We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frederick Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$188
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$386
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$176
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$339
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$365
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,094)
Filter reviews
2,094 results
Traveler rating
721
894
296
110
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
721
894
296
110
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosmopolitan hotelchambers streetwest broadwaysubway stationtribeca areabrooklyn bridgenew yorkstarbucks downstairsbattery parklower manhattanslow elevatorworld trade centerrooms are smalldouble bedwalking distancestreet noisethe financial district
Filter
Updating list...
986 - 991 of 2,094 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is not for you if you need to be seen at a trendy place. It's not for you if you need tons of extra frills or available services. But, if you're just looking for a comfortable bed in a clean, safe hotel where you can rest your head and night while taking in all that NYC has to offer, this might just be your place!

First of all, you'll save at least a couple hundred bucks a night off what the Midtown hotels charge. And you don't really give up too much. You have incredibly easy access to the subway from the hotel, and obviously TriBeCa is a cool neighborhood with lots of good places to eat, shop, grab a drink or hang out. Also, very close to downtown destinations, World Trade Center, and the Financial District.

The staff at the front desk could NOT have been more helpful during our stay. Will definitely consider this hotel as an option every time I visit NYC in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blauvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear blauvs,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and that you enjoyed staying in TriBeCa. We are also happy to hear that our staff was very helpful. During the year there will be a complete redesign so please stay in touch with us so we can keep you posted.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotels location was a good factor for us. We have two teenagers and a six year old and Used the subway a lot which is virtually on the doorstep. Staff friendly. Small old fashioned lift not for the claustrophobic! Rooms quite small and no fridge or drinks which would have been welcome although maybe this is normal for NYC ? Fairly basic, clean. Coffee shops either side. Felt safe at all times.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Jane P,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms to be quite clean, our staff to be friendly and the location convenient. We will be doing a complete renovation this year and will have an additional elevator. We are also upgrading our amenities to include mini bars. We hope to have you stay with us again, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can keep informed of our upcoming special packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As a retired senior executive ( 48 years ) of a major hotel company, I believe I know a little something about quality hotel service and staff friendliness. And believe me the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Tribeca New York has it all. As a gift my daughter who lives near by, booked us in the hotel for a few days. And she could not have made a better decision. Convenient too subways,
good restaurants and tourist attractions. All of the front desk people anxious too help when needed. But especially John the Bellman. We will return many times in the future....Chamber
Street guestrooms can be noisy at night...But interior rooms " excellent.

Room Tip: Room 226....Excellent
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Brian H,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding John and the rest of our staff. We are happy to hear that you plan on returning, please stay in touch with us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was recommended the hotel by a friend who has stayed here before. A great location, especially for my business trip. Incredibly clean and comfortable and very quiet. LOVED two of the front desk staff, Jaime and Barbara- very helpful and friendly. The other front desk people actually gave us bad directions on THREE occasions- so stick with Jaime and Barb and you will be fine!

Would for sure recommend to a friend and / or anyone who is staying in NYC. Would be a perfect 5 if the whole staff had been properly trained, ala Jaime and Barbara. The front desk staff should know basic directions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Ottervision,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay.We always strive to improve our service and your comments help us to do that. We appreciate your kind words about Jaime and Barbara and we are glad to hear that they were very helpful. Please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.
Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Step out the door and get your morning coffee,breakfast at Starbucks, down the steps and you at the subway. Just a ride away from any attraction.
The Hotel itself is clean, and more than adequate and comfortable. Aircon a little noisy, and our room had no view, but as tourists we only returned to sleep. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucketlist500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear bucketlist500,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do have rooms that face north and west, and from some of the rooms you can see the new World Trade Center, as well as the Empire State Building from the northern exposures. We hope you will return, please make note on your booking that you request an outside room and we will block accordingly. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews