We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #241 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at the Cosmopolitan for 5 nights last week while in NY for business. The staff were fantastic - from the time I got there until I left, they were polite, friendly, and anxious to help and make sure I was happy. Their service rivaled 5 star hotels.
With respect to the hotel itself, it was very clean. However, the rooms were very small and spartan. The room was either too cold or suffocatingly hot. The tub did not drain well (even after they tried to fix it), and I got the pleasure of taking a cold shower one morning. And there is an air freshener smell almost constantly. But again, the staff were wonderful, and did all they could to try to address my issues.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Penn B,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean and that our staff provided a five star level of service. Please note that in 2014 we will be upgrading the hotel which will include a central air system. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please stay in touch with us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    841
    270
    102
    68
See reviews for
337
563
165
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel a week ago for our holiday season getaway. The hotel is amazing convenient as far as location. The subway is downstairs and you can get anywhere...a really great plus! No coffee pot in room but a starbuck's downstairs. The real problem was a sickly sweet smell in the room. Not sure if it was cleaning supplies or something sprayed, but it was annoying for me. I have allergies and I slept with the window open even tho it was very cold outside. I told the front desk the next morning about the smell and she said she would tell "them not to spray"... but when we returned that afternoon, the smell was still there and very annoying. It is very clean, yes, very small, no problem with that, but the smell would prevent me from returning. I had to keep the windows open in degree weather all the time and it still didn't help.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggys52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear peggy s,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of having both the subway and and Starbucks right on our corner. Please note that we will be upgrading the hotel in 2014. We hope you will return, please follow us on social media and through our website so we can keep you posted.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've been coming to New York with my family for years and we were looking for a hotel we would like to return to every year. This year I decided for Cosmopolitan and we liked it a lot! We asked for a quieter room so they've put us on the 7th floor and there was no noise at all! The staff was very nice, the room super clean and the location just superb! There's great shopping all around in Tribeca and SoHo and at this price the Cosmopolitan is just a superb place to stay. The only downside is the size of the room, as it is tiny and the super slow elevator. I would recommend everyone to book this hotel if you want a reasonably priced, clean and well serviced hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear SaraK007,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean, our staff was helpful and friendly, and that you enjoyed the great shopping that can be enjoyed in Soho and Tribeca. As part of the planned upgrades to the hotel in 2014, we will be installing an additional elevator. We hope to see you back here soon, please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've actually stayed at the same hotel a few months ago. It was perfectly fine and I gave it a good review (on Expedia)

Last time, I was on a lower level. It was summer time. There was window a/c unit. It's ok when room is cooled and switched off before sleep.

However, this time around, I was placed on the top level. Much bigger room. It looks all fine until I switched on the desk lamp. Bright white temperature fluorescent/energy saving bulb. When the entire room's decor and color scheme is in off-white/beige/brown and that the furniture is your everyday, average quality - the light just made the room look appalling. Obviously, the hotel was furnished quite some time ago and it never planned to have this type of lighting.

There's the ceiling lamp/fan. That is incandescent but it's only because that the type of base only allows incandescent. Besides, it's completely different feel when it's overhead light. So, I went to get a light bulb myself and changed the desk lamp. Left it there for the management to see the difference.

It's below 30 degrees Fahrenheit this time staying here. There was no heat whatsoever. The first night I suck it up. The second, I addressed to front desk. They said they'll take a look and the third day - I used the last resort of the hairdryer to heat up the room. Strangely enough too is that you can't close the window that's with the window a/c unit and that I've noticed on exterior walls is that not every room does or does not have a window a/c unit. How strange.

Beware is that this time around, I've noticed that a night club that's down 2-3 streets started to have guys wearing a big sign and passing out flyers - right around the corner of the hotel. As early as 9:00AM and as late as 2:30AM in the wee hours of the morning. I just feel terribly bad for the guys who have to stand there in the cold for the hours...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Upon check-in I was offered a loft room instead of the standard I had booked, and I figured what the hell...it was a great experience to have, but I'm not sure I would recommend it for everyone. The Cosmopolitan is clean, quiet and comfortable. Not ritzy or trendy but hard to beat for the price, and while it is out in Tribeca, it is also easily commutable because it's right on top of the Chambers St. subway station. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachyBumsRWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear BeachyBumsRWe,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be clean, quiet and comfortable and that the convenience of having the subway right on our corner was a benefit of our location. We hope to have you stay with us again soon, please stay in touch us through our website and social media.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivrea, Italy
Level Contributor
220 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice location in Tribeca for this hotel. very quiet and safe location, absolutely close to the subway station and 5 minutes walks far from world trade center. The room was very clean and nice furnished. The view could not be the best, since some room are directed to other buildings. staff very helpful. One elevator for the whole hotel could very disappointing sometimes, because the waiting time could be very long. Internet not always available. To wrap up i suggest to stay in this hotel for your trip in new york, it has always been a pleasure come back to my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Luca G.,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful, our location convenient, and that you were pleased with your room. Please note that as part of our planned upgrades we will be installing a second elevator. We hope to see you again in the future, please stay in touch with us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I am a fan of boutique hotels and after staying in quite a few over the years I absolutely fell in love with The Cosmopolitan. My family goes to nyc frequently and we always stay here. The service is very, very good. We love beign away from the bustle of uptown. Tribeca is a great area. It's clean, comfortable and the rooms are perfect for a good nights sleep. I never sleep well in hotels but I have never had a bad nights sleep here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovinlife700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Lovinlife700,
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you are repeat guests of ours who appreciate the level of service we provide, the comfort of our rooms and the great neighborhood of TriBeCa. We look forward to your return, please stay in touch with us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#141 of 468 in New York City
599 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 468 in New York City
1,392 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#61 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#173 of 468 in New York City
570 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#213 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 468 in New York City
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing