We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good for price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #343 of 477 Hotels in New York City
CT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good for price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

big room for manhattan at very good price, lobby was nice and clean, good big bar area, rooms were older for sure, bathrooms very bad but oh well it was cheap, could not get the air/heat working only stayed one night but fine if your not planning on being in your room for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigfatposterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    1,730
    1,090
    330
    226
See reviews for
1,348
945
203
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Spent a night here after three excruciating nights in a hostel. Felt like a huge breath of fresh air! The check-in process was quick and efficient. I got there early but they were ready to give me a room right away. The room was clean, spacious and well-maintained. Concierge was helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast in the restaurant was ok. The location, though, is not that great. There's absolutely no subway station nearby with lines that would take you to Times Sq. If you want to go to places in Times Sq or Hell's Kitchen the easiest way to do it is to walk 10 blocks. I'm from Texas so too much walking is incompatible with with life in my book, especially when it's freezing out. Otherwise, this place was great and I would consider staying here again if there's a good deal coming along.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruiNruiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and i have stayed in this hotel for the last couple of years for the weekend. Close to time square and lots of a attractions for fraction of te price. Parking is reasonable for NY. $44 but if you stay in the hotel it's only $27. Highly reccommend for a short stay great for budget. Elevelors are slow that's the only down fall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quonlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Overall I really enjoyed my stay. When we first arrived the front desk was very friendly and answered all of the questions we had. The rooms had a nice size tv and we actually had a view unlike the other hotels we stayed in during our previous trips to the city. They also had free hbo which was really nice. There were subways only 2 blocks away which was nice and a cvs on the corner. We had a queen size bed which was enough but I'm used to staying in a king. Everything was clean and there were no signs of bugs or anything of the sort. The lobby was decorated for the holidays and was very pretty. The only bad things I can think for this hotel are the elevators are very small although we never had to wait more than 2 turns you could only fit about 5 people max with no luggage. Whenever someone was in the hall you could here it very clear but I never heard anyone in their rooms. And the last thing was that even though the subways were close the hotel itself was not by many attractions so had to take the subway in order to get certain places. Although we don't mind to walk and we would walk the 20 minutes it took toget to times square. Overall I would stay here again and in the summer they had a rooftop pool so we will have to come back when it's open.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We just spent three days in Manhattan with our two teenaged daughters right before Christmas. We chose this hotel based on the reviews and the price, which couldn't be beat...we got a room with two queen beds for $110 a night. Great location...walking distance to Central Park, Fifth Avenue and Times Square. We had a corner room on the 7th floor in the north tower, which faced the street. The traffic noise didn't bother us and we were able to walk down the stairs to avoid elevator traffic. Clean room. Very comfortable beds. Big room. We had to ask for extra towels because there were four of us, but they were brought up right away. We never tried their breakfast. We went to the deli down the street (on the corner of 10th Avenue) and all four of us had breakfast for $20. Our only issues were the wifi, which really was non-existent, and the elevators, which were really backed up when we checked in. Honestly, though, when you go to New York as a tourist, you don't go to hang out in your hotel and get online...you go to see New York! Which we were able to do easily from this hotel. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have heard some mixed reviews about this hotel but we think it it great. It's a little old but the rooms were clean and large, the staff was nice and the location is great. We have stayed in other NYC hotels and paid a lot lot more but for the money this hotel worked out great. It is close enough to walk to almost every thing in midtown. Parking was easy and there were many good restaurants near by. Next time in New york we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bg3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

the lobby is very nice and the desk people helpful about the area. My room was on the small end, but so was the price! the room was well kept (i.e. carpet newer, fixures nice). the Subway and bus routes are very close. I did walk back from Times Square which took about ten minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#251 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,335 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#137 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,204 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#151 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,903 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#327 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing