We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Vacation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #345 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Christmas Vacation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Ok so I went to NYC for the day to meet my two sisters in the city and they said they were staying here. Just from a visitors point of view..the public bathrooms were not so clean (garbage was overflowing) and outside of their room was dirty room service dishes....for HOURS even when we returned!! The cleaning people were in the hallways too! Oh and my sister's SHOWER didn't work and when she addressed it with the front desk they blew it off. Whoa. Not good. They got a cheap rate of $169/night, but NO SHOWER??!! Unacceptable!! People spend their hard earned money to come to patronize your hotel and you don't do anything to make good on their stay? Terrible. Oh and it's privately owned--Holiday Inn has nothing to do with this property, although I will put in a call to them just to let them know. Oh and the ad on the website claimed they were CLOSE to Times Square...yeah if you take a CAB!! 57th is not that close to 44th and Broadway if you are traveling with older folks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emjay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Emjay24,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry your sister received service and quality which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    1,800
    1,132
    347
    236
See reviews for
1,399
995
224
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was a great hotel, very reasonable price and great location. The room was very large for a new york hotel and clean. WIFI was free and a large pool awesome. The staff was extremely warm and helpful. It was too warm for me but I run hot I kept the window open and it solved the problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kempka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schroon Lake, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. the room across from ours had some sort of party going on and all were very loud. screaming and singing in the hall and doors slamming nonstop. called security and they took care of the problem immediately. do not have any complaints with this hotel. very good location. will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank default48576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs u.k
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

my daughter and i stayed here for 4 nights, i had requested a room with 2 double beds which i got as requested. the room was large and clean with pristine white linen, maid service very good. the room was a bit too hot but the window was slightly open ( we couldnt close it) but we were on the 8th floor so didnt hear road noise. on the last night the heating wasnt working , possibly due to problems as steam was coming out of a vent outside the hotel and the fire brigade were in attendance, this hotel was close to times square and central park. couldnt comment on the food or bar as we ate out, lots of good local eateries close by. would happily stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Second time staying here based on value for money and location. Both times I've stayed in block a. The rooms are cleaned daily and beds are very comfortable. The heating is controlled in the room so warmth was never an issue. The rooms are dated and the patch up work to decor merely highlights the needs to re decorate. For me this is not a problem but could see how it annoys other guests. Lifts are a bit slow during peak times such as early morning. being on the 12th floor we took the stairs down if this was an issue which only took 5 minutes to get down. I would stay here again as is 5minutes walk from Central Park and 15 minutes to Times Square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Room easily slept 2 adults 2 child. It was clean & comfortable. The staff were very efficient, helpful & friendly. Generally the building was clean although a little dated. Good value for money, excellent location, so close central park. I would definately bring my children & stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very close to Central Park, walking distance to broadway. We parked on the adjacent parking lot and it was extremely convenient (and good priced too). The rooms were a bit old fashioned and needed some improvements (ours had a dirty q-tip underneath one of the beds). The staff was nice, specially the Director and the PR person.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismael1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#333 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,693 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#384 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,863 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing