We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, devoid of sound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Frederick Hotel
Ranked #227 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms are small and not cheap, but up-to-NYC-standards. It is very clean, which is one of the most important things when visiting abroad. The location is excellent for downtown Manhattan, very quiet compared to uptown Manhattan, however, this mean that you will require the subway for all activities uptown. All in all a good base for an active city trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steenlandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Steenlandt,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was comfortable, quiet and very clean, and that our downtown location was enjoyable and convenient for you. We hope to see you again in the near future, please stay in touch through our website and social media so we can keep you updated on our offers and promotions.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love the area, I lived in NYC for a year and always preferred downtown to midtown. The hotel is cheap and very clean, yes, rooms are not big and fancy...but do you really want to spend most of your day in a hotel room while in NY?? or do you use it just to sleep? The elevator is slow, but come on! it's only 5 stories! I The only thing I didn't like was the mexican kid at the front desk: not friendly and not helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarafina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sarafina80,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Please note that in the year since you last stayed with us, there have been many upgrades to the hotel. In addtion, we will be completely renovating the hotel and adding an additional elevator next year. Please follow the hotel through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of the upcoming changes.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are in New York to be out and about and need a hotel for sleeping and showering. The location is good and there is a Subway station right next to the hotel which is a great, cheap way to get around. The staff were all very nice and helpful and gave us tips for Subway travel and printed passes for us to see the World Trade Center site. We asked for a minor maintenance problem to be corrected and it was done that day. A friend and I were traveling together and stayed in a two Queen size beds room. The beds were fine and the room was very clean and the bathroom, albeit it small, looked newly renovated. The room had both a window unit and a ceiling fan so the temperature was comfortable for us. There is construction on the street below, but the whole town is noisy. The room comes with a flat screen TV and free WiFi, along with two computers and a printer in the lobby for free use. There is a sports bar directly across the street (Mudville 9) where we watched Monday Night Football and then walked home. There are plenty of restaurants and little deli shops close by to get food. If you don't want a luxury experience and just need a good, clean room this place will work for you. And the price was much lower than other hotels we researched online.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to limit the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Julie S,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was very comfortable, our staff friendly and helpful and our location convenient. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the neighborhood dining establishments. Please stay in touch with us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Here is the good stuff. They have a great location, near everything. The rooms are NYC size (small in any other market) but very clean. The baths are nicely tiled and look "fresh". Here is the down side, it is a very noisy location. Chambers and West Broadway is a very busy area. The rooms have window air conditioners which is sort of like an open window to the traffic and street noise. We asked to be moved to an inside room and the staff was accomodating. The window opened to an air shaft (no view) but the room was quiet . The second negative it that they have only one elevator and it has a 6 person weight limit. The hotel has six or seven levels. If you want a quiet place to sleep ask for an inside room. If you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor you can use the stairs and save a lot of waiting time. (Sometimes the elevator comes but it is too full to get on). I would stay here again. It is clean, the location was great, and for Tribeca, it is bargain priced.

Room Tip: If you cannot sleep with street and traffic noise, ask for an inside room. Streetside rooms are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms were immaculate. My only complaint is there was no mini fridge in the rooms. everything was fresh and clean for a busy new york city hotel. The staff was great and there was a cute little cafe attached that served a comforting fresh breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. Great location within walking distance to the Brooklyn Bridge and Ground Zero.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kc2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Kc2636,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable, our staff friendly, and the location very convenient. Please note that as part of our planned upgrades we will be adding mini bars to all of our rooms. Currently we have mini fridges available on request. We hope to see you here again in the near future, please stay in contact with us through social media and our website.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights. Really friendly staff which is not expected in NYC.
Fantastic location , really comfortable decent sized room (by NYC standards) and a nice coffee place attached. Definitely would return and so much nicer than being in Midtown

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Realtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Realtraveller1,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our staff was friendly, your room was quite comfortable and that you enjoyed our location. Please stay in touch us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our packages and promotional offers.

SIncerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

They respond good to questions by email. We came in late from JFK but they where still wating for us around midnight, they knew we where comming in.

Very good location, down town, metro station around the corner, a lot of shps and restaurants in the neghbourhood and relativly affortable.

Would certainly go here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mash_Man2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Mash_Man2013,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the nearby restaurants and that you found our staff to be attentive. Please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#158 of 473 in New York City
673 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#305 of 473 in New York City
2,074 reviews
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#44 of 473 in New York City
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Smyth
The Smyth
#76 of 473 in New York City
548 reviews
The Evelyn
#278 of 473 in New York City
2,227 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#253 of 473 in New York City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frederick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederick Hotel

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $146 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frederick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Frederick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing