during Hurricane Irene and there were no issues at all). The location is amazing at the corner of Broadway and West 47th Street and is right near the theater district and right across the street from the TKTS Discount theater ticket booth. In regards to the hotel:
-You enter in the ground floor and take an elevator up to the very nice lobby. You then take a separate bank of elevators (6) up to your room.
-There is no pool in the hotel although there is an exercise room (I did not use it but I took a quick look and although it was small, it looked functional).
-Access the free WiFi in the lobby. If you try to access WiFi from your room, it costs, $12.99 for 24 hours. The interesting thing is that if you connect in the lobby, you can actually go up to your room and as long as you are still connected, your WiFi will still be free. It typically disconnects after an hour (sometimes more) so just head back down to the lobby, reconnect and then back to your room. I understand why they charge for WiFi but with so many hotels offering it for free, it would be nice to save the $$, especially when you stay at the hotel for more than a couple of days.
-If you can get a package that includes the free breakfast, do so. There is a good variety (including an omelet/waffle/pancake station) and the quality is very good. If you cannot get it included in the price, it is a bit pricey (around $15 weekdays and more on the weekend).
-Our room was nice. A king bed in one room with a flat screen TV and a pull out bed in the living room area, also with a flat screen TV. There is also a safe, small refrigerator (there is a second refrigerator stocked up with pricey drinks) and sink in the living room area. The bathroom can be accessed either through the door into the living room or the door into the separate bedroom. AC is very good. All in all, nice and quiet except of course for the main door into the room. Someone has to figure out how to make that door close quietly since every hotel seems to have the same issue. I realize that you need to hear the door close but is it necessary to make the room shake?
-Staff was friendly and easy to approach although a couple of them clearly did not like their work or were having really off days (in a row).
-In regards to food, it's New York so there are a ton of choices and here are some of the places that we visited (see my reviews).

-Ristorante Amarone - Italian
-Smyrna - Turkish
-Virgil's - BBQ
-Galaxy Diner - Everything
-Sarge's - Deli
-Stage Deli - Deli
-Shake Shack - Burgers & Hot Dogs
-Ben Benson's - Steak
-Chanpen Thai - Thai

If you are looking for a solid hotel, right in the action of Times Square, this hotel is a very good choice.

Quick tip. If you want to see the Statue of Liberty but do not want to actually visit the site where she is located, just take the Staten Island Ferry. It's free, get on for the 20 minute trip to Staten Island (you'll have some perfect views on the way and stay on the right hand side of the ferry), get off and take the return 20 minute trip (it's also free) and go to the left hand side of the ferry for more views on the way back. The only catch may be if you get on during a peak time, so you may need to wait for a ferry but they had three running when we were there so it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveleasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,095
    2,610
    747
    243
    152
See reviews for
3,961
1,331
188
757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The ONLY thing that I did not like about this place was the restaurant. EVerything else was perfect. We had to wait on our room but that was because she was willing to give us the best view in the place and we stored our luggage and she called us when the room was ready so we didn'/t wast time waiting. The people were so friendly and the security was great. The hotel is set up so that the elevators from the street level only lead to the lobby so no one can get to the room elevators without first going to the lobby. Anyone going into those elevators had to show a security gard a key to even get to the lobby after a certain time of day. THe room was so nice, beds were nice and firm, big screen tvs, so clean and a view to die for. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in NYC! So close to everything. We saw Priscilla Queen of the Desert and the Palace theater was right next door! Fantastic show! Good Job Doubletree!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcr1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I've stayed at the DT several times while I'm NYC and for the price would go nowhere else, especially if you need room for kids or teens. Most of the rooms in NYC are incredibly small. Not so here where every room is a two room suite. The location is great for sightseeing, restaurants and broadway shows. There are more posh options if you aren't in need of space. If you like Times Square and want to spread out, there is no better choice in Manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildcatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Had a 10 night stay at this hotel with my partner and her daughter. Despite the fact it is large and right in Times Square the quality of the hotel was excellent in terms of physical accomodation and attitude of staff.

Although the staff were all excellent there was one significant exception which was one of the Bell Desk staff whose attitude and unhelpfullness was appalling. It only takes the behaviour of one member of staff to earn a hotel a bad review, fortunately this is not my style and ignoring this one idiot the experience was fantastic.

The hotels location is perfect not only for Times Square but also the subway, 49th Street station with its entrance just to the right as you exit the hotels main door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSunbeam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This Doubletree is a beautiful hotel, with amazingly spacious suites. But unless you want to be right in the middle of all the Times Square mess, you might want to check into other locations. It's great for being near the theaters and lots of restaurants. It's just not very quiet. Really just depends on what you're going to New York for. I thought it was a great hotel, but I'm not as into the party scene as I used to be!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBlue79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

stayed here during my sisters 21st with my family! had a brilliant trip, really helpful staff throught the hotel and the warm fresh cookies are a must have! would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bballhooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This was our favourite hotel on our recent trip. The staff were great, the location was incredibly convenient, the suite was really well set up, clean, comfortable and quiet. We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,936 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,419 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#183 of 468 in New York City
10,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 468 in New York City
6,647 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 468 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
Address: 1568 Broadway, 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Times Square is the only all-suite hotel located on Broadway in the heart of Times Square excitement. The hotel recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, New York City’s world-famous restaurants, shopping, museums and sightseeing. A TKTS booth, offering discount theater tickets, is directly across from the hotel. Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, The Museum of Modern Art, Fifth Avenue shopping, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Carnegie Hall and Central Park are all within walking distance. The hotel is just 15 blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Port Authority Bus Terminal and convenient to Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.All of the hotel’s 460 two-room suites feature living room with sofa bed plus private bedroom and bathroom, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience bedding and modern amenities including two flat-screen televisions, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, MP3 connectivity and large work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include newly renovated lobby with new check-in area, new Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, brand new Ad Lib lobby lounge, brand new Gingers Restaurant, morning Coffee Kiosk, room service, complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel has 10,000 square feet of modern event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Doubletree Times Square
Suites New York City
New York Suites
Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square Nyc
Doubletree Hotel Times Square
Doubletree Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing