We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth stay and would definitely return again”
Review of Salisbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salisbury Hotel
Ranked #302 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I recently spent 10 night at the Salisbury Hotel and this was my fourth visit to the Salisbury. The hotel location is great, just minutes away from Central Park. It's across the street from the Russian Tea Room on 57th street between 6th and 7th Avenue. As the guests have stayed, the rooms are huge for New York. The standard rooms are defiantly larger than most NY hotels and feature a small kitchenette which as a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and sink. The standard rooms offer either one king bed or two full size beds. During my recent stay, I stayed in a one bedroom suite. The 60 m2 suite had a spacious living room with a 42 inch LCD TV, a sofa-bed, several chairs, AC uint and a separate desk. The dining area with a large table and four chairs is next to the kitchenette. There were four closets with built-in lighting and one closet was a walk-in closet. The bathroom was basic with a standard bathtub and shower combination and a hair dryer. The bedroom was quiet with two full size beds, two reading chairs, a large flat screen TV and plenty of closet space.

If you're a light sleeper ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. The suite I stayed in was the entire length of the 7th floor with the living room facing the street and the bedroom on the back side of the hotel. The Salisbury offers wireless internet for $10 per day. You can also sign up for a multi-day plan for $35 dollars for 5 day or $45 for a month. If you rarely go on-line, there is a Starbucks across the street and one around the corner. Both have free Wi-Fi.

In the end, base your stay on your expectations. If you are looking for a full service, modern, high end 5 star hotel then the Salisbury is not for you. If you're on a budget and want a small hotel with no service and small rooms than the Salisbury is also not the right place for you. But if you want a really large room in a great location with most of the amenities that you would expect at a mid price hotel then the Salisbury is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. They are quieter and some times larger.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSotomayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,931)
There are newer reviews for Salisbury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,871 - 1,877 of 3,931 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We arrived late at night from L.A. with our 3 young kids, in pouring rain, to find out that hotel had overbooked. We were put up in another hotel for night but the accomodations required 2 separate rooms on 2 diff. floors so we had to split up. I learned the next day that other guests at Salisbury had also been displaced due to overbooking. After wasting time checking out the next morning and getting back to the Salisbury, we left out luggage with the Salisbury as it was early and room not ready. The hotel assured us all bags would be in secure lock-up (which they were). Unfortunately, upon our return late that night, one of our bags was missing. After reviewing security tape, it seems that the staff had mistakenly given bag to someone else. That lost bag had our electronics accessories (chargers, ipod, etc.) plus other items. Although the hotel did give us a very large room (presumably to compensate for 1st night's overbooking inconvenience), the loss of our bag put a damper on things - unneeded stress and waste of time trying research replacement value. ... The front desk staff overall were not very helpful or adept at dealing with these issues. Although the management was very attentive and apologetic and did issue us a check (replacement value of lost items) upon our return home. ... The hotel was in a great location, easy access to subways and around the corner from Central Park. The hotel has not been updated but did not matter - the room was great for our family of 5. And the hotel had a continental breakfast every morning that satisfied us all. If not for the the overbooking problem and error in losing our bag, I would have given the hotel a better rating. Overall - good value for NYC.

Room Tip: Book months ahead because family size rooms hard to find at reasonable price in NYC.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jotripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband, 20yr old daughter and I recently stayed for a week at the Salisbury Hotel.
We were really happy with our stay here, and the one bedroom suite suited our needs very well.The rooms are spacious, with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink tucked in the corner. Plenty of room for our luggage and shopping. We found the breakfast to be excellent value and ate there most mornings. The hotel staff were helpful when needed and we'd be happy to recommend this hotel, especially for travellers staying more than a night or so in NY.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed at the Salisbury for 5 nights in July. We had a one bedroomed suite for 2 adults and 2 older teenagers and the rooms were extremely spacious and even though they were dated it did not matter. It was nice to have a TV in the lounge and one in the bedroom. The breakfast at the hotel was $6 per person and was well worth having as the food in New York is expensive. The breakfast was cereals, bagels, muffins, donuts, fruit salad etc. I found the staff on the front desk very helpful and I booked tickets for the 48 hour red open top bus tour from them. The tour is really worthwhile - we did the downtown loop first which enabled you to see exactly where you wanted to look at further and then you just hopped on and off the bus as you liked. The hotel is ideally situated, just around the corner from Central Park and about a 10-15 minute walk from Times Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as we were at the back and just looked out over other peop...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mozzaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is my third visit to New York and the third time we've stayed at the Salisbury Hotel. It's by no means a five star hotel, probably more like a three star. But the things we love about it are the HUGE rooms (we always have a one bedroom apartment), the comfortable beds, its lovely and close to central park, the subway is right on the corner (only a one minute walk away), a short walk to a great supermarket which also has a hot food bar and a dry cleaners just around the corner which has a fabulous wash and fold service. This visit our room was a little tired but generally speaking still good. Our sofa bed was very uncomfortable and I slept with one of the kids in the bedroom and hubby slept on the sofa bed, in the end we didn't even bother opening it up it was so uncomfortable he just slept on top. I was disappointed to check in with our friends who had never stayed before and they were upgraded to one of the super big huge rooms on the end and us with our third visit not given an upgrade. But I got over that quickly and loved our visit to New York once again.

While we were in New York we caught a subway to Brooklyn and walked back to Manhattan over the Brooklyn Bridge (better to go in that direction so you are walking towards the beautiful New York Skyline). We caught the free Staton Island Ferry which took us past the Statue of Liberty. We shopped at Jersey Gardens in New Jersey which we all really enjoyed. We had a picnic dinner in Central Park and at dusk saw fireflies for the very first time and of course went shopping on 5th Avenue (my daughter's fav shop Abercrombie and Fitch) and into Time Square.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Booked based on other reviews. The location is hard to beat. Admitted, I have not stayed in nyc for a few years now, but it seemed very expensive for a very basic hotel. Clean and quiet, yes. Excellent location. Would shop around a little more next time for a better rate somewhere nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edredw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

An absolute treat and perfect location.
Continental breakfast buffet style with all you can eat for an amazing $5.
Lovely rooms and very helpful staff.
A little dated but very comfortable and a touch of history amongst all those chain hotels.
Will make this my first choice again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#258 of 468 in New York City
6,423 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 468 in New York City
6,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#236 of 468 in New York City
443 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,222 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Hotel

Address: 123 W 57th St, New York City, NY 10019-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $168 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury New York City
Salisbury Hotel New York City
Salisbury Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing