We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Poorly managed and needs an update” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #339 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Poorly managed and needs an update”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I needed a quick, affordable place to stay in the city for a night and this place did fine in that respect. However, more generally I noticed a number of deficiencies that worried me had I been staying more than 6 hours. First, like other reviews the entire hotel had a 1990s Holiday Inn feel. The rooms were surprisingly decent given the tired, grim decor of the hallways and shabby, scuffed woodwork in the lobby. Second, there were a number of poor judgments made by management regarding signage. Not only were there excessive color flyers in public spaces that described credit versus debit authorizations and lose storage charges, but some were downright frightening with a note underneath each plastic flyer frame that reminded guests that such frames were not to be removed from the walls. At the very least, these managerial additions to public spaces were tacky, and at worst belied a certain level of cheapness or insecurity that made a guest like me a bit on edge to be staing there.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MDWandering83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear L-ATL,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in many aspects. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    1,617
    1,013
    306
    213
See reviews for
1,235
868
192
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is apparently due to be refurbished in the next two year, and really needs it. Rooms are really grim, carpets are old, decor and bathrooms are tired, rooms smell of smoke masked by horrible air freshener.

Wi-fi is slow and intermittent. It's free, but I'd rather pay for something that actually works.

Lobby bar has no atmosphere whatsoever.

Location is OK, but the hotel has little else to recommend it unfortunately.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Gobbledyspook,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. The feedback we receive is crucial to improve the products and services we offer.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A perfect base to explore New York. Ideal location just slightly off the main drag. Lovely comfy beds in a good size room. The rooms could do with a lick of paint, but this didn't detract from the amazing time we had

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorkfan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A quick cab ride to the Javits makes it very convienent. Rooms nee a little TLC. Lots of great food on the block. Gym is available to hotel guests. Breakfast voucher for continental only was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: Higher floors should be a little quieter. 2nd floor was very street noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

nothing special here, but purchased well in advance, the price was right. Hotel alleges to have been renovated but it is not apparent. It is well worn, elevators come to a hard stop, it is a tired but adequate place

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmithSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There were enough good reviews for us to give it a try. Other than it being an old facility, we were very pleased. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We arrived about 10 am. They held our bags and tried to accommodate us early. We were told to come back at 12. (Check in is 3)Our room had two queen beds, The heat was turned off and the window was cracked which was comfortable for us. (We were concerned about the heat since it had bad reviews) It was quiet on the 12th floor. We were very pleased and definitely will go back. We also met the owner who was very friendly adn chatty as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has nice large rooms. Plenty of space for two. It's a little old-fashioned, but everything is clean and functioning. The hotel is suited in a quiet piece of Manhattan, so we slept just fine. Also important: it's at walking distance from Central Park, Times Square, Broadway. Breakfast at the hotel was not really our cup of tea, but there's a great diner just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lieke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,277 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,499 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#320 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#279 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,214 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,089 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing