We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not glamorous - but always reliable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #342 of 477 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not glamorous - but always reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Manhattan is a tricky place for hotels: often overpriced, the rooms are seldom spacious and the quality/price ratio disappointing. I have been coming to this hotel for many years and have always found it very reliable. The location is great, offering very easy access to uptown and downtown - MOMA is a 10-minute walk away. The rooms are good-sized, and as the room service and restaurant not fancy but clean and adequate and do the trick. It ain't the Carlyle but who needs to stay in their hotel rooms in New York City?

Room Tip: Aim for the room at the back, quieter. And I prefer the lower floors as the lifts tend to get quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    1,731
    1,094
    330
    226
See reviews for
1,349
946
204
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Württemberg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is well positioned between 9th and 10th avenue. The rooms are spacious. The staff of the hotel are very friendly. The breakfast room is overstaffed but at the same time the service is not helpful and quite supercilious.
The whole hotel interior needs renovation badly. Signs near the elevator announce reburbishment until the end of 2013. Ask for a room in the South Wing for reduced noice. The Gym is old and a bit grubby but still has charme and athmosphere.
In total I can recommend this hotel and look forward for my next stay in a then refurbished room.

Room Tip: South wing for reduced noise. Ask for renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear AGRulz,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff. We apologize for the experience you had in our breakfast area and the unusual condition of our hotel affected your stay negatively. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the holiday times with family.
Great location and the price was nothing compared to other hotels in the area.
Service was great.
Room was clean and beds comfortable.
Walking distance to everything.
Did not try the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have to say that I have no negatives to say about this hotel, staff were really helpful and friendly. Rooms were good size and spotless. Location was great,plenty of restaurants roundabout. One of my party left her mobile in a taxi, the taxi driver returned it! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shennyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on this, our first visit to NYC. We found the hotel to be in a good position for access to all the city had to offer. The check in was swift and staff seemed nice. Our room was very big and although on the street side, road noise was minimal. Yes ok, rooms and areas could do with updating but on the whole very good. Bar staff especially Ben were good. Lovely night porter called Jimmy very helpful too. Only downside was quality of breakfast. Felt pushed into the buffet which was more than disappointing. We would stay there again though

Helpful?
1 Thank Danni P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#255 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,339 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#140 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,205 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#152 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,907 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#328 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing