We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but tired though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #341 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Strood UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good location, but tired though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived at hotel and check-in was quick and efficient. Straight away you noticed that the hotel was dated. Given a room in the north tower, floor 7. This part apparently not been renovated. Room was large with view over adjacent block. Clean, tidy, comfortable, but shabby décor. No safe deposit box in room, so had to use the ones located in reception. This means asking at reception every time you want to take something out or in. They are only very shallow , so passports and documents only. Location is 15 minutes from Times Square and 5 minutes from Central Park.
Had a good stay in New York and tried their buffet breakfast on our last morning. This was reasonable for the money, although there are better places nearby. Concierge was very helpful sorting out our transfers to Newark and gave us maps to help us around on our first day.
The Hotel was not busy, so why don't you get the best rooms available if some have been renovated?

Room Tip: Try for a refurbished one as the others are dated and ours was shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayzeebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Hayzeebloke,

Thank you for sharing your comments. Please know only a few rooms have been renovated as of now and are priced slightly higher so many people specifically book and reserve them. However if they're available and a guest requests one of these rooms, we are more than happy to accomodate. Our renovations will include the addition of safety deposit boxes in each room as well; we understand this is much more convenient for guests. We apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    1,618
    1,014
    306
    213
See reviews for
1,235
868
192
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very good hotel, extremely clean but dated, coffee machine, free wifi & hairdryer in rooms.. Close to NYC centre so a good location. Tip you get kicked out of your room at 11am but if you go to reception there is a IHG form to sign up to the hotels mailing list and if you do so you can stay in your room until 2pm for free. Downside if you need to use the baggage area the hotel charges you $3 per bag

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiss-me-goodnight-xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear kiss-me-goodnight-xx,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our rooms and amenities! Please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms, including brand new furnishings, wallpaper and carpeting that we believe will bring the decor up-to-date. In regards to storing luggage, it is free of charge unless after 11pm, where it is then $3 per bag. We hope you will stay with us again so you can see all of our improvements!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed here on business in August and it was a great location - walking distance to time square and central park however a bit disappointed in the hotel room. Took a few nights to figure out you could actually close the strange room blinds. the shower was also for disabled access and I had to hold the shower rose bud myself. I didn't bother changing rooms as other people staying there were having worse luck - not all rooms had safes and noise from neighbours.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank onelastfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear onelastfish,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Please know we do have Security on site 24/7 that can assist with noisy neighbors. We also are currently in the process of renovating, which will include the addition of safes in every room. In the meantime we do have safety deposit boxes available at the front desk available to guests free of charge with 24 hour access. Again we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just got back from 5 days in New York. stayed at the Holiday Inn Midtown. The staff were so friendly and helpful. just round the block from Central Park great location really had a great time would stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: We bought a 3 day pass it was $220 each but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear LiverpoolNorma,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We're so glad you found our staff to be helpful and kind; they will be happy to see you mentioned their customer service. We hope to have you as our guest again soon, and thank you again for taking the time to celebrate us!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was a little concerned after reading all the reviews but I was completely pleased with this hotel. The hotel staff were all very helpful, especially the bell captain. Our room was large by any standards, but especially for NYC. The location is good and our room was quiet even though we were close to the elevator. We enjoyed the lobby bar. The least appealing feature was the restaurant. While the restaurant is not particularly bad, the hotel is surrounded by good food options, so I would go elsewhere. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manshacktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear manshacktx,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you were pleased with our property and had a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon, and thank you for your feedback!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel may not be the ritz, but the rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. The subway, Central park and Times square were all within easy walking distance.....as were empire state, rockerfella plaza, Madison square gardens....if your willing to get your walking shoes on and go for it !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrinahains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear katrinahains,

Thank you very much for your review on the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We are very happy to hear you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and you were able to get to all the desired attractions easily! The entire staff here takes great pride in our hotel and are always thrilled to know when our guests can see that in their actions. Thank you again for taking the time to celebrate us!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't leave many negative on most things but my experience staying at Holidays Inn Midtown was too disappointing to remain quiet.

I made a last minute bookings over the phone for a 3 nights stay and was given rates including breakfast & taxes. These inclusions were confirmed numerous times over the phone bookings so I am 100% sure about this.
However, upon arrival after 1 night stay, I was advised in the following morning as I head for the breakfast that it was not the case and that breakfast are not included in the rates given. The front desk lady called for the manager to chat with me who then confirmed that breakfast was not included. By appearance & communication with them,both the front lady & the manager look unprofessional, unwilling to help & in bottom line basically do not care.

I did not hesitate to check out at that exact moment at 7am in the morning (and I have never gotten so disappointed to ever do this before) and managed to find a much more comfortable place, much better located & service somewhere else at cheaper rate too.

The room itself is very ordinary and the internet connection is very slow. For the price at Holiday Inn, you could go somewhere else better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyjaneyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear janeyjaneyjane,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize about the inconvenience you experienced. Please feel free to e-mail us with further details to mail@hi57.com (attention Management).

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,279 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,507 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#320 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#277 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,214 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#139 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,090 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing