We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #241 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This is a nice hotel in a fantastic location, and for Manhattan inexpensive. If you're traveling alone or as a couple on the cheap, they have loft-style rooms, with the bed on the 2nd level. But, if you are tall (or average height if you're a male), you'll have to watch your head. That level was designed for the 5'7" and under crowd. The furniture is tasteful and modern in an IKEA sort of way. If you don't need amenities beyond a tiny shampoo and mouthwash, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank minnie_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    841
    270
    102
    68
See reviews for
337
563
165
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milano, italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We want to let people know that we got serious health problems in this hotel. I was biten by a bedbug eleven times in one night and I had to go to the hospital to be cured. At the hospital they said that this happened because of the dirty condition of the room where we slept.
Before that we had been in the hotel for two nights. At the beginning we had a room at the first floor on the back of the building, with a noisy conditioning machine always working overnight just outside of our window. Sleeping was simply impossible because of the noise. Moreover, inside the room it was very hot. We asked for a change of room and they gave us a room at the seventh floor, but unfortunately it was a smoking room even though the staff denied that. We cannot understand why so many people gave a good rate to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cosmomanager, manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 4, 2008
In response to the above review of the Cosmopolitan Hotel in which bed bugs were cited as a problem, we would like to assure all of our guests that our hotel maintains the highest level of housekeeping at all times,as evidenced by the many positive reviews on this site.We inspect every room to assure our guests that their room is clean and sanitary.The hotel guest above never notified us of the problem nor did he give us the opportunity to resolve the situation positively.we discovered and ameliorated the situation in his room due to our rigorous inspections of every room in the hotel.

Thank you,
Cosmopolitan Hotel management

In addition we have always had inspections for these types of problems.As a small hotel, we pride ourselves on treating our guests as we would treat our own families. Be confident that we look for problems before they occur,not after the fact.
Thank you,
Cosmopolitan Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Based in Tribeca at the lower end of Manhattan, the Cosmopolitan is an ultra basic New York hotel. We paid £176 inc Tax per night and at that price your still looking at very budget accommodation in Manhattan as its so expensive, in fact this type of hotel is what you’d expect to get for less than £50 a night in most other major cities in the world.

ROOM

We had a room on the 7th floor which was very small which included a sink in our room with an attached tiny bathroom. There was no closet, just a rail with a few hangers and a few draws, which means most your clothes will have to remain in your luggage as there’s no room to fully unpack. In fact walking around the room was quite difficult with 2 people and your luggage as you also use that space for your wash area too as the sink is also in the room. The bed is also quite small but comfortable, my only complaint with that was we only had 1 pillow each which was tiny and I had to fold it 3 times to give it enough plump to really be better than just laying flat on the mattress. The bathroom was also ultra tiny and feels more that your onboard a plane than in a room, but the shower did have plenty of power and the water was (mostly) warm. All that being said, the room was extremely clean and that one of the main things everyone looks for in a hotel room.
We stayed towards the end of September for 5 nights and the city was very hot for that time of year, around 24C each day, so by night the room was very warm and sometimes difficult to sleep. The room does include air con, but its so loud, even on the lowest setting that believe me its virtually pointless. Put it like this, with the air con on you can barely hear the TV on at a very high volume, so sleeping with that thing on is impossible. It’s better to turn it off and bear the heat. So baring that in mind, I’d certainly avoid this hotel in the sweltering hot summer months.

SERVICES

The hotel is basic, so there is no restaurant, bar or room service, although you do get a phone in your room as well as a TV with plenty of channels, which ones will work though I think vary by room.

LOCATION

The hotel is conveniently located right next to a subway so that’s a massive bonus. Chinatown is also about a 10 minute walk away as well as South Street Seaport and the Brooklyn Bridge being about 15 min away. Your also not too far from the bottom of Manhattan, so in an ideal location to get early to the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty.
Many of the guides will tell you this hotel is in trendy Tribeca but I stuggle to find what is so trendy about it. Tribeca was mostly dirty and looked quite run down, not the glamorous New York that is so often portrayed on TV. However, get a subway pass and its easy to get to anywhere in Manhattan.

NOISE

This is the major problem of the location of this hotel, when we were there the noise level was extremely loud and building work went on throughout the night and sounded as if we had the window open as the glass is so thin. Luckily NY will exhaust you if your busy so you’ll probably sleep through it.

SUMMARY

Overall not a great hotel, but its clean and in a convenient location. If you expect absolutely no frills, just a clean room and a decent bed then you’ll find it ok, but if your looking for anything nearer a 3 star, maybe even 2 star then you’ll have to pay a bit more and go somewhere else. One thing I should note is that all the rooms are not the same, the larger rooms seemed a bit more luxury, but if you get the small double bed room as we did then this review will apply to that.

SIGHTS

A quick note on the sights of NY

STATUE OF LIBERTY/ELLIS ISLAND – Probably the most overrated thing in NY, get there early but its always busy and takes a good 2/3 hours shuffling onboard ferries with thousands of people. Their so well photographed their not really very impressive in the flesh.

EMPIRE STATE – Probably the main attraction of NY, but much better at night when its quieter and the true magnificence of the city comes to life seeing all the lights below. Don’t pay to go higher than the 86th though as the views are no better and it’s a small enclosed room that’s not worth the extra.

TIMES SQUARE – Big, brash and busy! Avoid if you don’t like the tacky side of things, but worth a look once at night just to see the lights and there are some good restaurants there.

MADAM TAUSSADS – Avoid if you don’t like being ripped off. Will cost near £25 and you can walk through it in 10 minutes or less if you don’t stop too much.

MET – Huge and impressive, do this early on before you get too tired. You could easily spend the entire day here and not fully see everything.

NATURAL HISTOY MUSEUM – Very interesting and along with the MET very big, do this early on before the feet begin to ache. Along with the MET the two best things to see in NY.

BRONX ZOO – Do yourself a favour and don’t bother taking the 45 min subway up to the Bronx to find this. Another rip off, they charge you extra on top to see the best exhibits. Overall its very expensive to see what they have and is no better than other big zoo’s.

CENTRAL PARK – You have to spend at least half a day to enjoy this huge city centre park

  • Liked — Very clean and good access to subway to visit all of Manhattan
  • Disliked — Ultra tiny room, no closet space, uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonjgeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Do NOT be fooled by the praiseworthy comments other guests have made about this hotel. This hotel is a RIPOFF - dirty, unsafe, and lacking any sense of customer care. Let me give you the facts and then you decide. It is on a very busy street corner. When we there, there was construction. Didn't bother sleeping. It was torture the noise. When we tried to talk to the staff, it was quite difficult. English did not seem to be their first language. They could not resolve anything although I did get them to remove the air conditioning unit from my window that was letting the pulsating piercing constant noise in. The rooms you might wonder are NOT typical NYC hotels. My double bed took up most of the room. It has kind of a "closet quality" to it. The furniture is limited and broken. The pressed wood desk was broken and to relax you have to lie on the bed, because, again, no room and, of course, no recliner or casual chair. I would strongly encourage you to seek other venues. For 200-250, you can surely find better, cleaner, safer. Trust me on this one.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank GothamEthicsDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Stayed at the Cosmopolitan for about 5 days, and was very pleased. Rooms are really clean, Beds are really comfy, Nice Decor & Staff has helpful, The 1, 2, 3 Subway is right outside the door....and you are within walking distance of Soho, and the Financial District. There are tons of great restaurants and shops nearby.
My only compliant is the hotel rooms are rather chilly. But I didn't go out of my way to tell the front desk, either. I sort of would forget about it.
Also, there is a lot of loud construction going on right outside. But that's not the hotels fault. it's not like I stayed in the room all day. And it's NYC...it's always loud.
There were 4 of us in a two-double bed room and it was about 300.00 a night. Which is actually a deal considering rooms in NYC are sooooo expensive.
I really liked my stay and I would stay there again :)

  • Liked — dollar value, location, cleaniness
  • Disliked — chilly rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jetsetbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for four nights in October. The hotel is clean however we did not like our room which was located on the 3rd floor (323) it was dark, small and had no view. The view was of a brick wall. We did see other rooms which were much bigger so maybe you have to pay a little bit extra for a bigger room.The room gets very warm and the ceiling fan and air conditioner unit are noisy, I would not like to stay here during the summer. We paid €230 per night which I feel was expensive for what we got even for New York standards. For this price you would expect a lot more. There is a starbucks, grocery shop and two cafes beside the hotel and the subway is right outside the door so no complaints about the location of the hotel. If I return to New York I wouldn't stay here again as I don't think it's value for money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorshire
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2008

After reading the good reviews about the Cosmopolitan we were shocked and disappointed by what we found. The check in procedure was dreadful; the staff were rude and discourteous making it a very unpleasant experience. We didn’t hear the words please or thank you mentioned once. If it wasn’t for the fact that we’d just got off of a long flight we would have turned around and walked out. When we got to the room our enthusiasm for the hotel took an even bigger nose dive- it was tiny. There was a bed (not quite a double) a small wardrobe, a small desk and just about enough room left over for 2 people to stand. The bathroom was just as small, but not too much of a problem. On walking through the corridor later we looked into some of the open rooms and they seemed quite a bit bigger, so I guess we ended up with the short straw! We spent 2 nights there and there were roads works all night long (I mean all night!) on the street outside, so we didn’t sleep a wink. I know this isn’t exactly the hotels fault but they could have mentioned it when we check in as they must have been aware of it. All in all a pretty horrendous experience and one that we certainly won’t be repeating!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Satff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 642Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#141 of 468 in New York City
599 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 468 in New York City
1,392 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#61 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#173 of 468 in New York City
570 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#213 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 468 in New York City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing