We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #264 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here in August for 4 nights. Nice hotel, friendly staff. Rooms spacious and clean. Good location.
They do a great buffet breakfast which worked out around £6 a day.
Close to Central Park, 5th Avenue and Carnegie Hall.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine101454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    1,852
    424
    118
    64
See reviews for
1,463
919
81
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Perfect location for sightseeing.
Great hotel as a base, not somewhere you would want to stay in your room all day, it was passably clean, and the room has all you need but is fairly basic.
Breakfast choice was good but having to use plastic cups, plates, knives and forks wasn't really acceptable and I'm far from a snob!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Such a great location for such a bad managed hotel. If you want to stay in centrally located hotel in Manhattan and nothingelse matters than this hotel is perfect for you.
Rooms are clean tidy but carpet and bathroom somehow needs replacement. Airconditioning is working but too loud.
Breakfast is open buffet no meat products involved. Self service and you can enjoy it with plastic plates plastic fork, spoon and knife, and with cartoon glasses. No china available.
Reception and concierge is not capable or they are fed up with the work they are doing. They didn't care about any request before the arrival of the hotel during reservation process and also they were not helpful after the arrival of the hotel. Any help we ask for either they returned with wrong information or we get no return and no information.
The kitchenette in the room is very helpfull. The grocery across the street have everything you would need including hot meal. Elevators are too slow and if one of them is out of order you had to wait quite a lot.
Internet is quite expensive. i did not understand everywhere in the world at least for flight check in process there is a place you can make it free of charge or they do it for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erdem Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

It is our first trip to Manhattan, and I was looking for something centrally located, and this hotel is close to everything but at the same time in more quieter location.
The hotel is old, carpets in the hall stink, everything needs to be updated. Bathrooms ugly and need to be at least painted. Our air conditioner in the room didn't work properly entire stay , on daily bases we had someone coming by to fix it, but it stopped working again in a couple hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana19712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The Salisbury has a great location, right around the corner from Central Park, and a five minute walk to Times Square. The rooms are clean. The decor tries to be 1940's vintage, but the brown tiled bathroom, adorned with flowers, screams 1970. So it's a bit of a mish-mash. The lobby leaves A LOT to be desired, but then again, how much time do you spend in the lobby? The 1940's round couch presented in the picture is literally child-sized. It makes the room look large and luxurious. The lobby isn't. It's a tiny room. I would stay here again, but recommend the Wellington Hotel (right around the corner) which has true 1940's charm.

Room Tip: It had great sound insulation, as I didn't hear one person in the hallway. The views are all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaOinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have just got back from a week in NYC, during which I stayed at the Salisbury Hotel. To start with, this hotel would benefit from complete redecoration throughout, so if you want somewhere posh, this place is not for you. But, if you want a hotel which is clean, comfortable and well placed for local attractions and facilities, then the Salisbury is a great choice. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the room was furnished to a decent standard. There is a subway station and cashpoint 2 minutes away, Angelo's restaurant (very nice) is right next door and there is a good supermarket and a Starbuck's just across the street.
Also, the hotel is opposite ''6 1/2' avenue. This isn't an avenue as such, just a convenient string of public shortcuts through the centre of buildings. Vey convenient when you want to get to the shops. All in all, not a bad choice of hotel for a week in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 88RobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The four stars I have given are for the location and the staff. I can't deny that the hotel is in need of update but for the amount of time you actually spend in a hotel room and the price of the room that we paid for a good location in New York, it is hard to beat. They were working on the reception area whilst we were there but there was no disruption to our stay.

We had a good size room, two queen size beds for two of us with a microwave, fridge, "kitchen" sink (useful when so eone is in the bathroom) and coffee maker which can be used for tea too.

There was a walk in wardrobe too with a free room safe.

It's a couple of short blocks from Central Park, there's a subway at the end of the block, 5th Avenue is within easy walking distance and a really good deli just across the road from the hotel. Angelos restaurant is just a couple of units down and is in the guide books as good for pizzas. It was! There is also a Starbucks next to the deli which has free wifi rather than the hotel wifi which they charge for per computer/phone by the day.Nearly all tne Starbucks in New York have free wifi but not all so check the sign by the door before you buy your coffee, or tea in our case!

The area felt very safe for two females with some expensive hotels within a short distance from this hotel. I would prefer to stay in this area rather than the very busy Times Square area. The staff were very friendly and I am happy to recommend it with the above caviat.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor or a room which is not at the front- it is a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#260 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,066 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#46 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,921 reviews
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#65 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#426 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#244 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#162 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Property: Salisbury Hotel
Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing