We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #229 of 467 Hotels in New York City
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2005

Really cant complain about the Cosmopolitan. Stayed for 6 nights 4th of July week. The staff was pleasant, the room clean and decent sized. (bigger than I expected after reading some reviews ) We had a nice view of Chambers St. Great area (Tribeca) with dining, subways, and some fun drinking establishments nearby. Just about every subway line is within a few blocks. Great air conditioner which was nice. Stored our luggage for a few hours after we checked out. The only perk I really missed was ice, so bring a cooler.

All in all a very pleasant stay. Really cant wait to come back, and after exploring much of Manhatten, I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else. The Cosmopolitan will be my hotel of choice next visit without question.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Flyseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    824
    263
    96
    65
See reviews for
328
549
163
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2005

Me and my partner travelled to New york for the 2nd time for my birthday, this time we decided to stay at the Cosmopolitan. The hotel is in a great location and the subway is virtually underneath. If you walk one block to church street you can also get the subway to howard beach and then the airtrain to JFK which we did for just 7 dollars. I work in the travel industry and stay in hotels a lot of the time, as these hotels are booked for me I am usually in 5 star hotels which you would expect to be so much better but all that was really different was the size of the room and the lack of mini-bar!!! We will definately stay at the Cosmopolitan again. It is great for seeing the city and there are many deli's, supermarkets etc nearby, also starbucks right next door.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 122109b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2005

A great location-- within blocks of several subway lines, a short walk to Brooklyn Bridge and other great sites. Great price on a decent-sized room over a holiday weekend. Clean rooms, no problems with the staff. Great deli a few blocks away, coffee and groceries are very accessible. I can't wait to stay here again! A great place to call home base while exploring a wonderful city!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ekand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2005

Stayed at the Cosmopolitan for 4 nights and it was great. Although not the largest rooms, the place is immaculate, with my room serviced well every day. Very quiet. Cool neighborhood -- the Racoon Bar is a perfect dive bar around the corner. Had a blast. Subway and Starbucks at your door. Elevator was slow at times, but no big deal. Blessed air conditioning was 100% in 99 degree weather -- this could not not be overstated while I was there -- you had control of the thing to chill your room down to whatever you wanted and I kept it at a nice 66 degrees. Slight odor to room, but this was a New York kind of thing, I think -- can't complain.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank charlib52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2005

Okay, the rooms are small (after all the building dates from the 1800's) BUT they are spotless. The staff was very helpful. The room was quiet, recenty remodeled, and the AC worked great. Again the rooms were spotless!!!!!!

But the best is the convenience. You are one block from the A,C, E line, right on top of the the 1,9 line and a few blocks from the 6 and N,R line. You cannot beat the convenience

Across the street is an exceptional Zagat-rated Italian restaurant, Ecco. Around the corner on Church and Chambers is the Imperial Coffee Shop, a real old-school breakfast counter where you get eggs, toast, and potatoes for a couple bucks. You are a few blocks from Century 21, a shopping experience like no other. Close to Ground Zero, City Hall, and lots of great walking/browsing/people watching.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aniano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2005

My sister and I took our boys (16 yrs. old) to New York City for the first time and stayed at the Cosmopolitan for one night. The hotel is very modern, extremely clean, and located perfectly for trying to see as much as possible in only two days. The subway station which takes you both either uptown to Central Park or downtown to Battery Park is located only steps from the hotel door. Numerous restaurants, eateries, shopping, and parking within the block, and Chinatown within walking distance. Hotel was very accomodating and resourceful in holding luggage after checkout, offering directions, and recomendations. Yes, rooms may be a little on the smaller side, however, our room, 2 queens and small sofa bed, was more than big enough for 2 adults and 2 big 16 yr. old boys, not a good view, but more importantly the room was superior in cleanliness. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ktmpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2005

Room was extremely tiny - even by NYC standards. Not enough space to even walk straight around the bed, let alone store any luggage. Staff couldn't have been more rude. Will never even consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nuni72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing