We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frederick Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$195
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$336
$281
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
$415
$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$295
$234
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$689
$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
$228
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,075 results
Traveler rating
705
892
295
110
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
892
295
110
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosmopolitan hotelchambers streetwest broadwaysubway stationtribeca areabrooklyn bridgenew yorkstarbucks downstairsbattery parklower manhattanslow elevatorworld trade centerrooms are smalldouble bedwalking distancestreet noisethe financial district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
830 - 835 of 2,075 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband, daughter, foreign exchange daughter and I traveled to New York City for the Christmas holiday. Our stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel was excellent. It is extremely close to several subway lines and has its own adjoining restaurant, as well as many other eateries (pizza, Chinese, etc.) in very close proximity, which includes a Starbucks right next door. Additionally, several clothes and shoe stores are nearby. In short, the Cosmopolitan is in a wonderful location, which will be even more enjoyable when the weather warms up.

The hotel was warm and inviting and the staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The room size was comparable to many other NYC hotels and I believe it was a good value for the money. It was clean, the beds were comfortable and the housekeeping staff did well tidying up and re-stocking the room. The only complaints we had were that the room was chilly and there was no thermostat accessible for guests to control the temperature. We had to call the front desk attendant, whom immediately sent up a maintenance man to adjust some valves near the floor vents, which resulted in the room warming up. Unfortunately, the room cooled off again during the night so we just dealt with it. Also, as mentioned earlier, housekeeping did a good job for the most part, however, they did not clean the tub every day of our five day stay.

To sum it up, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca and I recommend it strongly. Don't be afraid to skip the chain hotels and give this wonderful boutique hotel a try. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing Chambers St, which was a little noisy at night. We didn't mind, however, if noise makes it difficult for you to sleep you may want to ask for a room on the side of the hotel opposite Chambers.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear IndyO,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and professional, your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed being in Tribeca. We are glad to know that the many local restaurants were to your liking and that having the subway on our corner was quite convenient. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I loved staying here. I travelled alone and arrived late in the evening to a very warm welcome. The room was nicely equipped, clean and fresh. I thought it was great value for money and in a great location. The subway station is right outside and there is a wonderful cafe below which does delicious breakfasts etc. I would definitely stay again. Thank you! Xx

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear RachaelM,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be fresh and clean, and were given a warm welcome on your arrival. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of having the subway right on our corner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can stay in touch

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Room size very typically small for NYC, about what I expected. The lack of heating control also typical in the city, open the window if it is too hot, or turn off heat completely. (with temperatures rising each day, we had some unpleasantly hot nights) Very clean. Small elevator, very slow, meant planning ahead to leave time for a 4 to 5 minute wait at elevator--or be surprised that no one else was using. Lovely cafe affiliated next door. Staffing and service amazing for such a small hotel. a block and a half from Zucker's, great place for bagels. Requested room in back after reading reviews and it was very, very quiet. No construction work during Christmas week anyway.

Room Tip: would have preferred a King bedroom. think it might have more space.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abaconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear abaconut,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very quiet, our level of service was excellent and that you enjoyed Zuckers which is located just one block away. Please note that we will be renovating and adding an additional elevator. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future, please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can inform you of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Good small hotel. Good service. Excellent service by Bellman Hazi with bags and limo during 4 day stay.

Comp NY Times each day. Restaurants nearby. Construction on street nearby. Abt 250 per day. 24 hr notice to check out early.

X. X. Y. Y. Y. X. C. X. X. X. X. X. X. C. C.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Jbillieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Jbillieray,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff provided an excellent level of service, and that you enjoyed the complimentary New York Times that we provide for our guests each day. We are also glad to hear that you appeciated the quality of the neighborhood restaurants. Please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I booked this hotel because I was looking for an affordable, clean hotel for my husband and I and 9 year old son to stay in, which felt like quite a challenge in NYC! I initially booked a Deluxe Double with Sofa as I was informed that the sofa does fold out into a twin sized sleeper; however when we arrived at 8AM after an overnight flight from Hawaii we were more than thrilled to be upgraded to a Deluxe Double Double room that was available right away. Many thanks to the friendly and accommodating front desk staff for that, as we were exhausted!
As I grew up in NY I was expecting a large room from this hotel, particularly knowing that it is in an older building in Tribeca, NOT a high-rise in Times Square! I prepared my family to anticipate limited space inside the room and we packed light as always (one rolling carry on per person). It WAS a tight squeeze but we were all comfortable and used the room only to sleep and shower in anyway, so if your family doesn't wish to spend hours building pillow-forts on the floor of the hotel room, this might work out fine for you, too.
The room was CLEAN. Spotlessly clean, cleaner than my own house. And I always check the mattresses for bed-bug eggs, and they were clean as well.
As far as noise goes, it is true that the city was ripping up Chambers St. the whole time that we were there all through the middle of the night, and there are bars nearby and this is the city that never sleeps, so noise was to be expected. Our room faced Chambers Street. We closed the windows and ran the AC window unit at night and slept like babies, never hearing a thing.
Cafes and restaurants nearby are prolific and delicious, we were walking distance to the 9/11 memorial and the SI ferry, and steps away from the subway (the 1 and 9 trains will take you to midtown where you can shuttle over to the east side or continue to the UWS...in other words you can get to all your tourist destinations quickly, safely and inexpensively).
For those who have not spent time in NY before, Tribeca is a safe, family friendly neighborhood.
My family and I all agree that we would stay in this hotel again for the value that it provided to us i.e. cost per night : location, cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJeanneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear AJeanneM,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us this October. We are happy to hear that our staff was very accommodating, your room was very clean and that you enjoyed staying in Tribeca. We are also glad to hear that you appreciated the convenience of having the subway right on the corner, and the amount of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, please stay in touch with us.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews