We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In New York”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #357 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel at the end of September. I have to say reading some of the reviews I was slightly concerned but should not have worried. We had a refurbished room on the 16th floor with a lovely view of the skyline and we could see the Hudson River (we saw a cruise ship docking during the early hours of one morning which was spectacular). The only criticism of the room is the lack of wardrobe space in a room for what would be 4 people (there were 3 of us). Other than that, the room was very good, very clean and spacious and extremely comfy. Above all, the staff were excellent, everyone was friendly and went out of their way to help us, especially the concierge (Dominic you were a star). I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. There were two diners nearby, The Morning Star and The Flame, both very good indeed. Good location for Central Park just 10 minutes' walk away, near Columbus Circle and the Plaza Hotel. The biggest criticism of the hotel would be the very intermittent wi fi which caused one of my friends some problems but generally didn't inconvenience us too much, we are looking forward to coming back to this hotel and to the area generally which had everything we needed and wasn't far from any of the sights and sounds of New York. Nice touch was the fact that the hotel arranged one of thier cars to take us back to JFK as one of my friends has a phobia about taxis - it was only $60 plus gratuity, cheaper than the horrible transfer we booked from the airport to the hotel when we arrived, not recommended at all. Also, the hotel stored our luggage for us as we had to check out at 11am and we were not due to leave until 3pm. A big thank you to everyone who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room - we could see the Hudson River from the 16th floor in the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbushStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear AmbushStockport,

Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th street! We truly appreciate the feedback and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize about the inconsistent WiFi; please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms which includes an increase of routers to improve overrall connection strength. We hope you will return the next time your in NY, and thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 4,381 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Brilliant location. Times Square, Central Park and other great attractions are nearby.
Rooms were massive. Bathroom was a bit out-dated but okay.
Wheelchair friendly.
Staff were not good and DO NOT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT, unless you want to be charged $40-$45 for deep fried chicken strips & chips, Caesar salad and a bottle of water. Over priced and charged for things and service we didn't get.
We had to ring the reception on two occasions and ask a couple of questions, but they were not helpful at all. Very disappointed. Having never visited New York, and being in a wheelchair, it would of been nice to have a basic question answered.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear HeretoHelp Y,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. We're glad you found our rooms and location to be satisfactory. I sincerely apologize that you did not receive superb customer service, and will be passing your comments regarding your dining experience to the Director of Food and Beverage. We apologize for any inconvenience and again, thank you for allowing us to learn from your feedback. We hope you will return the next time you're in NY so you can see our improvements.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I used this hotel during the last week of September. We were on the 5th floor in a very spacious room with a king size bed. It would've been nice to have a small fridge, but overall the room was fine. One funny thing was that for the 3 days we were there 2 dirty plates and cutlery remained sitting on the floor in the hallway. You'd think the cleaner would pick them up. We used the restaurant for breakfast and meals and found it to be adequate. It's an easy walk to Times Square from this location. We would happily recommend this hotel to the budget conscious traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Jenny P,

Thank you very much for your comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown! I am very glad you were happy with our rooms and found them to be spacious; please know we do have refrigerators available but on request as they are not included in the room price. I sincerely apologize about the plates outside your door; I will be sending your comments to the Food and Beverage manager so the issue is addressed and resolved. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to learn from your feedback!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel can do with a refreshment, I got early check in as a Priority Member which was great. The housekeeper found my envelope with money and left it intact on the bed for me, which was really impressive, so honesty runs deep in this establishment. The room size is more than adequate, the TV channels are plenty for the jetlagged so passing time is great. It is very central and really connect you, around the corner you can get great bagels and breakfast at the Morning Star Restaurant and great lunch at the Europa Cafe up the road, and a few walks you are in the Broadway and options options options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear liyabee,

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you had a pleasant stay with us, and truly thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards member! Please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms which includes brand new furnishings, wallpaper, carpeting, and overrall decor that we believe will give our rooms a fresher feel. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon, where you can see our improvements.

SIncerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel is very clean check in was very fast, walking distance to Radio city hall, Rockefeller Center and Time Sq. Close to Mc Donald's, Starbucks and shopping center.
Room small, bed not too comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rchio12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear rchio12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very happy to hear you found the Holiday Inn Midtown to be clean and centrally located. I apologize you found the bed to be uncomfortable and the room to be small; please know our King Bedded and Two Double Bedded rooms are a bit larger than our Queen Bedded, as they are 425 square feet where the Queen is 325 square feet. We apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had booked this hotel as the final part our trip to the US, and we knew that it wasn’t going to be to the same standard of the other hotels on our trip, which we know has coloured our view somewhat.
Pro’s
Proximity to Central Park, Times Square and we loved the bars and restaurants on 9th avenue.
The rooftop pool was great and lovely and cool (this was the thing that attracted us to the hotel)
Beds were comfortable, and the room well cleaned.

Cons.
We moved rooms twice. The first room was renovated but on the 5th floor overlooking 57th street and opposite the lifts (ping!) and ice machine. We were then allocated a room in the un-renovated block on the 11th floor. We stayed here one night. The traffic noise was horrendous and we did not sleep. Doors of neighbouring rooms starting banging at 6am.
The next morning we asked to move to the other side of the hotel and we were asked to return at 3pm to see if that was possible. The lost night’s sleep and the fact that we were waiting to see if the hotel would do us this favour meant that we were did not make full use of our first day. We even made enquiries with another hotel about moving there as the response from the front desk was so non committal.
We did get moved to the 14th floor overlooking the pool, this was much quieter and we stayed here.
The air con was old fashioned and inefficient.
On our last morning a piece of wallpaper under the window fell away revealing a large damp patch.
The queen size beds were smaller than a standard queen size.
Of the 6 interactions we had with front desk staff only two of these were friendly and helpful. We had one drink at the bar; the staff seemed miserable.
Much is being made of the refurbishment, having seen one of the renovated rooms we are not sure what the fuss is about. New furniture and new wallpaper (revolting!) and room safes (in 2013! in NYC!) Same old air conditioning, same windows, same lamp stands.
We used to be the sort of people who would say that a hotel is just somewhere to sleep, but as we’ve got a little older we value comfort, nice surroundings and good service. We didn’t let the hotel spoil our time in NYC, but it probably did take the edge of it

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the pool away from the elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MushysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear MushysMum,

First and foremost, we thank you for taking the time to write your review. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and ask that you please e-mail us with further details to mail@hi57.com (attention Management). We hope to hear from you and again, apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Check in was quick and easy. The room was very clean and spacious. The view from our 15th floor room was great. There is no safe in the room but there is safety deposit boxes in a room off the lobby which were easy to access whenever we needed. We did not spend much time in the hotel but our room overlooked the pool which looked good. We did not eat at the hotel but did get a drink at the bar which was very expensive ($12 for a malibu and coke). A free newspaper was delivered to all rooms daily. The room keys were tempremental and sometimes we had to try it up to 10 times before it worked. The hotel was quiet and we slept well.
The hotel is located in a great area, about a 5 minute walk to columbus circle station and and central park. There is a choice of shops and restaurants nearby. All the main attractions are very easy to access on the subway. Times square is within walking distance,
The decor is a little dated and there are more central hotels we could have chosen but overall i was very pleased with our choice

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenellster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear thenellster,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. It is great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and we thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience regarding the room keys; we understand that can be frustrating and I will be sending your comments to our Engineering department who will look into this further. Please know we also are currently renovating all of our guest rooms which includes new carpeting, wallpaper, furnishings, and overrall decor. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future where you will be able to enjoy all of our improvements!

Sincerely,
Tara Pizzi
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,949 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
811 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 469 in New York City
6,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,241 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#271 of 469 in New York City
2,552 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#201 of 469 in New York City
3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $133 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing