We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skyline Hotel Expected more”
Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #270 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel June 27 thru June 30th, 2013. The Hotel is just ok, don't expect to much in the way of "nice" at the Skyline. The front desk clerk was rude as she informed us that check in time was at 3:00 PM. We had arrived early in the morning after a redeye flight from L.A. again later in the day about 2:30 we attempted to check in but once again were told check-in is at 3:00 PM, no sympathy for weary travelers. The Hotel room was big and the bed was comfortable however the room could use a deep cleaning.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rrjoy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 2,618 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The Skyline Hotel was perfect for us. Our room was clean and comfy. We stayed two nights and were happy to be within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. We enjoyed happy hour at the adjoining restaurant and I was worried about driving to the hotel, but the valet and bellhop were quick to help us and made it easy! We enjoyed our stay and recommend the Skyline! Our son also enjoyed the pool!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cairoky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Wonderfull comments, thank you----Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Skyline Hotel for a week and found it good value. It is not 5 star and is a bit dated but it is well located within walking distance to Times Square. Staff are friendly and the food and drinks are reasonably priced. There are a lot of deli's and restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your staff ---Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the skyline for 1 week mid June. first impressions are very deceiving this is a good value for money hotel. Our room was cleaned every day and when we returned in the evening we always found our room spotless. there is also air con which was a godsend as there was a heatwave in NY while we were there. We found the staff at this hotel were good at their job and always helpful if we wanted any advice. The only downfall was the cost in the bar/dining area, a breakfast is 20 dollars and the price of drink is very expensive. But apart from this, this hotel is well run and clean.
The hotel is situated a bit out of the way, but it is only about a 10 minute walk to times square in one direction and the Hudson river taxis in the other direction, the subway is also only a few minutes walk away.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms ie 639 have a great view and are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pete064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to let others know of the positive experience at our hotel.
please come back and visit again----Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights...got in our first night just before midnight, we had walked from Penn Station through Times Square. Was expecting more then a 5 level hotel considering the name. Check-In was easy and our room was located on the second level. Standard room consisting of two double beds which were comfy enough, decor and the room furnishings need some major updating and there was no counter space in the bathroom. No free Wifi and the pool looked alright but was only open from 7-10am and 5-10pm. Excellent location for exploring New York - but wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cycle4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

While we love to receive positive comments, we can learn and improve by your experience. i thank you for sharing your experience----Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a large tour group.

This hotel is ideally located - only 20 minute walk to Times Square, about the same to the tip of Central Park (with 5th Avenue a couple of minutes after that) and multiple T stations nearby. Convenience stores and coin laundries available within a couple of blocks in both directions. SURROUNDED by evey cuisine style and price bracket due to being located in the Hells Kitchen area. The hotel itself has a slightly confusing layout, we had to go down the side, up some stairs, down some stairs to arrive at the lifts for our room.

Room came with the regular bits and pieces. Nothing oustanding, but hey, youre hardly in New York to sleep are you? My markdown is due to the lack of free wifi, which in a city like New York sould just be mandatory - the prices they charge are offensive. The staff were pleasant, but they werent friendly.

A great place to set up a base for exploring New York - just don't expect the Ritz

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHUREWITZ, General Manager at Skyline Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I would like to thank you nice comments and we work on more smiiles from the staff--- Mark Hurewitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was about 10mins walk from Times Sq. it was very clean & spacious, the beds & pillows were so comfortable I had to strip them to find out what make they were so I could buy the same when I got home. The concierge was very friendly & helpful. Unfortunately we never got a chance to use the pool but it did look very clean & the location was excellent. I would definitely stay in this hotel again & would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christony7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,177 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#361 of 473 in New York City
4,520 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#282 of 473 in New York City
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square South by Wyndham
TRYP HOTEL NYC - Times Square So...
#192 of 473 in New York City
4,012 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Mi...
#213 of 473 in New York City
1,130 reviews
Midtown
Parker New York
Parker New York
#267 of 473 in New York City
5,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $134 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing