We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worst hotel in New York” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #339 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in New York”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've stayed five different weeks in New York for work over the last year; three different times at Holiday Inns and at least 5 other hotels. This location has been the worst of my last two years of traveling for work. The staff was unprofessional and indifferent. The room didn't have heating even though the temperature at night was 45 degrees. I was told because of the mild temperature during the last few days. But other hotels provided heating. The TV remote control did not work. The area behind the lamp stand, phone, and clock was extremely full of dust. So much so that when I tried to plug my cell and iPad I started coughing from the dust. The corner lamp did not work. There was a hair pin on the floor. The TV pops up w/Holiday Inn commercials while watching TV. The customer service was no good. They only reacted after I was upset. Their computers don't show an email address on record unlike the other hotel chains. When I left I asked for my receipt to be emailed but it was never sent. The person at the front desk didn't know that their computers are not capable of doing that (I called later to ask for the receipt). I was going to stay 5 nights but left after the second one. I was never told the credit card was going to have a hold for the entire stay for a few days. I didn't know this because I had never left a hotel early. By far the worst experience. I stayed at other hotels. They all had heating.
I spoke w/at least two Managers. They were unprofessional and had no tact. I was too tired to write names and frustrated over my credit card situation that I even forgot to ask for their names. Since there are a lot of choices for hotels, I will go out of my way to not stay at Holiday Inns in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Julio C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    1,647
    1,036
    311
    215
See reviews for
1,276
886
194
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spent four night,s at this hotel in April,and I was very pleased.The staff were very nice and helpful even when they were very busy, and that was most of the time.There was a lovely black security man,who let us use his phone when we had a problem using the public phone.The room,s were cleaned on a daily basis and the beds were very comfortable.I will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the Time,s square view,exceptional at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorainedurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I tried to find nice things to say regarding our stay at this hotel, so after we left it in the morning to go sight seeing it was great, good location. Coming back at the end of the day you are always hit by the smell in the lobby & disgusting old carpet. The lifts take forever & the rooms are just bearable to stay in. No fridge! No hot water the morning we left! Old and in desperate need of renovations. Defitely would not recommend this hotel, I won't stay here again. Sorry.....

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Astikuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Astikuta,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Despite the challenges you faced I was pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Location - upper W midtown Manhattan, just a few blocks from Central Park, a little further walk to Times Square. But can walk almost anywhere or a short subway or cab ride. Great location!
Room - a little musty-smelling and tired-looking but clean. A small room and small bathroom but a big plus was the strong shower spray! The room faced the rooftop of a low-rise building so it was very quiet. Double beds were comfortable. No fridge in room though.
Hotel - worn, tired carpet almost throughout lobby and also musty-smelling. This place could definitely use a makeover. Liked the security in the late evening where we had to show our room card upon entering the hotel.
Amenities/ restaurant - did not have a chance to check any of this out as we were just there to sleep.
Value - got a decent deal for this Manhattan location 3* hotel using Priceline. Would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear the_lowdown,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are delighted to read you liked our location, however, we regret falling short of your expectations. I have taken note of your comments and we will use these to monitor and improve our product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

So, first of all, my room was $333/night - which was flat-out highway robbery! I guess they can get away with that in the Big Apple, but anywhere else this would have been an $89/night room. Very basic, very plain, actually quite shabby (peeling paint on the ceiling, exposed plumbing on the toilet, tiny bathroom), no fridge, no microwave - and I got a 3rd floor room with a view of the workers fixing a roof below me - the property is undergoing remodeling. The housekeeping was sketchy - the in-room coffee was not re-supplied, and the dishes from room service breakfast were still there when I got back that evening. But, the location is great - walking distance to Central Park and Times Square - and the lounge was terrific, with friendly and attentive bar staff. (Speaking of which, every Holiday Inn employee that I encountered was very friendly and helpful.) The on-site restaurant was also very satisfactory. A parking garage is adjacent to the hotel, so that also was very convenient. In conclusion, if you have the money and room ambiance isn't particularly important to you, it's a perfectly servicable place to stay in NYC.

Room Tip: A higher floor with a view would help make up for the shabbiness of the room itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiftLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear LiftLady,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is located a fair way from the cities main attractions, but having been to New York many times, it was nice to be in a different area. There are plenty of interesting and diverse restaurants that give the area a real local New York feel. The hotel rooms are quite big, unusual for ny, and the beds are comfortable, there is a very good bar, with very good service. However, the main reception staff seem to be almost all Eastern European who spoke with strong accents and didn't seem to know the city at all. The concierges were extremely unfriendly and all seemed to wish they were somewhere else. But, hey, that's New York City, get used to it. To conclude, it's a good place to stay, I've stayed at worse places in New York City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davfog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in Holiday Inn Midtown / 57 th street from 17 Apr to 21 Apr 2013. We found that the location is excellent for walking down to Central Park, Carnegie Hall concerts, Lincoln Theater,Museums, Times Square, Metro connections ( JFK and other areas as well), prime sight seeing attractions in Manhattan. We in fact walked almost 5 to 6 miles every day exploring all aspects of Manhattan by day and night. Visiting Central Park to view the sunrise and visiting Times Square at midnight to view the Neon lights! This is possible from this location. Breakfast and Lunch cafes are available very close to the hotel. We never visited hotel cafe or pool. Our two double bedded room was clean, spacious and comfortable. It was on fourth floor facing the road. It was quiet and had a good view of the road. We would have preferred a higher floor though. Lifts sometimes had a wait period due to heavy traffic. But that is fine. We could rest well in the hotel after a hectic tour of Manhattan each day. The staff was very courteous specially Jasna, Elisabeth, Kelong, Jimmy and Tomor. They gave us a stretched limo for our airport transfer at the same cost ( though we had booked an SUV). That was really a great surprise for us. All in all the hotel and Manhattan were a great experience to relish and visit to again ans stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor, room with a view of New York city life is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,059 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,334 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#282 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#283 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#139 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,674 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing