We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #344 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Styed here June 2013. Got an excellent deal all through British airways. We had a double double room which was very spacious. Room was very tidy and clean. Bathroom clean and spacious. Closet space was good and enough room for all our cases.. We had six in total.

I found the staff lovely extremely helpful. They got us a lovely car back to JFK and the price was the same as a taxi.

We used room service and ate in the restaurant the food was fine, and very generous portions.

Location was good, very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara1974_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    1,730
    1,090
    330
    226
See reviews for
1,348
945
203
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I’ve stayed at this hotel previously and gave it a very positive review. On my return visit things did not go as smoothly. When we checked into our room we discovered that the WIFI did not work, we called the front-desk and they told us we could change to another room with better WIFI.

However, because we had no WIFI I was not able to go online and purchase tickets for a Broadway Show. There is a concierge desk right at the entrance of the hotel, and I figured I would use their service and give a tip for the help, though I'm usually a self-service kind of guy. The concierge made a big deal about how the show we wanted was super hot and it was going to be tough, but he would do his best. He came back and offered us two choices $189 seats and $289 seats. Now worried that this was the only chance to get into the show of our choice I told him to proceed with the transaction.

About an hour later we were moved to a room with WIFI and I quickly checked the shows website and found that I could get nearly identical seats for $137. I quickly called the concierge to cancel my order and was told that my purchase was non-refundable. This was not mentioned previously. I called the hotel manager for assistance and was told they would take care of it. Next I got a call from the concierge to please come down and talk to him. I figured he was told to apologize and refund my money so I went down to speak with him. Once I went down he tells me that he had told me all along that the ticket price included a $50 broker fee. I told him this was impossible, because I'm not the type of customer that agrees to 40% broker fees. He continued to insist until I asked, "why am I down here, are you going to refund my money or not." He repeated that the purchase was non-refundable.

I went to the front desk and spoke to the manager and asked why the issue had not been resolved. He said that he thought he had resolved it and he would speak to the concierge again. When he returned he told me that he could get me back $20 of the $50 fee, but that that was the maximum refund allowable.

So you may be asking, "how is it that the hotel manager has no control over the concierge." The answer is that the concierge is not an employee of the hotel. It seems they are independent and just using space in the Holiday Inn lobby. I would have never done business with the concierge if I had known they were not part of the hotel. There is nothing that lets you know this, in fact the concierge desk is the first thing you see when you enter the hotel.

We purchased the rest of our tickets through tele-charge and got amazing seats at great prices. I would advise all guests to do the same. The hotel is still a good place to stay, but the experience with the concierge as well as the inability of management to protect guests from being ripped off inside their hotel has ruined this hotel for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Peterjac

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will firstly like to thank you for choosing us again as your hotel preference and I sincerely apologize for your experience during your most recent stay. I regret your stay and experiences was not as pleasant this time around and genuinely apologize and regret to hear this dissatisfaction. The concierge is separately owned and primarily works on providing the best seats that the show may have available to offer such as 4 or more rows difference and center wise. If there was any type of misunderstanding I again will like to extend my sincere apologies. I will privately message you to gather further details and hope to resolve this matter as we do appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

They say that location is everything---well as far as this hotel is concerned, it is! Great location but very tired, old hotel that lacks any genuine feeling of hospitality. Bathrooms in huge need of upgrading, poor catering and poor service by reception staff would ensure we booked another hotel for a New York trip and there are plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Ozshel

Thank you for writing your review it's wonderful to know that the location was Great and I sincerely apologize that there seemed to be a lack of Service. I will send you a private message to be able to gather more details and I genuinely apologize for any inconvenience and truly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one week and enjoyed an excellent location close to Fordham University city campus and New York Jazz Centre. Get a metro pass and Manhattan is your oyster! Make sure you take advantage of roof top pool for visitors too!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThriftyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ThriftyScot

Thank you for taking the time to write your review it is always a pleasure to hear how great the location is and great to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were in the North Tower, which was old and in need of renovation, but at least our room which faced across to the South Tower was lovely and quiet (except for some of the other guests on our floor). The room was adequate, the standard of house-keeping seemed to vary from not very good when we first arrived (the coffee bag from the previous guest was still in the coffee maker) to excellent by the time we left after 7 days. The staff that we came across were friendly and helpful and helped to make our stay pleasant. The best thing about this hotel was its location - not far from Columbus Circle, Central Park and a couple of underground stations, with shops and some reasonable eating places nearby.

Room Tip: Choose an inward facing room for quiet. Also try to get a room on a lower floor as it is very diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Micki M

Thank you for writing your review and thank you so much for mentioning the staff is friendly and helpful, we are very happy to hear that made your stay pleasant. I sincerely apologize for the coffee bag and will inform the Housekeeping Director as mentioned. The great news to share is that we are currently renovating and it includes new furniture, lamps, wallpaper, fixtures and we hope after the renovation is complete to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very well located hotel.

The room was very clean and the bathroom fine.

The restaurant on site was well priced and provided a good selection for breakfast.

I was worried about the noise on the street given the location; but it was absolutely fine, I didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrianeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Oriane Cambridge

Thank you for taking the time to write your review it is such a pleasure to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Midtown.

Sincerely
Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel is located 5 minutes from central park, very comfortable and pleasant staff.
Nice restaurants around, has an excellent pool and rooms are very spacious.
extremely high standard of Holiday Inn different from what is the usual standard

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmin O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Albert M

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very happy to hear your stay was comfortable and thank you so much for mentioning how pleasant the staff is, it's always a pleasure to hear and share the feedback with the staff.

Sincerely,
Jasmin Ortiz-Cruz Front Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#251 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,335 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#137 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,202 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#153 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,903 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#327 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing