We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #341 of 478 Hotels in New York City
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There were enough good reviews for us to give it a try. Other than it being an old facility, we were very pleased. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We arrived about 10 am. They held our bags and tried to accommodate us early. We were told to come back at 12. (Check in is 3)Our room had two queen beds, The heat was turned off and the window was cracked which was comfortable for us. (We were concerned about the heat since it had bad reviews) It was quiet on the 12th floor. We were very pleased and definitely will go back. We also met the owner who was very friendly adn chatty as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    1,618
    1,014
    306
    213
See reviews for
1,235
868
192
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel has nice large rooms. Plenty of space for two. It's a little old-fashioned, but everything is clean and functioning. The hotel is suited in a quiet piece of Manhattan, so we slept just fine. Also important: it's at walking distance from Central Park, Times Square, Broadway. Breakfast at the hotel was not really our cup of tea, but there's a great diner just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lieke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean. Nice TV. Decent Internet. Employees are qualify and friendly. The food from the bar and restaurant is very good, but prices kind of funny like $4.50 for a single coke. Basic New York attractions are kind of close. In overall I'm very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firescuepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I spent three nights at the hotel.
The choice was determined by the price at $ 200 with tax \ day and location.
The hotel looks old.
The lobby and rooms were outdated, but it's not a problem.
The room is very large, as opposed to the bathroom.
The bed is comfortable and big!
No minibar, but there is a coffee maker.
There is free Wi fi.
5 minutes walk Columbus Circle where you will find everything you need
(Restaurants, shops, a huge supermarket!)
A reasonable choice for this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was worried having read some of the reviews but the Hotel was great, we stayed there for 4 nights over Thanksgiving, every where was walkable (though maybe a long walk in some cases!) we got the hang of the subway. the room was large & very clean the bathroom was fine, check in & out was fast everyone was helpful.
We ate at a place called Olympic Flame which was up a side street to the left & over the crossing from the hotel good food & great value, the deli on the corner was amazing too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room 206- bathroom tub was cracked and patched, horribly. Bathroom setup was awful. Cramped vanitly area a little wider than sink. Toilet/ shower we're on top of each other and towel bar approx 4 feet away in unused area of space? Concierge was pushy instead of being helpful- tried to make theater ticket sale was only concern. Parking garage attached was rude and slow. Charged additional $10 for being over 24 hrs.by 20 minutes due to extensive line of people waiting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Midtown for 6 nights in early November for our honeymoon. We arrived about a week after the big storm and after being caught in terrible traffic from Newark, it was nice to arrive to a room that (by New York standards) was quite spacious and very tidy. After a long day of travelling, it was also nice to find a super comfy bed!

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its location. An easy walk to Central Park and Columbus Circle subway station, which makes the city really accessible.

We were a little disappointed with the room temperature - the staff had advised us that because it was winter, they had to put the heating on despite it being quite a warm day/night - didn't really make much sense to us and meant for a relatively sleepless night the night before we were due to fly out. Also, they do offer free WIFI which is a massive bonus, but unfortunately it only worked for about half of our stay and when we had raised this with staff, they weren't all that helpful and just told us it was supposed to be working.

We did have breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was fairly average. Edible but the coffee was cold and the meals were nothing special.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane_E_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,278 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,505 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#320 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#277 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#139 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,090 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing