We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #273 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 1, 2013

For a central New York hotel, the Skyline was great value for money which is why we chose it. Compared to ibis and travel lodge hotels we have stayed at in large cities,this was great.The room was a decent size with two very comfortable double beds, good shower, bright bathroom and a view over the skyline. The staff were very helpful, particularly the concierge who gave us directions for getting to the airport by subway for less than a 10th of the price of a taxi. The room was warm even during chilly days in October, and with a busy street below, the window couldn't be left open overnight.
The pool was warm and clean with a great view. Again a great bonus for the price. If you want luxury, you need to pay for it elsewhere but if you want somewhere comfortable, clean and welcoming I would very much recommend a visit.
We walked to all the shopping districts. 10 minutes to Times Square, 20 to the Empire State Building and 5 to the ferry/ sightseeing boats. The subway was just 10 minutes walk too. There were lots of small delis in the area for getting breakfast. Hotel breakfast ok. Nice pancakes with crispy bacon and maple syrup but would recommend delis!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a city view. We slept with the curtains open so we could see the lights!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to see you back here soon.

Best regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,536)
There are newer reviews for Skyline Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,536 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at Skyline Hotel in New York City. With low expectations because of the price, we were well-satisfied with a very nice experience at this hotel. The staff was super friendly. But our favorite person at the Skyline was the concierge, Larry. He was not only lively, informative and helpful, he got us enthused about the restaurant he was sending us to. Really one of the best concierge's I've ever encountered. Our room was huge and remodeled and very clean. It was also completely quiet which is a huge bonus while in noisy New York. The ONLY complaint I would have about the Skyline is the terrible breakfast. It did not come with our room, so we paid $20 each for food that was almost inedible and coffee that was lukewarm and scarce. Although we had never stayed in this part of town before (Hell's Kitchen) we found it to be very centrally located for the theater district, walking to Central Park, shopping on 5th Avenue and visiting museums. We would stay at the Skyline again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the eighth floor where the rooms are remodeled and face away from tenth street whe...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Melling,
I was quite surprised to learn that you was disappointed with the response both from myself and maintence of your room issues. I apoligize if a came across disinterested in the issue of brown water in your tub. I remember listening to the issue and stated that I would have maintenance go up to the room inmediately. You did mention you were going out for a few minute and I promised to have this corrected or if need be, move your room. You did not mention any other problems when we met in my office.
Our Maintenance person said he meet you in the room and he corrected the problem and came back a little later to make sure it was ok. The problem was only in the tub, resulting from a rusted pipe in the room adjacent to yours. I do thank you for mentioning that the hasp lock was broken and the door where the refrigerator was located needed to be adjusted. The fan in the bathroom was working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A very tired hotel, with more things broken in the room than the things that worked (bathroom extractor fan not working, broken furnature, door security chain missing etc). Our stay was topped by running a bath only to have brown matter flowing into the tub from the tabs. We of course reported this to the general manager, who was particulary disinterested,. We were directed to his office when we asked for him, after getting no response to the brown sludge problem from the rest of the staff, the general manager sat behind his desk and barely looked up, sweeping our concern aside by saying he would get someone to look at it. New York was fantastic but I would avoid at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melling_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Melling,
I was quite surprised to learn that you was disappointed with the response both from myself and maintence of your room issues. I apoligize if a came across disinterested in the issue of brown water in your tub. I remember listening to the issue and stated that I would have maintenance go up to the room inmediately. You did mention you were going out for a few minute and I promised to have this corrected or if need be, move your room. You did not mention any other problems when we met in my office.
Our Maintenance person said he meet you in the room and he corrected the problem and came back a little later to make sure it was ok. The problem was only in the tub, resulting from a rusted pipe in the room adjacent to yours. I do thank you for mentioning that the hasp lock was broken and the door where the refrigerator was located needed to be adjusted. The fan in the bathroom was working.
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Mix up with booking (not Hotel's fault) met with helpful response. Breakfast excellent (why do they only serve burnt streaky bacon?), but ate once for evening meal on night of arrival: limited menu choice, and horribly loud sports programme was inescapable - to be fair, it is a sports bar, but no need for the volume we had to endure. Fairly conveniently situated: if we were to go to NY again might look to be a little closer to Times Square or the Subway, but we knew the location before we went, so this is not a criticism. We are four pensioners, and found the daily walks to get to and from Subway, shops, attractions and eateries just a bit too much. Rooms very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and plenty big enough. All staff very helpful - special praise for Larry the Concierge who managed to be cheerful too - and were always ready to listen and to advise. If you want a kettle, ask at Reception, and they will get you one: simple as that! Take your own tea bags and coffee, though. For a really good latte (ask for cafe con leche) try the deli at the junction of 10th Ave and 50th Street, just across the road from the Hotel. Would probably not stay at Skyline again, but solely because of location being that little bit to far out for us. Otherwise, no real criticism. Hotel undergoing lift renovation programme, so slight inconvenience possible. Reception outdated but spacious and comfortable. I would advise asking Hotel to book you a transfer back to the airport: much cheaper than taxi. Might be worth seeing if they can book you a transfer on arrival, too.

Room Tip: We had sixth floor rooms overlooking 49th Street: no noise problems at all.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We take full responsibilty for the problems in the resturant, eventhough we do not operate the service. I will speak to the operator to hopefully improve the faclity.
Your comments about the positive experience in the hotel is greatly appreciated and will be shared with all.
Thank you,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a two double superior bedroom... beds were really comfortable and shower was really powerful with constant hot water. We had a room on the 4th floor with really nice views of the Skyline. Really nice view of the Empire State Building too. Rooms were pretty quiet considering the road outside was constatly busy. One of the lamps didn't work and on the 3rd night the heating was turned on when we returned to our room but it wouldn't turn off when we tried to adjust it. It was either having that on or really cold air blowing out. We did leave a note for the cleaners on both occasions but this was ignored. Neither were a big problem as it had turned quite cold while we were there. Hotel is located on 49th St which is walking distance to Times Square and Central Park. We had booked a shuttle transfer back to the airport with the concierge as we had a really early flight back to the UK and didn't want to rely on finding a taxi at 3am. Tranfer was booked to collect us at 2am but didn't show up until 2:45 but the guy on reception volunteered to ring twice to chase this for us. Really wouldn't recommend booking a transfer back to airport as there were plenty of taxis passing throughout the night. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo8716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay. The balance between heat and a/c at this time of the year is smothing we are working on

It was nice for us to be part of your five day stay in NYC.

Regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is dated but the location is very good and their $10 a day for parking gets us coming back. It is a straight $7 cab ride up to Lincoln Centre and a short walk to Times Square. But there is no coffee maker in the room and internet costs $10 per computer. There is Internet in the so so restaurant that is accessible through the lobby, but you have to order something to get the code. No Internet in lobby. These small things are annoying when paying over $330 for the room. The beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: The deli across the street is excellent for basic takeout breakfast. The much more expensive one in...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We will have free internet starting in January 2014. The coffee situation, which we hear alot, is a little more difficult due to working conditions with our staff.

Thank you for the positive and constructive comments.

Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel was well placed for exploring uptown and downtown. Room was clean and beds were super comfortable. Our room faced the street which was noisy throughout night and could have down with soundproofing or triple glazing. Requests to move were met with some indifference and no solution unless we were prepared to pay a lot more. Agree with other reviewer that hot drink facility in room would be very welcome. This hotel is the only place we have been charged to leave our baggage in lockup on our last day, It hasn't happened in the UK or the rest of Europe.

Room Tip: Avoid streetside rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for all of tyour comments to help us do a better job in the future. Location is important, but we also want our guest happy with all aspects of the hotel.

Regards,
Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#352 of 468 in New York City
4,344 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 468 in New York City
977 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#231 of 468 in New York City
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#169 of 468 in New York City
3,799 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#202 of 468 in New York City
5,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $162 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing