We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They got what you need, and that's all you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #237 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“They got what you need, and that's all you need”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Whenever I stay in Manhattan I always try and avoid the super touristy neon midtown and the expensive but lovely Upper East and West areas. Tribeca is great, and this hotel has some lovely breakfast places near it and some cool restaurants around the area (one breakfast place looks like an old soda fountain place and has some awesome sweets) the room we stayed in had a great view of the Empire State Building which was a great surprise. The hotel is sweet, nothing fancy but really how long do you stay in the hotel on a trip to Manhattan anyway?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_chips_gravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear HelsinkiSheps,
Thank you for posting a review in regard to your stay with us last year. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the neighborhood of TriBeCa, and that you had a view of the Empire State Building from your room. We hope you will be back in the future, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can keep you informed of our planned upgrades and special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    850
    277
    103
    70
See reviews for
349
575
166
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is true that NYC is expensive, but I think you can find something better for the same price. Rooms are very small. There is only one elevator and it is slooooooow. And that's the only option, because there are no (or very well hidden) stairs, which is also dangerous in case of fire or similar.
The attitude of the staff goes from "cold and careless" to "who are you and why are you asking this to me".

However, I have to say it was pretty clean and the location is good, close to the metro.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seremariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear seremariposa,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that your room was very clean, and that you enjoyed our location. Please note there are two well marked stairwells in the hotel. As part of our planned renovations we will be installing an additional elevator. I apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced, please contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great location and for the price we paid we felt it was excellent value. Avoid room facing the street, the windows leak noise, can't recall exactly now but I think it was single glazing without proper seals. We asked for a room facing the back and luckily enough they had a room available.

We had problems with the cleaner that happened to have the cleaning cupboard placed next to our room, and the loved slamming the door between 7-9 so although we were on holiday there was no way of sleeping in without ear plugs.

On arrival the reception staff was very busy (and seemed very rude and ignorant) but it showed later that there had been a water outage all night because of some building works on the street. So maybe we can write of that indicent blaming stress, after all they changed room with no hassle. Overall good location and decent room. Wouldn't return on business but if budget is an issue and for private travel, I would consider it again, mainly because the excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Johan N,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us this past November. We are happy to hear that your room that faced the back of the hotel was quiet and comfortable, and that you found our location to be excellent. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Please contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We were 4 friends from South Africa that stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. It honestly made our first trip to New York that much better.. close to the subway, friendly staff that was always willing to help, comfortable beds, and always clean.

Thanks so much and when we come back to New York, we will definitely stay at the hotel again!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sandy N,
Thank you for posting a five star review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be very convenient, our staff friendly and helpful, and that your room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Please stay in touch with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can notify you of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Very noisy hotel. We didn't get a good nights sleep at this hotel. You can hear all the traffic outside, people talking on street, police sirens etc. Doors slamming all night long and then you hear the maids in early morning.
Room is small but clean. Bed was comfortable but bed was near the window so we felt a cold draft coming in from the window. I thought the window was open but it wasn't.
There was only one elevator and it was slow and the stairs are very narrow and my friend tripped up them.
One of the front desk staff was very rude and abrupt. She should not be working at the front desk. She made our stay unpleasant.
We will not be staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank fuzzypufflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear fuzzypufflet,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We value your feedback. Please note that we have quiet rooms that face the back of the hotel, and that all of our windows are double paned. This year we will be installing an additional elevator as part of the planned upgrades.We apologize for any issues you experienced, it was not the level of service that we strive to offer our guests. As you can see from our reviews we pride ourselves on providing the highest level of service. We hope that you will return, please contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband, daughter, foreign exchange daughter and I traveled to New York City for the Christmas holiday. Our stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel was excellent. It is extremely close to several subway lines and has its own adjoining restaurant, as well as many other eateries (pizza, Chinese, etc.) in very close proximity, which includes a Starbucks right next door. Additionally, several clothes and shoe stores are nearby. In short, the Cosmopolitan is in a wonderful location, which will be even more enjoyable when the weather warms up.

The hotel was warm and inviting and the staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The room size was comparable to many other NYC hotels and I believe it was a good value for the money. It was clean, the beds were comfortable and the housekeeping staff did well tidying up and re-stocking the room. The only complaints we had were that the room was chilly and there was no thermostat accessible for guests to control the temperature. We had to call the front desk attendant, whom immediately sent up a maintenance man to adjust some valves near the floor vents, which resulted in the room warming up. Unfortunately, the room cooled off again during the night so we just dealt with it. Also, as mentioned earlier, housekeeping did a good job for the most part, however, they did not clean the tub every day of our five day stay.

To sum it up, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca and I recommend it strongly. Don't be afraid to skip the chain hotels and give this wonderful boutique hotel a try. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing Chambers St, which was a little noisy at night. We didn't mind, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear IndyO,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and professional, your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed being in Tribeca. We are glad to know that the many local restaurants were to your liking and that having the subway on our corner was quite convenient. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I loved staying here. I travelled alone and arrived late in the evening to a very warm welcome. The room was nicely equipped, clean and fresh. I thought it was great value for money and in a great location. The subway station is right outside and there is a wonderful cafe below which does delicious breakfasts etc. I would definitely stay again. Thank you! Xx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear RachaelM,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be fresh and clean, and were given a warm welcome on your arrival. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of having the subway right on our corner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can stay in touch

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#210 of 467 in New York City
582 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#171 of 467 in New York City
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#75 of 467 in New York City
470 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
488 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#318 of 467 in New York City
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#234 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing