We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh no”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skyline Hotel
Ranked #288 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“oh no”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

our room not only had air con that was so noisy ,we could not use it . outside our window was ? hey , a noisy compreser . with hey ! another compresse next to it . the windows were very dirty .there was hair stuffed into the waste pipe in the bathroom . when i mentioned this to the desk they replied . " if you get down early enough in the morning we might have another room for you . ** are you sure ** when we ask if we could leaver our cases for 2 hours before our ride to the airport our reply was " sure , 1 dollar for each case " did we have our own security guard ? the lady said " its only 3 dollars " . anyway , the bar staff were great . especially mike .would we go back . think about it ?

Room Tip: stay away fron any room on the 1st floor in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    1,154
    503
    154
    82
See reviews for
882
597
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madison WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We were 4 adults looking to save money and share a room: my husband, our 23 yr old son, a friend from CA and myself. We have travelled alot this yr and teally needed somewhere affordable. Staff during booking and throughout our 3-night stay were very friendly, efficient, knowledgeable. Pool on 10th floor has great city views, restaurant next door is typical but clean and tasty dinners and
also friendly staff. Never stayed in this part of town but it was quite convenient. Bus right in front of the hotel but subway is 2 blocks away. Really a good find!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runnerjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

As a part of a two week coach holiday we stayed the first and last nights at this hotel. We had a good room and enjoyed some of the facilities. Friendly staff. Great location for Times Square and Broadway. 10 minutes walk but watch out for all the red hands at the crossings of Avenues and Streets. Recommended for a reasonable priced stay for easy access to the major sites of New York.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

After arriving on the train from Washington, DC, we started the second leg of our train trip. No problems getting to the hotel from Penn Station by bus. Had to walk from 8th Ave with luggage in tow, but that was okay after being on the train for several hours. The reception area of the hotel was very nice and busy. When we FINALLY found our room, we were told to go to the wrong bank of elevators by a hotel employee so we went to the other one and were able to find our room. The room was small compared to the hotel we had in DC, but it was clean. The bathroom was somewhat dated. We reserved this room through a service and got a good price since we had twin beds. Our room was on the back side of the hotel which made it nice and quiet. The cleaning staff was very helpful giving us clean towels everyday even though we did not ask for our room to be cleaned daily (stayed 3 nights). All of the usual sightseeing areas were close by or easy to get to since the subway was also near. We found a great grocery/deli on 9th Avenue between 49th and 50th named The Amish Market. They have wonderful coffee and reasonable breakfast prices and was good - had breakfast there twice. Also, found online a "dive" bar named Rudy's also located on 9th Avenue between 44th and 45th. Great beer and free hot dogs. We also ate at PJ Bricks on our first evening which was in the hotel/next door. The food was good, but a little pricey - so is everything in NYC. We really enjoyed our stay even though our room was rather cozy, but we would probably stay there again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side of hotel since 10th Avenue is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel. Friendly & helpful staff - responded to a room problem instantly. Waiters in restuarant were brilliant. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Brilliant location - close to Times Square & the theatre district. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

As all the hotels in New York are quite pricey, we chose one at the more budget end & were a little worried about the quality, having heard that rooms could be small & dingy in New York. However we had no need for concern as the room was equally as large as any others we stayed in on our trip, clean & comfortable. The cleaning ladies kept the room spotless & the free safe was large enough for all our valuables. The PJ Bricks bar was lively with friendly bar staff & nice for a drink after a busy day, we never ate in the restaurant though.
10 minutes walk takes you to Times Square but only 5 minutes brings you to the nearest subway station to get you quickly to wherever you are heading but the hotel is also good for walking if you feel energetic & we could easily walk to Central Park & also the Empire State Building.
The best part of the hotel for me though was the surrounding neighbourhood which felt safe day & night & had a vast range of eateries of all types & all budgets. This was a complete surprise & not widely publicised but for me would be a great selling point, overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patchm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed in front part of the hotel, very dated and room dirty.....found hairs in the toilet and the hairdryer....staff very friendly and helpful...........nice pool with great view of the city...........good location near Times Square, and all the action

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilu811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#346 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Le Parker Meridien New York
Le Parker Meridien New York
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,371 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,693 reviews
Midtown
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Travel Inn Hotel New York
#336 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Hotel

Property: Skyline Hotel
Address: 725 10th Avenue, At 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#235 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern decor, newly decorated - West side, near Theatre District - 1/2 mile to Times Square, Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel New York City
Skyline New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing