We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,308)
Filter reviews
5,309 results
Traveler rating
839
2,246
1,375
464
385
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
839
2,246
1,375
464
385
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool columbus circle central park morning star north tower new york times square lincoln center bit dated hell's kitchen two double beds concierge desk carnegie hall large room few blocks subway station coffee machine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 5,309 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I have stayed at the Watson twice now. I really appreciate the reasonable rates and you can not deny the convenience of where the Watson is located- right in the middle of the theatre district. Walking distance to Central Park, Lincoln Center, Rockefeller Plaza, and Times Square. This is truly why we like to stay at the Watson.

The hotel is in need of some upgrading. The lobby and restaurant/bar are very nice, however, the rooms are very dated. My family doesn't care so much about that since we are only sleeping there and spending the rest of our time out in the city.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank kfollert07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate you being a valued guest during your visit to the city. It's fantastic to see that our great rates and prime location helped you get the most out of your adventure. Your constructive feedback will be discussed as we continually improve our guests' experience and we look forward to providing an even better visit during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So let's start with the positives.
There is only one and that's the location of the Watson, it's close to central park and times square but that really is all this hotel has going to it. The main lobby looks ok and it has a nice looking bar but once you get inside the lifts with obviously need services as they shake like mad but then you walk into a totally dated part of the hotel. The rooms are dark and the furniture is battered and scratched and cramped into very small room, The bathroom is like something out of the 70s and not very clean. The bed was ok but the pillows are like rocks and would wake up with headaches. The roof top is closed at this time of the year so you can't enjoy the roof top views so that was a little disappointing. They also like to take money from your account without explaining why and what it's for. You pay $20 a night tax on top of the price you already paid for the room and then they too another $100 so we went to the ask why and well the award for best customer service would definitely not go to Watson, the woman had a serious attitude and rolled her eyes like it was a total inconvenience that we had even asked her the question! She said the $100 was for a deposit but she was not interested in explaining what for. When we originally checked in nothing was said about any charges or deposit that would be taken from out card. We wanted to visit New York for a long time and it was great but it was over shadowed by this terrible hotel. The worst hotel I have stayed in ever. And by far the rudest staff i have ever encountered in any hotel! Totally need retraining and work on their personal skills cos they have none.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank kerryuk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kerry,
Our team is delighted to hear our location was convenient for your travels, though it is unfortunate that not everything was perfect during your stay. Regarding the charges you have mentioned, please note that the destination fee of $20 per night is not included in the rate and is clearly stated on the third party website. As for additional authorization of $25 per day, we take it for any incidentals. It appears as a pending charge and will clear a few business days after you check-out should nothing extra be used. Rest assured, our team has discussed your experience so we can ensure we are putting our best foot forward. We hope for another chance to impress you going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Watson several times in the past two years. My son is a student at Fordham Law school and when I visit I stay here. The location is great for walking, food, and convenience. It is not a new, fancy hotel- but it has everything you need. Convenience in NYC is worth a lot in my book!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CMNQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay here. Close to everything you need, the staff are fabulous, friendly and very helpful, you can utilise the bar/restaurant or eat out easily. Rooms were super spacious for our family of four. Would definitely return here.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JTARP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from time square. We were here for three nights.
The hotel is tired but more than adequate and represents very good value for money. We paid £70 a night.
The hotel room was large, big tv, two double beds and it was clean and well appointed.
If you are looking for a decent place in the heart of NYC then it is worth booking. NYC is expensive enough so saving a few pounds here is worth it.
The hotel has a decent restaurant and it’s worth using, the breakfast buffet had a huge selection.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fearless828236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Front_Desk, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy our excellent value and well-appointed accommodations were pleasing to you. We want to earn your perfect rating, so we hope to see you again the next time you are in the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews