We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for European students!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #240 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent choice for European students!”
Reviewed March 21, 2005

The low dollar makes the US affordable for Europeans on a budget. This hotel has all the facilities you need. No luxury but you don't spend much time in your room when you're in such a great city. The Cosmopolitan does not have breakfast facilities but just go for a bagel in one of the many deli's just around the corner.

The reason we booked this hotel is because it has private bathrooms for such a nice price. And above that: It is really, really clean. Every day new, fresh towels! We asked for a quit room and we really did not hear a thing.

The subway, right outside the hotel, brings you to all the action in just a few minutes.

I recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    846
    274
    103
    68
See reviews for
346
568
166
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2005

You can get a good deal with the Cosmopolitan if you plan ahead. Rooms are clean, if small and no views. The hallways do smell funny - due to some kind of cleanser no doubt -- and the staff can be unfriendly -- but overall, if you're looking for a budget hotel that's conveniently located in a good neighborhood, this is for you.

Be sure to confirm reservations, and be sure to arrive at a reasonable time, as I have had trouble with them giving away my reservation. They did find me another room when I politely insisted. But your stay can be ruined by a bad staff person. Some desk people are very nice, others are downright surly and rude. Play it safe and arrive with enough time not to get the last room... If you are planning to arrive late at night, I'd probably recommend another hotel, as this one is small and you take your chances with the desk staff.

  • Stayed April 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

We just got back from one week in NY and loved this hotel. If you want marble bathrooms and lots of space, Cosmopolitan Hotel is not for you, but if you're looking for a conformatble bed and a clean bathroom with lots of hot water - all at an incredible low price (by NY standards) - by all means pick Cosmopolitan. The staff was very helpful and we got to go straight to our room, even though we got there at 9 a.m, plus there's a subway station literaly five feet from the door of the hotel and another one just around the corner. A Great Value if ever there was one.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2005

I had a lovely stay at the Cosmopolitan in 2001, not many months before 9/11. Its having being so close to the disaster scene (just a few blocks away), I don't know how affected it was by September 11th's events. However, when I stayed there, I thought I'd found a true NYC gem, at great prices. It's located in the heart of TriBeCa, surrounded by great restaurants and nightlife. Looking out my window onto Broadway at night, I had a view of outdoor cafes and trees lit up with sparkly lights, and (sad to say now) another view to the south of the World Trade Center, towering above the hotel, lights ablaze even at midnight.

The hotel has a VERY unassuming exterior, looking more like a nondescript office building circa 1900 -- which it probably was, at one point. But inside, the lobby is clean, well-painted, and with all of its retro charm in place -- gilded elevator doors, old crown moldings cleaned and restored, and a general air of small, cozy comfort. I found the rooms to be the same. Modest, but wholly comfortable. A double bed, a sitting area with two chairs, an armoire and two chests of drawers, and a very clean and roomy bathroom (by NY standards). And all at less than half the price of most other Manhattan hotels. A great neighborhood, a great hotel, a great bargain.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2005

While the single rooms (single double bed) are TINY, they are very well appointed and clean and quiet. Try to get an outside room (meaning it has a window) as the ones that face the air shaft don't have great ventilation. The staff is incredibly courteous and the location and price can't be beat. The double rooms (two double beds) are worth the extra dough, unless you're travelling alone. The subway (featuring the 1, 2, 3, and 9 lines and also the A and the E very close) is literally right outside the door, and the neighborhood features a lot of great restaurants and shopping. It's off the beaten tourist track as well, so you really get more of a sense of life in New York City. The bodega across the street is well stocked and very handy for snacks and noshes, 24/7.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pidgerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2005

This was a lovely hotel, the rooms were of a good size and we found the staff friendly. The only problem was we were on the 3rd floor and the window in our room was broken so we got a lot of the outside road noise which kept waking us up. I'm sure if you had a room on a higher floor or indeed a room with a sealed window it would be fine. As others have said there is a subway right outside and it's within walking distance of the WTC, Wall Street and Soho, little italy and china town. I would recommend the hotel but personally would not go back as I prefer to be out of the hustle and bustle a bit in the evenings and I prefered the Hotel Newton which was Upper Manhatten - there was nothing wrong at all with this hotel tho. Finally I would recommend if you fly into JFK getting the Air Train to Howard Beach for $5 and then getting a Metro card (7 days $22 - best value if staying 4+ nights) get the A Train to Chambers - the hotel is just down the block. Much cheaper than getting the shuttle bus or taxi if you don't mind public transport! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ljg1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2005

We stayed in a mini loft in the Cosmopolitan for 2 nights and it was excellent value! The location is perfect, right at the metro. Grab a coffee in the morning at Starbucks downstairs and off you go. In the evenings there are really nice restaurants just around the corner, which offer great food for very affordable prizes.
The mini loft is great when you are agile, the bed in the upper part of the room makes the room cozy and leaves you with enough space in the lower part of the room to get ready for a day in NYC.
I would definitely come again. The receptionists where extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank batti78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
608 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 467 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#212 of 467 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#71 of 467 in New York City
452 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
466 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#203 of 467 in New York City
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#236 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing