We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, fantastic stay”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Brighton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it! Our room was very clean with two comfy double beds and lots of space. There was also a large TV, coffee maker, safe and hairdryer. The room was bigger, more relaxing and comfortable than I was expecting for the price.
All staff we met were polite and efficient and the male concierge was very friendly and helpful. We were able to take advantage of late checkout (1pm) at no extra cost and the hotel also stored our luggage when we squeezed in more sight seeing before heading to the airport, again at no cost.
The location of this hotel is brilliant, just a short walk from Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue and Central Park. e wiill definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Midtown area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemBright_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    1,855
    1,178
    370
    253
See reviews for
1,468
1,039
229
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was my second stay, the first was 3 years ago and I can report that the bathrooms are still as dated as they were then. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and clean. I found it a little disconcerting in the bar to find notices on all the tables stating there was a minimum charge of $25 for sitting at them, but I assume it is to discourage those 'killing' time for transfers from stopping paying customers from using the bar, but I feel it could be better put. The Internet was very hard to log on to - I found the best reception in our room was in the bathroom!
We used the restaurant for breakfast every day - the hotel now offers a buffet breakfast, ideal if like me you struggle with American portion sizes! We also ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings and although the menu is limited the food is very good.
The location is perfect, just a short walk from Times Square, 5th Avenue and Central Park, so ideal for shopping and sight seeing.
I would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahdevon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jahdevon54,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that our location was convenient for your needs and your restaurant experience was at par with expectations. I regret any problems encountered with the Internet connectivity. We take all feedback seriously and your comments will help us improve what we can offer in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We no longer live or work in the NYC area, but we find ourselves coming back quite often. We have tried over 25 hotels and we found the Holiday Inn to be our new Go To Hotel for whenever we need to stay here.
The staff was very friendly and helpful from the front desk to the room service and every other member of the crew that worked together to make our latest stay our best stay in NYC.
The room we had was just updated. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The cleaning staff did a fabulous job in making up the room each day.
The room service was probably the best we have experienced in a very long time. The service time was incredibly fast and the food was hot and delicious.
Breakfast is our favorite meal of the day and the food service staff did not disappoint!! The dining room was warm and comfortable, the food was really good and the service people were warm and friendly. One of the managers, Mr. Poppe introduced himself as he walked through the dining room and assured us that his staff was there to make our stay pleasurable and comfortable. They did just that!!
We highly recommend this hotel for anytime you need to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Decided we needed a mini-cation and decided NYC this time. Picked the Holiday Inn, because of it's location to everything. Rooms are more spacious than most hotels in other parts of the country. On site restaurant has great breakfast with a wide enough selection on the menu. Also tried the buffet one day and the food was great (I've been to other hotel buffets around the country and almost all fail in comparison). Great dinner restaurants in the area too. Staff friendly and helpful. Walking distance to most places we wanted to go. Subway's only 2 blocks away. We'll be back at some point when the weather's warmer for more fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The entrance of the Hotel is on 57th street between 9th and 10th Avenue. We choose this hotel because the ease of beeing able to reach everything we wanted to see and experience- theatres, museums, central park, restaurants- by foot .

The hotel basically consists of 2 towers of which the north one faces 57th street and the south one faces 56th sreet.

The check in was efficient and the staff behind the counter always competent and friendly. Upon our arrival we were assigned a room on the 15th floor in the north tower. Because of the general condition of the room, we asked to change the room and were presented with a room in the south tower, whose furnishings were a bit more modern.

Allthough worn in different stages, we found the rooms in both towers having an adequate size and cleaniness with confortable bedding. As with some other Holiday Inn hotels, the pillows were a bit to thick for my taste, so I slipped a pillow case over a bath towel and used it instead. We found the Internet connection in good working order. The temperature in the room could be controlled to a temperature compfortable to us. There is a stand for the suitcase. A coffeemaker in the room is equipped with regular and decaf filter coffee.

A bit anoying is that the bathroom door in room 431opens agains the wash basin instead of against the shower. This could be taken into consideration on the next upgrade. The plumbing in our room was working fine. In contast, the vent of the bathroom was not working to a satisfactory Level, and it took some time to vent the bathroom after a shower through the room, so that the mirror could be used.

On two mornings we choose to have breakfast in the hotel. We tried the buffet and items from the breakfast menue and found on both occasions the food partially inadequately heated, presented and / or tasting odd. Thereby our breakfast experiences in this Hotel were far below our expectations and the Benchmark set fourth by the average Holiday Inn Hotel in the US.

The above shortcomings were brought to the Hotel staff attention and they did everything in their ability to ease the situation. Unfortunately and due to reasons known to the management, we were unable to accept some of the compensation offered.

I think it would be okay for us to stay in this hotel again for a night or two. We would have breakfast somewhere else though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear travelscar,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. I am happy to read you had a smooth check in service and found the rooms commendable. It was regrettable to see the breakfast selections was not quite what you were expecting from our hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us with periodic evaluations of the hotel. We have documented this review in our corporate office and please be assured that this concern will certainly be looked into.

Thank you again for the thorough and candid feedback. We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing! Only blocks away from Times Square, 5th avenue and broadway walking around is a breeze!! The rooms though clean and presentable did project a lot of noise, making neighbour activity easy to hear! Toilets flush very loud (hear the toilets from next door) and hallway noise very loud.

Food was not very good at hotel! I recommend eating out, but this isn't a concern due to the fantastic location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash8832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Ash8832,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. It very nice to know that you really liked our location. On the other hand, I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced over the noise you have experienced. In addition, I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as these issues will be reported to the management and actions will be taken accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Me and friend stayed here for 4 nights (arrived 3rd jan 2014)
It's a very basic hotel so don't expect too much. The bathroom was ok and well equipped with towels, flannels, soap etc, only thing we didn't like was when you sit in the toilet there was a terrible breeze going thought the door even when it was closed. Bed was a queen but big enough for me and my friend to share, pillows were lovely! Nice big tv and nice to have coffee maker, I know Americans mainly drink coffee but it would have been nice to have had tea bags too so was a good job we took our own and a travel kettle. Get a high floor, although we couldn't open the door to the balcony I climbed through the window to get a pic of the view, people had mentioned about a lot of noise even on a high floor but at night we heard nothing and nothing kept us awake. The only thing that we would recommend that would be better esp. for the really cold weather is better heaters, even though ours was on high the whole time we felt that it still wasn't warming the room up enough and being by the window and door, it took most of the heat away. Apart from that it was great, great housekeeping staff and check in although some of the staff seemed a little grumpy, great location, really close to Central Park and Times Square (as long as you don't mind walking, you won't need to get taxis, we only got two the whole time cause one day it was raining and the other was so cold we could no longer stay out in it)
We bought the New York City pass card before we flew and it's so worth the money, you can use it to get into all the attractions for free plus you can use the card in Macy's to get a discount and in Dylan's candy bar! Hope this helps. Have fun and if you are going this month (jan) then make sure you take plenty of warm clothes! Happy holidays :-)

Room Tip: Choose a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natshear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 467 in New York City
2,514 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#274 of 467 in New York City
141 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
6,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 467 in New York City
6,311 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#71 of 467 in New York City
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing