We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, reasonably priced hotel in Manhattan.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Ranked #236 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fulshear, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, reasonably priced hotel in Manhattan.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is not for you if you need to be seen at a trendy place. It's not for you if you need tons of extra frills or available services. But, if you're just looking for a comfortable bed in a clean, safe hotel where you can rest your head and night while taking in all that NYC has to offer, this might just be your place!

First of all, you'll save at least a couple hundred bucks a night off what the Midtown hotels charge. And you don't really give up too much. You have incredibly easy access to the subway from the hotel, and obviously TriBeCa is a cool neighborhood with lots of good places to eat, shop, grab a drink or hang out. Also, very close to downtown destinations, World Trade Center, and the Financial District.

The staff at the front desk could NOT have been more helpful during our stay. Will definitely consider this hotel as an option every time I visit NYC in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blauvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear blauvs,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and that you enjoyed staying in TriBeCa. We are also happy to hear that our staff was very helpful. During the year there will be a complete redesign so please stay in touch with us so we can keep you posted.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    848
    274
    103
    68
See reviews for
346
569
166
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotels location was a good factor for us. We have two teenagers and a six year old and Used the subway a lot which is virtually on the doorstep. Staff friendly. Small old fashioned lift not for the claustrophobic! Rooms quite small and no fridge or drinks which would have been welcome although maybe this is normal for NYC ? Fairly basic, clean. Coffee shops either side. Felt safe at all times.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Jane P,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms to be quite clean, our staff to be friendly and the location convenient. We will be doing a complete renovation this year and will have an additional elevator. We are also upgrading our amenities to include mini bars. We hope to have you stay with us again, please subscribe to our website and follow us on social media so we can keep informed of our upcoming special packages.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As a retired senior executive ( 48 years ) of a major hotel company, I believe I know a little something about quality hotel service and staff friendliness. And believe me the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Tribeca New York has it all. As a gift my daughter who lives near by, booked us in the hotel for a few days. And she could not have made a better decision. Convenient too subways,
good restaurants and tourist attractions. All of the front desk people anxious too help when needed. But especially John the Bellman. We will return many times in the future....Chamber
Street guestrooms can be noisy at night...But interior rooms " excellent.

Room Tip: Room 226....Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Brian H,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding John and the rest of our staff. We are happy to hear that you plan on returning, please stay in touch with us through our website and social media so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was recommended the hotel by a friend who has stayed here before. A great location, especially for my business trip. Incredibly clean and comfortable and very quiet. LOVED two of the front desk staff, Jaime and Barbara- very helpful and friendly. The other front desk people actually gave us bad directions on THREE occasions- so stick with Jaime and Barb and you will be fine!

Would for sure recommend to a friend and / or anyone who is staying in NYC. Would be a perfect 5 if the whole staff had been properly trained, ala Jaime and Barbara. The front desk staff should know basic directions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Ottervision,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay.We always strive to improve our service and your comments help us to do that. We appreciate your kind words about Jaime and Barbara and we are glad to hear that they were very helpful. Please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming special offers.
Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Step out the door and get your morning coffee,breakfast at Starbucks, down the steps and you at the subway. Just a ride away from any attraction.
The Hotel itself is clean, and more than adequate and comfortable. Aircon a little noisy, and our room had no view, but as tourists we only returned to sleep. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketlist500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear bucketlist500,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do have rooms that face north and west, and from some of the rooms you can see the new World Trade Center, as well as the Empire State Building from the northern exposures. We hope you will return, please make note on your booking that you request an outside room and we will block accordingly. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is our second stay here. We got the loft room this time. A great deal for the money. Note however, when they say low headroom in the loft, they mean it! And you need to be decently coordinated to get up and down the steps when you are sleepy :) i would like to mention to the hotel, they really need to add another mirror in the room, the only one is in the bathroom. Also need some towel hooks in the bathroom. The chair on the first floor folds out and it could make a world of difference if it seemed a little better shape and had sheets to sleep there if you wanted to. Anyway- you cannot beat the subway stop literally at the front door, the starbucks on the bottom floor, the nice cafe for a good breakfast on the bottom floor, super short walk to wall street/ 9/11 memorial, several fantastic dining options within a couple.blocks (super lindo, zutto, cricketers arms, etc), free wifi, free printing of boarding passes. Basically a no frills, clean, safe option. The hotel does all they can while keeping reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Michelle L,
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. Your suggestions have been noted, we will be doing a complete renovation this year. We appreciate it that you pointed out how convenient the hotel is to many of Manhattans' most popular attractions, and that great dining options are within walking distance. Please follow us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can notify you of our exclusive offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A group of us stayed in the Cosmopolitan Hotel last May (2012) and enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were clean and functional and although the hotel was ideally placed to get out and about, it was in a relatively quiet spot. There's no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a great wee cafe right next door where you can get fabulous scrambled eggs and croissant. The staff were lovely and very helpful. I'd definitely reccommend the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeve_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Keeve_J,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us this past May. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the cafe and the location. Please stay in touch with us by following us on social media and by subscribing to our website so we can keep you informed of our upcoming offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#248 of 466 in New York City
612 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#181 of 466 in New York City
1,414 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#206 of 466 in New York City
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#73 of 466 in New York City
455 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 466 in New York City
468 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#192 of 466 in New York City
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting neighborhood of Tribeca, the Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca offers exceptional service, upscale amenities and a prime location. Historic Tribeca and neighboring Soho are at the epicenter of the New York City art, shopping and restaurant scene. Greenwich Village is within walking distance as well as Wall Street,the Financial District, Westfield Mall at the World Trade Center, Brookfield Place and the Oculus. In addition to providing a firsthand experience of the unique New York City downtown culture, the Cosmopolitan offers easy access to all New York City attractions with the Chambers Street Subway station conveniently located just steps from the hotel. The Cosmopolitan Hotel's personable staff ensures guests have a memorable experience while visiting New York City. The hotel offers an array of upscale amenities such as Frette linens, CO Bigelow Original Apothecary Bath products, room service by the Palm Restaurant Tribeca, complimentary Wi - Fi and the New York Times. Guests can enjoy the hotel's state of the art Fitness room as well as a full service Starbucks and Pret A Manger on hotel premises. Our accommodations can suit every need from superior and deluxe rooms to junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing