We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #343 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean. Nice TV. Decent Internet. Employees are qualify and friendly. The food from the bar and restaurant is very good, but prices kind of funny like $4.50 for a single coke. Basic New York attractions are kind of close. In overall I'm very pleased with everything.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firescuepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    1,682
    1,055
    317
    219
See reviews for
1,309
910
195
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I spent three nights at the hotel.
The choice was determined by the price at $ 200 with tax \ day and location.
The hotel looks old.
The lobby and rooms were outdated, but it's not a problem.
The room is very large, as opposed to the bathroom.
The bed is comfortable and big!
No minibar, but there is a coffee maker.
There is free Wi fi.
5 minutes walk Columbus Circle where you will find everything you need
(Restaurants, shops, a huge supermarket!)
A reasonable choice for this price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowSergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was worried having read some of the reviews but the Hotel was great, we stayed there for 4 nights over Thanksgiving, every where was walkable (though maybe a long walk in some cases!) we got the hang of the subway. the room was large & very clean the bathroom was fine, check in & out was fast everyone was helpful.
We ate at a place called Olympic Flame which was up a side street to the left & over the crossing from the hotel good food & great value, the deli on the corner was amazing too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room 206- bathroom tub was cracked and patched, horribly. Bathroom setup was awful. Cramped vanitly area a little wider than sink. Toilet/ shower we're on top of each other and towel bar approx 4 feet away in unused area of space? Concierge was pushy instead of being helpful- tried to make theater ticket sale was only concern. Parking garage attached was rude and slow. Charged additional $10 for being over 24 hrs.by 20 minutes due to extensive line of people waiting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Midtown for 6 nights in early November for our honeymoon. We arrived about a week after the big storm and after being caught in terrible traffic from Newark, it was nice to arrive to a room that (by New York standards) was quite spacious and very tidy. After a long day of travelling, it was also nice to find a super comfy bed!

The best thing about this hotel is definitely its location. An easy walk to Central Park and Columbus Circle subway station, which makes the city really accessible.

We were a little disappointed with the room temperature - the staff had advised us that because it was winter, they had to put the heating on despite it being quite a warm day/night - didn't really make much sense to us and meant for a relatively sleepless night the night before we were due to fly out. Also, they do offer free WIFI which is a massive bonus, but unfortunately it only worked for about half of our stay and when we had raised this with staff, they weren't all that helpful and just told us it was supposed to be working.

We did have breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was fairly average. Edible but the coffee was cold and the meals were nothing special.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane_E_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we stayed for a week 9-16 November 2012.

while the room was not as nice as the travel agent promised - the recent refurb meant the huge tv in the room clearly. it was cleaned daily, the bed was comfy, not too soft or too hard.

i cant comment on the restaurant as we didnt eat there - i know my father in law wasnt impressed when he had a look at the breakfast buffet.

the bar staff were lovely - even when we wouldnt leave ( we were celebrating our engagement)

the desk staff were hit and miss - they had an answer for everything sometimes without actually checking

in short - it does what it says on the tin - its standard, it was very clean, and when i emailed before our trip (following Sandy) i received a prompt reply from their in house customer service team

the selling point is the location - 10 - 15 mins walk to times square one way - 10 minutes walk to 5th avenue

2 minutes to central park

overall - not bad at all

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

2 blocks to 59th st Subway, Huge rooms, Bathrooms could be updated. very friendly. Awesome Deli on the Corner (Killer Cheesecake and bagles - and cheap). Easy check in and check out.
No extra charge for third or fourth guest (saved $ - versa other hotels in nyc)

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#323 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,158 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,866 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#252 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,395 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#283 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,277 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#137 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing