We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #286 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Florence, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My 2 boys and I stayed at the Skyline for 6 days while in New York. Great location close enough to the sites and to the Main Subway. Staff was excellent, rooms were good size, and for the price we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamfreemind2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It was so nice to read your positive coments that you and your boys had at the hotel.
We will continue to try to make great customer experiences.

Warm Regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    1,147
    498
    153
    81
See reviews for
875
593
87
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly staff and good location makes this hotel exceptional. It is good value for your money with many convenient stores and shops nearby.

The hotel is also within walking distance from such places a the Times Square and Broadway. It also provides ample facilities for the comfort of the clienteles. The food is of good variety, freshly cooked and pleasantly presented.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It was nice to hear your great experience at our hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is known for its location. Its walkable distance to Times Square, Broadway and even Central Park. Staff are welcoming and informative especially the concierge service, through them we found out the best place for pizza, she recommended Johns and it didn't disappoint (10 minutes walk).

The rooms are big enough, the beds are comfortable, the air con is quite noisy though. The bathroom was quite small and could do with updating, the shower was small and I felt a bit cramped in it. The room could do with tea/coffee making facilities also, had to use the deli across the street to get a cup of tea. The fridge is empty so guests can use it to their leisure.

Meemo's, the bar/restaurant at the hotel is good, worth a visit- they make a great cosmo :)

Overall, the hotel is good, a bit on the basic side, but this was fine for my first ever trip to NYC. However, if you are looking for a bit more luxury in a hotel which I will be next time, then this isn't the hotel for you. Location wise, its great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We will be working on the A/C in the building to make them more efficent and quieter. Hoping you will be able to return in the new future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's difficult to beat Skyline Hotel for experiencing Broadway. Rooms are clean and prices are reasonable. Broadway is within easy walking distance of the hotel. A huge perk is parking. At $10 per day, it's easily one of the best reasons for staying here. Another real plus was the concierge. He was so friendly and helpful, we looked forward to talking with him whether we had a real need or not. Stay here for your next New York experience. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunYugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Location was perfect for you, the parking was very reasonable and you loved our conceirge. What more can i hope for. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Skyline Hotel. We hope to see you again when you visit our great city.

All the best, Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I wouldn't normally consider travelling long haul with a 2 year old but had to go to New York for my sisters wedding. After some research we came up with the Skyline which promised to be family friendly and a reasonable price. Pleased to say I wasn't disappointed.
The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly from Maria on reception to Larry the info guy and the chap who served us in the bar (sorry can't remember your name).
Superbly placed for most things, not too far away from Central Park and a 5 min walk into Time Square where you can get on the hop on hop off bus to visit Statue of Liberty, 911 Memorial and Empire State Building.
Rooms were spacious and cleaned daily no matter how late we left it and I never used a towel more than once (sorry planet earth!) There was the added bonus of a pool in the hotel to keep my toddler entertained when he got fed up of sightseeing.
Breakfast is a hot/cold buffet at an additional charge but was very nice.
My only negative was that you have to pay for WiFi but not the end of the world if I have to stay email silent for a week.
All in all a great place to stay.
Thank you Skyline :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It was nice you survived the travel with your two year old. I am sure the wedding was great and I am glad we added to your great time in NYC.

Best Regars,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you're looking for luxury go elsewhere but if you're looking for a clean,friendly place to stay for your visit this is the place. It's well located; they have parking which is a big plus in New York if you're coming by car and it's walking distance to Time Square where you can get tours of the city, restaurants and shopping, the subway, shows etc. We didn't try the hotel restaurant because we prefered the many delicatessens around the hotel and the restaurants in Time Square. Great value for the money. We would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5travellersGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and hope you will return soon.

Best regards,
Mark Hurewitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerum, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Travelling family of husband, wife and 2 children (6 and 9). Nights at hotel: 6 nights July 2013.

In general: The hotel really surprised us for good. You know how you see pictures of a hotel and when you get there nothing is the same? Well, this was not the case. The same room pictures you can see on their web site is the same room you (or at least we) will get. Same space, same colors, same big flat TV, same clean environment, same everything!
If you have any doubts (when looking at the map) if the Subway/Underground is close enough, do not hesitate. It is close (at least for a European walking standard). It will take you no more than 6 minutes walking (and it is a nice city walk) to the metro station. Once you are in the metro system you can reach anywhere in NY.


Very good:
1.Hotel room in general.
2.Swimming pool if you have kids. It can make them happy to go for a swim after a long walking day. The swimming pool opens long hours (check their schedule but I think it was opened until 10 pm during weekdays). They provide with towels.
3.There is a SUBWAY restaurant just by the hotel. It can save the night dinner.
Location. Being inside the action, saves you into-the-city and out-of-the-city traffic everyday. It saves you time because you do not need to park. It saves you the parking money (and this is expensive). If you anyway plan to take a car, please verify the price of the parking at the hotel. I think it was $30 per day!!! (with $30 you get a 7-day metro pass that allows you to take all buses and subways in NY!!!)
Walking distance (10 minutes with kids) to the Circle Line NY tours and Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum.

Good: The parallel Av (9th.Av.) is plenty of restaurants (fast and not so fast food) and better small stores from those you find in front of the hotel. I put it as good because we did not eat in any of the restaurants.

Bad:
1.Parking price. I am not very sure since we did not have a car but I think they charge 30$ per day. Check on their website.
2.The room was a bit noisy at night. Since it was hot, either you needed to have the AC noise, or open the window and have the city noise. Anyway, you are in NY, so a bit of noise is part of the experience.
3. We had dinner one of the nights at the restaurant downstairs. In the menu it said that for parties larger than 6 a tip of 20% would be charged. Well, we were 4 and they charged the 20% tip anyway. I told the waiter and she basically did not care. At least I felt better showing her that I am not stupid. Anyway she got the tip. But we never came back and I am writing these lines about it. So, was the 20% worthy? Probably not.

Very bad:
1. The price does not include breakfast. Breakfast at the restaurant was really expensive. We had breakfast on our own means.
2.The price does not include WIFI access. As the reception lady said "You have WIFI but internet access you have to pay".Smart!!
3.The DELI's you find in-front of the hotel are, in my opinion, not very good. They had no prices anywhere. As an example: There is one called SKYLINE GOURMET DELI. We asked for the price of some ice cream for the kids. One of the employees made the price up of 3$ each!! Expensive but we made an exception for the kids. But when the boss came he told us that the price was 3.50$. I asked him "How come the price has changed in a matter of seconds?" He said, "Oh that employees does not know the prices", with some attitude. We did not buy the ice creams. Even our children understood that what had just happened was BAD. So they were proud of our behavior.

I hope this is helpful. If you have any other questions may be I can help you with some hints.
Enjoy your trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignacio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Front Office Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about our beautiful property. I am happy to hear that you found everything to your liking. We are working on changing our A/C units as well as hoping on not charging for WI-FI, that is in the process. I am sorry about your incident with the gratuity at the restaurant, they are a separte entity but I will bring this to their attention. We appreiciate all your feedback and hope that next time that you are in our great city that we will see you again.
Thank you
Michelle Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,327 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#325 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Property: Skyline Hotel
Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing