We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Cosmo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #239 of 467 Hotels in New York City
SWEDEN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved Cosmo!”
Reviewed May 12, 2005

I don't think I could have made a better choice for a hotel i NYC. OK, so the rooms are not stylish and I needed earplugs to sleep, but it honestly didn't matter becasue it's very clean, very affordable, the staff is nice/helpful, and it's located in a such a great neighbourhood. Another huge advantage is that there are lots of good restaurants and cafés around the corner. I can't wait to go back to New York, to Tribeca and Cosmopolitan hotel!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank SwedishTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    831
    268
    99
    67
See reviews for
330
557
165
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swanzey,nh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2005

The first thing you'll notice about the Cosmo is it's Clean with a capital
C. My room was spotless in fact. The staff had my reservation ready
and were expecting me. Amenities are few, but just turn either corner
of the hotel and the world is at your feet, from Starbucks to shoeshine
or even deluxe chocolate. If you need to park a car, I recommend you
drop off your bags and park at the Murray St lot. I'll be back to this
hotel, as often as I can.

Helpful?
11 Thank rockyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2005

Are you someone who doesn't want to spend much time in the hotel room and therefore don't want to spend a whole lot of money on it either? Do you still want something clean? Something that's conveniently located for all types of activities? Well, then this is your place.

The rooms are small, but clean. The subway station (Chambers St) is right outside your door. You're a five minute walk away from Soho and all its bars, restaurants & shops, five minutes from the site of WTC, five minutes on the subway to Times Square (if you take the express train). But what's REALLY convenient about this hotel is that you can take the subway all the way from Chambers St to the JFK Airtrains (45 mins in total). Much cheaper, much more convenient and much more reliable than any other means of transportation ($2 for subway, $5 for Airtrain).

The absolute best thing about this no-frills hotel: it's miles away from all the other tourists, but if you choose to join them they're only a five-ten minute subway ride away....

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank annhelenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2005

We stayed in the Cosmopolitan for 7 nights in a quad room. The room was spotless (cleaned daily) and big enough to comfortably accommodate 4 women, 1 weeks worth of shopping and 40 pairs of shoes! The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is situated in a great location. We found Tribeca to be a really safe area within walking distance to a lot of tourist attractions, bars and restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definately be back there next year!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2005

If your main necessity is not a big room and a lot of space, then this is an excellent place to stay. Extremely clean, good service, excellent location, subway just in front, and very affordable. Will absolutely stay there every time I return to NY. I recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank julaki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2005

stayed for 4 nights in cosmopolitan hotel at easter.room was clean with a new bathroom,allthough room was smaller than others we have stayed in new york. clean towels and beds made every day.no restaurant in hotel but a starbucks coffee house next door but found dunkin do-nuts better value over the other side of the street.hotel is ideally situated for using the tube.(chambers st station is opposite) hotel is very close to 911 and the ferry to take you to the statue of liberty.what i love about new york is you do not need a car .get a weeks subway pass.(our underground.) for $22 and you will find it will take you close to most of the major places tourists want to visit.so you want to stay in a clean no frills budget hotel in a prime location cosmopolitan is recommended.all hotel rooms in new york are on the small side but you can live with this as long as it is clean and the cosmopolitan is .

Helpful?
9 Thank carogar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2005

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Cosmo and had a great time. The subway station is right out the front door and you can take these to times square and beyond. We flew in to JFK and then caught the Airtrain to the Howard Beach subway station. The airtrain cost us 5 bucks each. We then caught the "A" train at the Howard beach station for two bucks each and got off at the chambers street stop. We then walked one block west and were at the hotel. This is the train from the airport but the train to times square is right at the hotel. There's a great chocolate shop downstairs, and a nice bar and grill across the street with great ribs. The cosmo is well worth it and we will be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dodgeral626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing