We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #351 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent location and is within walking distance to Times Square, Central Park and the theatre district.
The rooms are well appointed, spacious, comfortable and definitely value for money. The room numbering system, however, is bizarre - the North tower contains the evenly numbered rooms and the South tower the odd numbered ones, which doesn't make a lot of sense and is frustrating when you can't find your room after a long flight!
Overall, the location on 57th Street is the main reason to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontcallmesharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    1,844
    1,170
    365
    244
See reviews for
1,451
1,031
229
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

After looking through numerous places to stay in New York, a friend and I decided on the Holiday Inn 57th Street, mainly for its central location, and great value for money.
Although the rooms and hallways are slightly dated, the rooms are more than comfortable with all the necessities.
Our room was much bigger than expected with two double beds for the twin room.
The food was good, but a little over priced.
The staff were friendly and helpful although only one member of staff on the concierge desk at one time which often lead to waiting for quite sometime.
Also be aware there is no safety deposit box in the room, only the option of using one at the reception which is only big enough for passports and cash, not items such as cameras, iPads, laptops etc.
During our stay our flight home got cancelled due to bad weather, as soon as we found out the hotel were able to accommodate us for an extra night with no hassle.
I would recommend staying at The Holiday Inn to anyone staying in New York.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Emma D,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the lack of safe deposit box. We will look into this point. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I used points. We chose this hotel because it required far less points then the other chains in midtown. Location was important in terms of restaurants and the memorial service we needed to attend to. Knowing the cost of a NYC hotel, the value for what we got was excellent. We were in the wing that has yet to be renovated. Had we been in one of the renovated rooms, the value would have been outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for on of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex080856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Manhattan is a tricky place for hotels: often overpriced, the rooms are seldom spacious and the quality/price ratio disappointing. I have been coming to this hotel for many years and have always found it very reliable. The location is great, offering very easy access to uptown and downtown - MOMA is a 10-minute walk away. The rooms are good-sized, and as the room service and restaurant not fancy but clean and adequate and do the trick. It ain't the Carlyle but who needs to stay in their hotel rooms in New York City?

Room Tip: Aim for the room at the back, quieter. And I prefer the lower floors as the lifts tend to get quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Württemberg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is well positioned between 9th and 10th avenue. The rooms are spacious. The staff of the hotel are very friendly. The breakfast room is overstaffed but at the same time the service is not helpful and quite supercilious.
The whole hotel interior needs renovation badly. Signs near the elevator announce reburbishment until the end of 2013. Ask for a room in the South Wing for reduced noice. The Gym is old and a bit grubby but still has charme and athmosphere.
In total I can recommend this hotel and look forward for my next stay in a then refurbished room.

Room Tip: South wing for reduced noise. Ask for renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear AGRulz,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff. We apologize for the experience you had in our breakfast area and the unusual condition of our hotel affected your stay negatively. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the holiday times with family.
Great location and the price was nothing compared to other hotels in the area.
Service was great.
Room was clean and beds comfortable.
Walking distance to everything.
Did not try the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 467 in New York City
2,491 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#273 of 467 in New York City
129 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#328 of 467 in New York City
6,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 467 in New York City
6,210 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,057 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
6,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing