We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watson Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean. Nice TV. Decent Internet. Employees are qualify and friendly. The food from the bar and restaurant is very good, but prices kind of funny like $4.50 for a single coke. Basic New York attractions are kind of close. In overall I'm very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firescuepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    1,782
    1,123
    344
    236
See reviews for
1,383
985
220
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I spent three nights at the hotel.
The choice was determined by the price at $ 200 with tax \ day and location.
The hotel looks old.
The lobby and rooms were outdated, but it's not a problem.
The room is very large, as opposed to the bathroom.
The bed is comfortable and big!
No minibar, but there is a coffee maker.
There is free Wi fi.
5 minutes walk Columbus Circle where you will find everything you need
(Restaurants, shops, a huge supermarket!)
A reasonable choice for this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was worried having read some of the reviews but the Hotel was great, we stayed there for 4 nights over Thanksgiving, every where was walkable (though maybe a long walk in some cases!) we got the hang of the subway. the room was large & very clean the bathroom was fine, check in & out was fast everyone was helpful.
We ate at a place called Olympic Flame which was up a side street to the left & over the crossing from the hotel good food & great value, the deli on the corner was amazing too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room 206- bathroom tub was cracked and patched, horribly. Bathroom setup was awful. Cramped vanitly area a little wider than sink. Toilet/ shower we're on top of each other and towel bar approx 4 feet away in unused area of space? Concierge was pushy instead of being helpful- tried to make theater ticket sale was only concern. Parking garage attached was rude and slow. Charged additional $10 for being over 24 hrs.by 20 minutes due to extensive line of people waiting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Midtown for 6 nights in early November for our honeymoon. We arrived about a week after the big storm and after being caught in terrible traffic from Newark, it was nice to arrive to a room that (by New York standards) was quite spacious and very tidy. After a long day of travelling, it was also nice to find a super comfy bed!

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its location. An easy walk to Central Park and Columbus Circle subway station, which makes the city really accessible.

We were a little disappointed with the room temperature - the staff had advised us that because it was winter, they had to put the heating on despite it being quite a warm day/night - didn't really make much sense to us and meant for a relatively sleepless night the night before we were due to fly out. Also, they do offer free WIFI which is a massive bonus, but unfortunately it only worked for about half of our stay and when we had raised this with staff, they weren't all that helpful and just told us it was supposed to be working.

We did have breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was fairly average. Edible but the coffee was cold and the meals were nothing special.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane_E_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

we stayed for a week 9-16 November 2012.

while the room was not as nice as the travel agent promised - the recent refurb meant the huge tv in the room clearly. it was cleaned daily, the bed was comfy, not too soft or too hard.

i cant comment on the restaurant as we didnt eat there - i know my father in law wasnt impressed when he had a look at the breakfast buffet.

the bar staff were lovely - even when we wouldnt leave ( we were celebrating our engagement)

the desk staff were hit and miss - they had an answer for everything sometimes without actually checking

in short - it does what it says on the tin - its standard, it was very clean, and when i emailed before our trip (following Sandy) i received a prompt reply from their in house customer service team

the selling point is the location - 10 - 15 mins walk to times square one way - 10 minutes walk to 5th avenue

2 minutes to central park

overall - not bad at all

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

2 blocks to 59th st Subway, Huge rooms, Bathrooms could be updated. very friendly. Awesome Deli on the Corner (Killer Cheesecake and bagles - and cheap). Easy check in and check out.
No extra charge for third or fourth guest (saved $ - versa other hotels in nyc)

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,602 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,656 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#343 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing