We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Watson Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hudson Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Da Vinci Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Moderne Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Empire Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,612)
Filter reviews
4,612 results
Traveler rating
682
1,991
1,239
404
296
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
1,991
1,239
404
296
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolumbus circlerooftop poolthe holiday inn midtowncentral parknorth towernew yorktimes squarelincoln centerbit datedhell's kitchentwo double bedsconcierge deskcarnegie halllarge roomfew blockssubway stationmidtown manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
1,835 - 1,840 of 4,612 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived at hotel and check-in was quick and efficient. Straight away you noticed that the hotel was dated. Given a room in the north tower, floor 7. This part apparently not been renovated. Room was large with view over adjacent block. Clean, tidy, comfortable, but shabby décor. No safe deposit box in room, so had to use the ones located in reception. This means asking at reception every time you want to take something out or in. They are only very shallow , so passports and documents only. Location is 15 minutes from Times Square and 5 minutes from Central Park.
Had a good stay in New York and tried their buffet breakfast on our last morning. This was reasonable for the money, although there are better places nearby. Concierge was very helpful sorting out our transfers to Newark and gave us maps to help us around on our first day.
The Hotel was not busy, so why don't you get the best rooms available if some have been renovated?

Room Tip: Try for a refurbished one as the others are dated and ours was shabby.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayzeebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Hayzeebloke,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Please know only a few rooms have been renovated as of now and are priced slightly higher so many people specifically book and reserve them. However if they're available and a guest requests one of these rooms, we are more than happy to accomodate. Our renovations will include the addition of safety deposit boxes in each room as well; we understand this is much more convenient for guests. We apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very good hotel, extremely clean but dated, coffee machine, free wifi & hairdryer in rooms.. Close to NYC centre so a good location. Tip you get kicked out of your room at 11am but if you go to reception there is a IHG form to sign up to the hotels mailing list and if you do so you can stay in your room until 2pm for free. Downside if you need to use the baggage area the hotel charges you $3 per bag

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloryluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear kiss-me-goodnight-xx,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our rooms and amenities! Please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms, including brand new furnishings, wallpaper and carpeting that we believe will bring the decor up-to-date. In regards to storing luggage, it is free of charge unless after 11pm, where it is then $3 per bag. We hope you will stay with us again so you can see all of our improvements!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed here on business in August and it was a great location - walking distance to time square and central park however a bit disappointed in the hotel room. Took a few nights to figure out you could actually close the strange room blinds. the shower was also for disabled access and I had to hold the shower rose bud myself. I didn't bother changing rooms as other people staying there were having worse luck - not all rooms had safes and noise from neighbours.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank onelastfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear onelastfish,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please know we do have Security on site 24/7 that can assist with noisy neighbors. We also are currently in the process of renovating, which will include the addition of safes in every room. In the meantime we do have safety deposit boxes available at the front desk available to guests free of charge with 24 hour access. Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just got back from 5 days in New York. stayed at the Holiday Inn Midtown. The staff were so friendly and helpful. just round the block from Central Park great location really had a great time would stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: We bought a 3 day pass it was $220 each but well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear LiverpoolNorma,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We're so glad you found our staff to be helpful and kind; they will be happy to see you mentioned their customer service. We hope to have you as our guest again soon, and thank you again for taking the time to celebrate us!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was a little concerned after reading all the reviews but I was completely pleased with this hotel. The hotel staff were all very helpful, especially the bell captain. Our room was large by any standards, but especially for NYC. The location is good and our room was quiet even though we were close to the elevator. We enjoyed the lobby bar. The least appealing feature was the restaurant. While the restaurant is not particularly bad, the hotel is surrounded by good food options, so I would go elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manshacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear manshacktx,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you were pleased with our property and had a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon, and thank you for your feedback!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews