We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a good job they are upgrading the hotel although they want to consider upgrading some of the staff!”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #352 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I expect to feel welcome upon arrival and 1st impressions really count. The reception team just dont cut the mustard. The cleaning staff put them to shame: friendly...warm...go that extra mile to help....concierge staff-very helpful....the staff create the atmosphere and this needs addressing during revamp! Cold rooms luke warm water locked windows shabby bathrooms.....oh and back to the staff as I remember the abrupt blonde host dressed in scruffy attire ready to pounce on guests inbetween supping coffee and gossiping with another I presume member of staff....no uniform and yet not a manager....not very professional.
Location might be great but it'll take more than a fancy make-over to convince me this hotel can be great.....apologise all you like on the wall Im paying for this hotel NOW!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyonce777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear cyonce777,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because our staff did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,347)
There are newer reviews for The Watson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,965 - 1,971 of 4,348 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's a Holiday Inn in Manhattan...this is not a four-star hotel. With that said, it was comfy and clean. Rooms show a little wear in places but, given how busy this place is, I'm surprised it looks as nice as it does. It's strange location, but it is close (walking distance) to Lincoln Center, Broadway, Times Square, Intrepid Museum and Carnegie Hall (to name a few places). Not alot of great restaurants nearby, although there is a fantastic place on 9th called Kashkaval. I was amazed at the friendliness of the staff. I was there with an elementary school choir and the staff was so nice and solicitous. If I was in Manhattan with kids, I would definitely consider staying there again. If I'm solo, I'll go someplace a little more hip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and me expend a whole week in NYC. We stay on the Holiday Inn Hotel, price was really good. The service is average, no good one at the wellcomming or so. The hotel is quite old really, any way we did not expend too much time at the hotel, we were all day in the street, the whole week.

1  Thank DenisG79
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear DenisG79,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very large comfy room 511 on 5th floor. Bed was massive and really comfortable. The hotel is on 57th and 9th so only a few blocks from Times Square. The bar was nice but not many seats. The swimming pool was closed as we wen't 8th -16th jan. the breakfast was good and really good value for 2 bacon, egg and cheese on toast, 2 coffee and 2 juice was about $35 compared to $60 at astro's.
We have stayed in the Wellington in the past and think this hotel is much better although a little further away. We had no problems with the heating and the window opened fine.
The reception staff were very polite and helpful and the bell man even sorted out our transport back to the airport.
The hotel has free wifi which worked ok. Really enjoyed my trip and would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank christwirler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

No real complaints about this property. The biggest plus was the free wifi, which is great! It was pretty close to everything (restaurants, fast food) and not far from the subway. It is about a 15 minute walk to Times Square, which doesn't sound like much until it's 2am and you're freezing and dying to get home :) The room itself was clean and nice. The bathroom definitely needed renovating, but the rest of the room was good. Large flat screen TV, a computer desk, arm chair and comfy bed. Overall, a very good base for your Manhattan adventure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy-S-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

No complains - everything worked ok, plus free internet, walking distance from all down-town locations which we wanted to visit. No m/w or fridge, limited number of blankets, mutiple-used linens - but all these are tolerable for such a little price, considering the location!

They even had a small fitness room - crowded with machines, but manageable, all in working condition.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ira2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived at 11:30am after a cruise and room was ready. It was New Years Eve and I was glad to get my luggage to room. The room was big unlike most NYC hotels. There are 2 towers and I think all of the construction will be done on both towers sometime in 2013. The room had a large flat screen TV. It was the perfect location to walk to Central Park, Lincoln Center and the upper west side. All subways are very near by. The staff was very helpful. I booked over 11 months out so for NYE we got an amazing price in NYC. I am glad the security staff was checking room keys at 1:00am on NYE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler24NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#269 of 468 in New York City
2,538 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 468 in New York City
6,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#342 of 468 in New York City
6,152 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#389 of 468 in New York City
6,450 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#186 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $154 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing