We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, shame about the noice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #242 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, shame about the noice”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently had five days in New York to do Chrismas shopping. We got a great last minute deal on venere.com at the Cosmopolitan. The hotel is in a great location in Tribeca, the 1,2,3 subway stop is literally outside the door of the hotel and easy to get up to midtown and the West Village. The room was small but had everything we needed and was clean.

The big issue for us was noise. We had a room facing Chambers St on the top floor. There was a cosniderable traffic noise. We live on a main road in central London so are fairly accustomed to hustle and bustle. Even with ear plugs we both had trouble sleeping with the noise from the street below, although to be fair there were also road works going on at the time which is outside the hotel's control.

During our stay there was a planned water outage from 21:00 to 06:00. We arrived back at the hotel late that evening so no shower and brushing teeth with a bottle of water. The staff were prepared with bottled water but it would have been good to have been told when we booked / checked in rather than the evening before.

There are lots of breakfast options in the area. Kitchenette on Chambers St is particularly good. On weekday mornings they have 10 items for under $10 on their breakfast menu with coffee and a glass of orange juice. The Starbucks nextdoor to the hotel also do a yummy oatmeal for only $2.50 if you are on a budget / diet!

The nearest car rental is Hertz on Canal St (about a 10 minute walk uptown) if you are planning to hire a car. They are in a parking lot with a machine where you skype a customer services rep, very cool and efficient system.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear walb,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us, We are happy to hear that you found this to be an excellent location, and that your room was very clean. Please note we do have rooms that face the back of the hotel and are quiet. We also want to thank you for the excellent neighborhood tips and recommendations. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can keep you informed of future special rates and promotions.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    831
    268
    99
    67
See reviews for
330
557
165
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at the Cosmopolitan for 12 nights in April. Rooms are on the small side but I think that's to be expected in NYC. Coffee / tea facilities would be great in the rooms but the Starbucks downstairs is handy. The best thing about this hotel is the location. With the 123 and ABC lines practically outside the hotel, a wholefoods a 2minute walk away and great restaurants a walk away, you can't beat it. Also many of NYC famous landmarks are close or a train ride or two away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SsbcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear SsbcM,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be very convenient to everything that you wanted to do and see. We hope to see you again in the near future, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can send you our latest special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Cosmopolitan Hotel at the beginning of October during our honeymoon road trip of New England. We found a very competitive room-only deal through Last Minute Travel. The hotel is in a great location on West Broadway and Chambers Street, just a few blocks up from the World Trade Center site. Chambers Street subway station is just outside the hotel making it a great base for exploring the city. The staff are very friendly and eager to help, either by providing directions, recommending restaurants, or booking tickets. (The hotel has an allocation of free tickets for the 9/11 Memorial should you wish to visit).

Having read a few reviews of the hotel that complained about traffic noise, we specifically asked for a quiet room. The staff were happy to oblige, and gave us a room on the top floor, at the back of the hotel, as far away from the elevators as possible. The room was rather small, even by New York standards, but it was blissfully quiet and very well presented. We ate breakfast in the adjoining cafe, which had delicious food at quite reasonable prices. Due to our early departure, we chose to have breakfast in our room and were bowled over by the size of it! All in all, the Cosmopolitan Hotel is a great place to stay when visiting New York and we will be sure to return in future.

Room Tip: If you want some peace and quiet, ask for a room on the top floor, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear davidofyork,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean and quiet, our Front Desk staff was helpful, and that you found our location to be convenient. We hope that you will return in the near future, please stay in touch with us through social media and our website.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Tribeca for a week and we can say we are very happy we booked! People commenting that they were not happy need to look at the price they paid compared to other prices in Tribeca.

Rooms - we had a double and were happy with the size, if you think these rooms are small you need to check out the sizes of London hotels! There is a desk, Tv with on demand, toiletries are provided everyday. The rooms are cleaned well everyday and they will change your sheets every day if requested. The bathroom is small & don't expect a full size bath. I don't like baths and was very happy with the powerful shower. We stayed on the 7th floor facing the street. The only negative is that you can hear the roadworks, we were told that they were nearly finished but after speaking to a guy outside they will be going on up to Christmas

Location - could not choose a better location for exploring the city. Right on top of 123 trains and end of block for ACE trains. The underground is the best way to get round the busy city. The memorial, century 21, brooklyn bridge are all in walking distance. We walked to Staten Island ferry too

Staff - pleasant and willing to help. Offered advice on area abs they will also book your 9/11 passes for you

Hotel - the hotel provides Free fast working WIFI which is perfect!!! Not many hotels provide this free of charge at a decent speed. They also provide 2 macs to be able to print off passes, boarding cards etc

Room service - we had room service one night provided by cosmopolitan cafe and it was really good and a good price! Also watched an on demand movie which was a little pricey

We had a lot of coffee from starbucks downstairs!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Missdoublem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Missdoublem,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful, your room was very clean and comfortable, and that you liked the convenience of our location. We are also glad to hear that our complimentary wi - fi and Starbucks on the property were amenities that you enjoyed. Please stay in touch with us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Cosmopolitan is a small, charming boutique hotel. As others have noted, rooms are small and the lift erratic. However the decor is elegant and clean, staff lovely and the location is incredibly convenient for those wishing to explore downtown Manhattan while also have access to the subway virtually outside the hotel. Broadway, Brooklyn Bridge, Ground Zero are all a short walk away. Tribeca is a cool but unassuming area which boasts some excellent dining option. Check out the Odeon for good brasserie fare, Square a Diner for classic US breakfast and the Landmarc for a novel dining experience. The Bubble Lounge was also a fun venue for a low key night out, old school DJ and great cocktails.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Nikasi,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean, our staff was helpful and that you thoroughly enjoyed our location. We hope to see you again in the near future. Please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can send you our upcoming special offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked this hotel thru Priceline, for double occupancy. We got there and I requested 2 double beds. They said that would be another $50. per night. Although therer were plenty of rooms available they told us there were for weekend walk-ins. The staff said the decision of no give us a 2 bed room came from the managers. After I complained about it they put us on a one bed, one pull out sofa. When we entered the room I thought someone had played a joked on us, rooms are soooooo small, you'd better of at a Motel 8. I found room unacceptable after paying over $200 per nite. Then I told them I wanted to cancel reservations all together and file a complain, all of a sudden they put us on a small 2 full bed room on the 3rd. floor. I have never been in a place so small!! OMG, But at least we were in a 2 beds. At night I had to buy earplugs because our window faced the street and you hear a pin drop. On Sunday we decided to check out, and found a room at the Marriott on 3rd. and 53rd. Street for $150.00 per night, on the 25th floor with 2 huge king size bed!!! . Pictures are deceiving, and the ictures of the rooms at the Cosmopolitan are totally false! Shame on Priceline for putting us in such a crappy place

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear mah1,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor in regard to your recent stay. Please note your reservation was booked via an online channel that was not Priceline. The room provided was the room type that was booked however due to your length of stay we were able to accommodate your request and waive the upgrade fee. We apologize for any misunderstanding, and as a side note our policy is that we do not accept walk ins. We encourage our guests to share their experiences. Please feel free to contact us if there are any further questions.

Sincerely,

Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca is an excellent value in the very expensive (and not always good quality) hotel scene in Manhattan. If you are looking for a quality mid-range hotel in Manhattan, this is a great place to stay.

What distinguish this hotel from most other offerings is: the location, excellent staff, excellent WiFi coverage, and cleanliness. On the negative, the bathroom is tiny (even by Manhattan standards) and the rooms don't have coffee makers.

About the location, it's in Tribeca (a hip area with good shopping and dining), but if you want to explore, the 123 subway line just outside the hotel, the ACE line is a block away and the PATH train and the 456 line is 4 blocks away. It's also walking distance to the 911 Memorial and the Brooklyn bridge. About the staff, they are really nice and helpful. People in the frontdesk were full of advice and always greet you with a smile. They really tried to fulfill every request: early check in, a quiet room away from the street and elevators, a place to change into my running clothes when my room wasn't ready, and tracking down a letter that was sent to the hotel. WiFi was excellent in my room, although my MacBook had a bit of problems connecting to the password page sometimes (this has happened in other hotels, so it's probably my laptop's fault). My room was super clean when I arrived and kept that way during my stay.

Now on the negatives, the bathroom was tiny and by that I mean seriously small. Unless you are the size of a 4 year old, don't expect to take a bath in the "tub." And it was annoying not having a coffee maker in the room (there is a Starbucks in the ground floor if you need your morning caffeine).

All and all, the hotel was an excellent value and I'm happy to recommend the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca14rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear ca14rs,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff provided excellent service, your room was very clean and that you enjoyed our location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#319 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing