We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Nice Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frederick Hotel
Ranked #240 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

TriBeCa is a nice area to visit and this hotel makes a good base to visit all the other attractions of New York. The hotel is good value for money but the rooms are a little small. Just room for a double standard size bed, a wardrobe and small table. The may be bigger rooms. The staff were attentive and friendly. There is not a restaurant but there are several nice places to eat near by. It's noisy in New York and sleep was a problem some nights due to noisy neighbours if the restaurant in the side street. Overall a reasonable hotel at a good price. Local attractions include Ground Zero, Battery Park, Wall Street

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Les S,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in Tribeca, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We do have a variety of room layouts and we hope you will return to try a different type. Please note that adjacent to the hotel is our Cosmopolitan Cafe restaurant. Please stay in touch with us so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,952)
There are newer reviews for The Frederick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

While this is not the most trendy or luxurious hotel you will find, it offers very good value for the price.
We really liked the location at the tip of Manhattan in Tribeca. When we woke up the first morning, it took us about 15 minutes to walk to the tip and whish Lady Liberty good morning.
There are lots of shops and resautrants close-by, of course.
The room was very clean and had everything we needed. We have to say, though, that the furniture wasn't very modern or high-quality, but pretty simple (other than it appears on photographs). Still, it was very well kept.
The whole hotel with all the hallways etc. looked very "New York" to us. Everything is relatively narrow, including the lobby. But is has a lot of charm.
The staff in the lobby was brief but friendly. The cleaning personnel also was very friendly and did their job very well!
We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to spend time in New York. Also the price seems to be pretty good for what it offers compared to other hotels in NY.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Tobias F,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and our staff was friendly. We are also glad to hear that you found the location to be convenient to everything that you wanted to do and see. We hope you will return soon, please stay in touch with us through social media and our website.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cosmo for 5 nights while visiting NYC. It was perfect for what we needed. The location is great. Right next to the subway which gets you uptown in 10 minutes.
Our room was pretty small but it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable and we didn't go to NYC to spend all our time in the room.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

There are a couple of great places nearby for breakfast and you don't have to walk too far to find bars and restaurants.

I cannot fault this hotel, it was ideal for our 5 nights

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dterry182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Dterry Horsham,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable, our staff was helpful and friendly, and that our location was convenient to everything you wanted to do and see. Please stay in touch with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can keep you posted of our upcoming promotions. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we were met by a smiling staff. We asked for rooms away from the Broadway, which was not a problem. The rooms were nice, clean and inviting. There were plenty of towels, soap, shampoo etc. The staff were very nice and accommodating and knowledgeable. The hotel has a great location. It is just zone minute from the underground. It takes only 10 minutes to get to Times Square and it is easy and quick to go to Newark Airport. There is a super quality supermarket in walking distance. There are many great and affordable restaurants, cafes and dinners in the area. Many galleries are just around the corner.

Book a room and you are in for a great holiday.



Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank JohnBTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear JohnBTG,
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel and location, and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Because of your great experience as well as other reviews from our guests, we received the 2013 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. We appreciate your kind words and we hope you will return soon. Please stay in touch with us so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers and packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel. Let me get the negatives out of the way: street construction and a painfully slow elevator. The former was made bearable with earplugs and we made a point of doing the stairs to the 6th floor every day after breakfast which took care of the latter. Those 2 things aside, this hotel is located right at a subway line, has a Starbucks, and 2 cafes that have the best croissants outside of Paris and fresh, lovingly prepared food. So much to see within easy walking in any direction. The hotel staff are top notch and every staff person we encountered was professional and we got the feeling they all cared about the hotel and the clients. When we asked for an extra reading lamp, one was found and delivered within the hour ; we appreciated the effort very much. Our room was not large, but comfortable and clean. It felt like home and would gladly stay at the Cosmopolitan on our next NYC visit.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank artlover0346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel. Check in was easy and the staff was always very friendly. The location is very convenient. Despite there being only one elevator for the hotel, we never had to wait long. The room and bathroom were NYC small, but comfortable and very clean. Would have liked a coffee maker in the room, but considering the price of the room and the limited space, running out for morning joe wasn't a bad tradeoff.

Our only complaint was the awful noise all night from the construction. When given our room, we were told it was an upgrade....and being somewhat used to the "usual" NYC noise & on the 6th floor we weren't especially concerned with room facing the street. We were wrong. The construction was booming all night and the windows weren't well sealed against the noise. Coming back late at night and having to leave early the next morning made switching rooms impossible for us. My guess is the construction will go on for months so keep this in mind. Otherwise, we found the hotel good value.

Room Tip: Do not stay in one of the exterior rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saya_Senang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Saya_Senang,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable, our staff helpful, and the location convenient. As we do have courtyard rooms, we hope you will stay in one of our inside rooms on a future visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again sometime soon, please stay in touch with us so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at Cosmopolitan Hotel for a week with my mother, who is a senior with some mobility restrictions. We both loved it; in fact, I never write reviews, but this hotel was so far beyond expectation that we decided to write. It was impeccably clean; the room was bigger than any room I ever stayed at in Manhattan for comparable prices. The whole hotel was non-smkoing, so the air was fresh. The beds were very comfortable.
The staff were extremely friendly, efficient and accommodating. We got a room facing the street (maybe one tip: when booking, ask for a room facing away from the street; there was a lot of roadwork at odd hours, with substantial noise, and it didn't look like it'd be over any time soon). Amazingly, they were ready to let us move rooms in the middle of our stay to get away from the noise (though in the end we decided not to do it since we loved the room we were in and didn't want the trouble of moving).
Location is great -- and it is right next to one of the subway stations that is wheelchair-accessible, so we were able to use the subway much more than I anticipated.
The hotel has an excellent cafe, with good food and pleasant atmosphere (and reasonable prices).
Free printing in the lobby and free wireless was a very nice bonus. It also seemed easy to book attractions right from the hotel's lobby.
Overall, it felt modern, comfortable, and friendly to visitors of all ages and abilities. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street. Otherwise, seems you cannot go wrong.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Julia G,
Thank you very much for giving a detailed review of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, our staff to be friendly and efficient and the location excellent. We hope to see you again in the near future, please follow us on social media and on our website so we can notify you of upcoming specials and exclusive offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#221 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#208 of 468 in New York City
589 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#72 of 468 in New York City
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#321 of 468 in New York City
1,974 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#20 of 468 in New York City
519 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#172 of 468 in New York City
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frederick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederick Hotel

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $176 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frederick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Frederick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing