We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient stay in Manhattan”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #355 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is spacious and comfortable and offers good value for the money.

We landed in New York early in the morning and asked if it would be possible to get into our room earlier than the usual 2:00 pm check-in hour. Even though the hotel was full, the people at the front desk made an effort to find us a room, and we were able to check in at 11:00 am, which was truly amazing. Throughout, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

The hotel's location is excellent - a stone's throw from Central Park, a few minutes' walk from Times Square, and yet tucked away in a relatively quiet and less-frequented pocket of midtown.

The proximity to the West Side Highway is a major advantage if your schedule includes meetings in the other NY boroughs.

The gym is quite good, and is available to guests at no extra charge. However, there is a shortage of aerobics equipment, and it might be a good idea for the hotel to invest in a couple of more treadmills.

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel, and I will probably use it again next time I am in NYC. I'd recommend it to anyone seeking comfort and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room (away from the elevators).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moshe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 4,495 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our second trip back to NY in December, and our first stay here. We arrived on Friday afternoon to find that lobby was damage from the flood water due to the storm sandy. So the coffee shop and restaurant were close. They provided a simple breakfast(coffee,juice,bagels ect). We were steps from ground zero and the waterfront.Other than the damage from the storm this hotel was great and will be back next year.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank ltmfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

On arrival easy and swift check inn, staff very courteous and helpful.
Room was wonderful, clean and tidy definitely well looked after. Lobby was lovely with free access to computers to print off boarding passes (which can be a blessing). It was so near most of the attractions you go to NYC for, mostly Central Park. We did not eat here as we prefer the American deli's, but what food we did see looked amazing.
Concierge was brilliant, as was the bell boys. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
Positive free safes, downside no tea/milk in the room. We asked at reception and they were glad to provide this at no extra cost. However, coffee and creme was in the room.
Booking out was easy and a taxi was arranged.
I would definitely go back to this hotel, it was excellent.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank TraceyEllis-Moat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I paid for 2 rooms several days in advance, only to be told when we arrived that they "unfortunately" did not have the rooms available. We needed 2 rooms with 2 double beds, since we were 4 unrelated people who did not want to share beds. The manager was unfriendly and unsympathetic. We did not get our money back, but we were eventually put in a suite, where one of us slept on the sofa, two of us had cots, and one of us had a bed. The online ad had said we would get free parking and free breakfast--parking cost $27 and we had a $5 coupon for breakfast the next morning. So we spent nearly $700 for the pleasure of sleeping crowded together without privacy. I should have stayed at my in-laws!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Eva S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the service you received fell below your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We also have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your stay. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here in September 2012. Staff at the hotel in general were very nice and helpful. Domingo was fantastic, very helpful with booking tickets to Broadway and the US Open for us as well as helping us with directions. Jimmy (the bell boy) was also super nice, always smiling and making us laugh. We also met the owner who was very friendly. The location of the hotel is great, it is super close to central park, and walking distance to times square and the rest of the atteactions in that area. There are also plenty of restaurants and shops close by. Having said that there is no fridge in the room, you have to pay $10 a night for a fridge. One negative i had was that our flight was at 7pm (check out is at noon), i went to the front desk to see if there was any chance that we could check out a little later...just an hour even. The girl at the front desk was not very nice and without botherig to ask how much longer we wanted to stay in the room said we could only do so if we paid for an extra night. She was very dismissive, which i found to be very rude. I only asked because in their information booklet they say that they will do their best to try accomodate you based on what time your flight is. Overall i would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheaper but central hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ma66i3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great hotel bang in the middle of town. Great for Times Square and Central Park, and the theatre district. The staff are helpfull and friendly. And just down the road is Kennedys the best irish pub, with the best steak in town. The rooms are huge, and are cleaned every day. The bar is very well stocked, but the bar lady is not very friendly. A great breakfast awaits juet across the road in the Morning Star.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanhall082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Checked in hotel felt kind of hot. Left for day not knowing AC was not working. Front staff did not notify us of issues. Tried to cancel next day stay and was charged for canceling even when hotel had issues.

Hotel did comp stay with room being 85-90 degrees and charged for leaving early. They also wanted to charge for holding bags day before, when usually hotel will hold bag till check in for you or checkout.

Wont stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Jason M,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you had a negative experience and found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 471 in New York City
7,140 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 471 in New York City
20,211 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#195 of 471 in New York City
3,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $81 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing