We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Frederick Hotel
Ranked #244 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great hotel! I recently stayed here while visiting old New York. I was surprise by the chic, cleanness, modernness and great service! The train was right on the corner! Traveling could not have been made easier. I had a little problem on the first day with my television but, this young man I believe his name was Michael came kindly and quickly took care of the problem. He was very patient and hospitable he really made the service of this hotel stand out. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Jessica v,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that Michael from our Engineering Department was very helpful. Please stay in touch with us through our website and social media, we hope ypu will return in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

It was a good location if the place you needed to be was on that metro line otherwise you had to walk the same distance as staying elsewhere.
We had two rooms one of which was expected to sleep 3 people - once the bed was out there was no room to walk about and the size of the bathroom was nothing short of a joke for that number. We did ask the front desk to help to accomodate us in a larger room but the "warm and friendly" lot must have been on holiday and every day we asked they were singularly unable to help and we asked every day. I would have happily paid for a larger room. (George the porter/bellboy was the exception - he was great!)

We used the Cosmopolitan Cafe one morning and were charged $9.50 for a cup of coffee and $8.00 for a tea which was extortionate!

Also a point to note there is a computerised booking system in the foyer which we used to book our transfer to the airport - don't we were nearly killed by the maniac driver. No doubt the hotel will say that is not their responsibility but it is prominently displayed in reception and no alternative was offered by the desk staff.

Also we were bitten to death in both rooms - not sure what by as the windows didn't open!

Not a pleasant experience to be recommended and I am perplexed why some people do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy-Traveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

A boutique hotel. Modern, fresh, lots going for it. Off the back of reviews on here I always used the stairs but no hardship. Staff were warm and friendly, accommodation 'cosy' but adequate and we had a lovely stay. I joined my husband later so he spent the first couple of nights in a loft room which I believe he was tempted to pay the extra to check out of had there been room available, but having slept a night in there he found that it really wasn't that bad being able to touch the ceiling whilst sitting in bed...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atravelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear atravelergirl,
Thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you found our staff to be warm and friendly, and the location to be convenient for you. We hope you will return in the future and will try our variety of room types and sizes. Please stay in touch with us on social media and by subscribing to our website so that we can send you our exclusive offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for a few days before my wedding. Firstly with my fiancé, then with some of my girlfriends. We found it a great location, Chambers St metro station is right next to the hotel, so easy to get uptown. My fiancé and I enjoy running and it is close enough to go running on the Hudson. They were very attentive our whole stay. Value for money too. The only disadvantage is that due to construction work going on it can get noisy in the mornings and the aircon woke me up a few times in the night. However this would not stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bomanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachns, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Bomanda28,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, and found our staff to be attentive. Thank you as well for pointing out that the hotel is in a neighborhood that is good for runners. We look forward to your return, please stay in touch with us by subscribing to our website and by following us on social media so we can keep you posted of upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I'm by far not picky, but my night at the Cosmopolitan was one of the worst nights I've ever had. I stay in hotels every week and have done so for 15 years, usually looking for a hidden gem and stay away from chains I found a hidden nightmare instead.
Room not at all similar to the website. A 2 story bungalow with a 5 foot high ceiling the the bedroom. A 1 foot wide staircase to get up there, and a giant industrial air conditioner unit outside my window (for The building next door) that ran ALL night. Imagine sleeping, or trying to, next to a car engine all night. Not that it was the end, the window unit from the room above dripped a nice crescendo of water on to my window unit every 4-5 minutes at varying rates, adding to the noise. Worst night's sleep ever. And for $300 a night, this is disgraceful. I will certainly never ever be back...I suggest you don't try a first...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KCEmilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear KC Emilio,
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced while staying in one of our loft rooms. Please note that we have a variety of room types and sizes with both front views and back views. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance, please contact me directly if I can assist you with a future reservation.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a really great little hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were a tad small but very tidy. Location was a little bit away from Central NYC, but it was right on top of a Subway station that could take you right up to Times Square, Broadway etc. There weren't any coffee or tea facilities in the room, however there were a couple of coffee shops outside, the best being the small cafe next to the front entrance.

I was expecting a lot worse for how cheap the room was.

Room Tip: If your on the lower floors it easier to use the stairs than wait a long time for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbojnr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear jimbojnr81,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be helpful, the rooms clean and the location convenient. We are continuing to upgrade the hotel so please stay in touch with us through social media and by subscribing to our website we we can keep you informed.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Located at the crossing of Chamber Street and Broadway this hotel offers everything that a citytripper is looking for. Metro lin A, coming from JFK airport just behind the corner, for 2.25 US dollar you are downtown in lower Manhattan from the JFK airport.
Very clean rooms with good beds.
The staff was very friendly and outside, next door to the hotel you have the Cafe for breakfast, count 15 us dollar all in.
The price for one night was also very correct, I booked a couple of months in advance and prepaid.
So I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fonzzemst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle S, Director of Sales at The Frederick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Fonzzemst,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you found our staff to be helpful, the location convenient, and our cafe to be of good quality. Please stay in touch with us so we can keep you informed of our upcoming offers.

Sincerely,
Rachelle Schwarzenberg
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#191 of 470 in New York City
650 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#64 of 470 in New York City
525 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#313 of 470 in New York City
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#256 of 470 in New York City
601 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#23 of 470 in New York City
592 reviews
Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financial District
Aloft Manhattan Downtown Financi...
#328 of 470 in New York City
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frederick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frederick Hotel

Address: 95 West Broadway, At Chambers Street, New York City, NY 10007-1151 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#233 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $152 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frederick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Frederick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel New York City
Cosmopolitan Hotel Tribeca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing