We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relativly affortable at great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frederick Hotel
Ranked #241 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

They respond good to questions by email. We came in late from JFK but they where still wating for us around midnight, they knew we where comming in.

Very good location, down town, metro station around the corner, a lot of shps and restaurants in the neghbourhood and relativly affortable.

Would certainly go here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mash_Man2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Mash_Man2013,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the nearby restaurants and that you found our staff to be attentive. Please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
There are newer reviews for The Frederick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a very comfortable room in a hotel only steps from the 1 2 3 subway line in NYC. We had stayed in a very tiny room before but this time opted for a mid scale king size room and it was a very good investment. The second floor room was very quiet and the stairs were a quick way around the slow elevator. The staff was uniformly friendly. For breakfast there is an excellent cafe next door and a Starbucks next door in the other direction. We like the location because it is only several blocks to the great West Side walking path along the Hudson with great views while you exercise.

Room Tip: Splurge a little for a king double
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank commodoreaustintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear commodoreaustintx,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you tried a different room layout this time and were very pleased. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly staff as well as the convenience of the location and nearby eating establishments. We look forward to your return, please stay in touch with us.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place has very friendly staff. We had reservations before hand & had no trouble upon checking in. Stayed 4 nights. The room was small but clean and cute. There was a doorman(older Asian) that was always so helpful and kind. (can't remember his name :( )

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Jill S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful, and that your room was clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please stay in contact with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We took a train from Washington DC to NYC. Our priority is to enjoy NYC and to save the cost from hitching cabs. This hotel is very near to 2 subway stations and 1 of the is Penn Station. Going around NYC by subway is so easy.
There's a lot of restaurant nearby and convenient stores on the same street. There's even a nail parlor and a massage center if you get too tired from walking. For coffee lover like me, it's great as Starbucks is just beside the hotel. There's even a pizza place on the same street as the hotel and they serve good pizza. Even Kim and Kourtney Kardashian were there before!
Overall this hotel is clean, compact (it's NYC afterall) and definitely convenient if you do not have a car.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor to avoid noise from the construction and vehicles. An alternative wou...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingStilettos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Travelling Stilettos,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be very convenient, and that you enjoyed staying in Tribeca. We hope to see you again in the near future, please stay in touch by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you're looking for an affordable, nothing fancy, this works. The location is central and the staff are incredibly friendly. The rooms are dated and the elevator takes forever. Ask for a lower room and use the stairs. Wifi was included which is a bonus but the rooms are NYC tiny and the lobby is even smaller. There is a convenient starbucks as part of the building. Overall pretty underwhelming for the cost but it is well located. Not good, not bad just fine.

Room Tip: Lower level room unless they've changed the elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairesadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear clariesadventure,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your mention of our central location and friendly staff. We do strive to provide excellent service. Please note that we have a variety of room sizes and layouts, and we hope you will return to give them a try. We also want to let you know that there are planned upgrades for the hotel in the near future. Please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can let you know about our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I found this hotel on Trip Adviser, and was disappointed. The photos of the hotel are all factual, but unlike the photos, my room was a single bedroom. The bed is comfortable but I'm looking at my clothes hung up near the window. My case and shoes are stacked in the only real space I have. The desk and chair are hardly wide enough to fit into, and to open the desk drawer you have to standup. The view makes you want to shut the blinds, and the air conditioning sounds very loud because of the tiny sized room.
It's clean, fresh and cheap for New York, which I suppose a place so central is good. I stayed for three nights, and got used to the size. If they advertised the size, instead of trying to deceive you, I think I'd have been happier.

Room Tip: If you want a cheap location, this is a good place, but for another $20.00 a night upgrade to a doub...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear David M,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor in regard to your stay with us. We are happy to hear that your room was very clean and that our central location was convenient. We offer a variety of room types and we hope you will return to give one of our larger layouts a try. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

With a subway station right near the entrance, downtown Manhattan within walking distance and nearby restaurants on Greenwich St, this hotel has a superb location. The rooms are rather small, which is normal for being in New York. The airco was noisy, but the ceiling fan was a good alternative during the night. The hotel staff was very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stijn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Stijn27,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, found everything to be quite convenient and that our staff was helpful. Please stay in touch with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can keep you informed of upcoming package offers and our planned upgrades for the hotel.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#236 of 468 in New York City
626 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#215 of 468 in New York City
589 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#75 of 468 in New York City
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#319 of 468 in New York City
1,972 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#17 of 468 in New York City
514 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#269 of 468 in New York City
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frederick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederick Hotel

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $177 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frederick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Frederick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing