We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel but desk personell have a bad attitude”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This Holiday Inn is the midst of a complete room remodel. I was in the part that has NOT been remodeled and found it to be very nice. The room was clean the bed is comfy. Nice large screen TV in the room. Plenty of towels and hot water. The carpet appears clean. This hotel is no where near the subway but the bus stop is very close to either go downtown(towards Staten Island ferry) or to the east side.
Some restaurants nearby so you are not stuck eating in the hotel.
The front desk staff is rude and when I had trouble with the internet kiosk while trying to print my tickets it was suggested that I did not know how to print. The internet computers are run by some fly by night outfit with no one from the company near to help you. I suggest you find another way to get boarding passes or tickets rather than use the kiosk. The staff at the front desk were the only people who were not customer oriented

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,346)
There are newer reviews for The Watson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,950 - 1,956 of 4,346 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

stayed in this hotel last october, front house staff friendly and polite, room was comfortable but dated,nice walk to 5th ave,times square, and theatres, carniege hall a short walk,hotel away from hustle and bustle,staff were great let us store our bags to go sightseeing as we only had a few hrs in the morning,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we stayed here for 6 nights & it was average for what we required.The location is very good which is close to central park ,broadway ,times square etc.the room we stayed in was in need of a makeover with little space to hang any clohes up & quite cold aswell {heater didnt work}.we had a buffet breakfast here only the once & that was enough..!!! The main bar area is spacious with an average selection of beers,The bar food was limited & rather dissapointing.most staff were friendly & polite but it sometimes felt as though it was a chore to access the hotels secure safe area.....I would recommend going to nearby bars & restaurants for a better selection.On a plus side the hotel is in a quiet area away from the hustle & bustle of the main attractions but in a short walking distance... PS take comfortable footwear with you,as you will need them

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petertoonarmy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear petertoonarmy1971,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is very nice to know that you liked our location. On the other hand, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to new York for my daughters 16th birthday. We stayed at the holiday inn which we were impressed with for the value. The rooms were spacious and comfy. Bathrooms could be cleaned a but better but overall we were pleases. Would definitely recommend this spot to friends and family.


  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jharwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you are looking for a good location with fair price a good option is the Holiday Inn Midtown in New York.
The staff is polite and tells you good tips about Midtown Manhattan and New York in general.

You will be near enough to theaters, Times Square and at the same time escaping the hustle and bustle of the Broadway area in a walking distance.

Good rates and quality!

Cons:
Avoid smoking rooms!

Room Tip: Avoid smoking rooms or you`ll be smelling like stale smoke. Terrible!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Myself and my 3 girlfriends booked a room here on a Saturday night in January 2013 to celebrate my birthday. The hotel lobby was pleasant. However, we waited in line for 35 minutes to check in, which was very uncomfortable with all of our luggage. We had requested a corner room and were pleased to find that the hotel was able to accommodate our request.

When we got of the elevator on our assigned floor we were displeased to find unclean and outdated hallways - a used room service tray was left outside of one room and remained there for at least 4 hours. We booked a room with two double beds and they were extremely small (perhaps the size of a standard bed - definitely not a queen size). The beds were also very firm and, as I prefer a softer bed, this was uncomfortable.

As we were getting ready for our Saturday girl's night out we played some music on the small clock radio provided by the hotel and laughed and talked (as friends typically do). We are all college grads and a few of us have our master's degree and we just wanted to enjoy the weekend in NYC. At 8 o'clock on Saturday night we were surprised to receive a stern knock on the door from hotel management telling us that they had received a noise complaint and to be quiet or they would ask us to leave. My friends and I thought that this was particularly harsh language. Especially, as this was the first time they asked us to be quiet and also because it was 8 o'clock on a Saturday night! We did lower our voices and continued to get dressed. At 10 o'clock there was another noise complaint. We assured the manager that we had been trying to be quieter and that we were about to head out anyway and would be sleep after we returned. Now I do respect other people's comfort, but at the same time it was early on a Saturday night and we were not playing any loud music, and since we paid for our room just as other guests we should be able to enjoy our stay within reason.

In short, I would be hard pressed to stay at this hotel again and I certainly would not recommend the establishment to a friend. The front desk and housekeeping staff were pleasant. However, the cons far outweighed the pros. Next time, we will spend a bit more money for a more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iheartJessxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Jess3737,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I appreciate the compliments on our hotel staff. However, I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay as we always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the condition of the room accommodations you received and issues you encountered during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as we were only staying for one night and needed a good quality hotel that was fairly cheap.

Great value for money. We had a room with 2 queen beds. Rooms are spacious and extremely clean. Beds were very comfy with a choice of different firmness of pillows. Bathroom was clean.

Great location. It only took us 5 minutes to walk to Times Square.

Would recommend to anyone staying in NYC

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
2,538 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 468 in New York City
6,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#342 of 468 in New York City
6,151 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 468 in New York City
6,446 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing