We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good price, good location, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #338 of 475 Hotels in New York City
The Hills Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good price, good location, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 11 & 12 year old sons. The hotel is a bit 'tired' and in need of a spruce up. The room was clean and comfortable (although the bathroom did have a bit of an old damp smell to it) and big enough for the 4 of us and our suitcases. Great value for NY. Good location, handy to subway walking distance to Times Square. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    1,649
    1,038
    311
    215
See reviews for
1,279
887
194
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

found coffee machinr pain would have prefered tea kettle..my daughter and i had great time love newyork all staff friendly to us room great to ate breakfast once which was nice enjoyed pancskes....would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblessu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here for four nights and spent €170 a night before tax!! crazy money but it was the cheapest hotel with parking in manhattan. we had to pay €27 a day parking which was expensive but a discounted rate.

when we arrived we were very confused about where to park, we didnt realise we were supposed to park in the city car park next door it was very busy and we had to queue for ages down the street to park. the rooms were clean and comfy but the staff were very ignorant (annoying when we paid so much money)!

location was brill. 10 min walk to times square and 5th ave, 2 min to subway! atmosphere in hotel was quite moody, more a business hotel i think but we weren't bothered nyc was so good we were barely at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beccy113456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here as part of a long weekend break to escape the dismal weather back home in the UK. Our room was on the 16th floor with far reaching views of the skyscraper scene. The hotel is looking a bit dated but there are information signs about stating that all rooms are to be updated and refurnished starting in early 2013 over a period of 2 years. It should look very good by then. The hotel is within reasonable walking distance of local attractions such as Central Park, 5th Avenue and filming locations for Home Alone2! The subway network is nearby for exploring lower Manhattan which is really too far to walk there and back.
Facilities are pretty good with a restaurant, Gotham Cafe, a bar and lounge area for relaxing after a hard day's walking. Free WiFi for guests is also a bonus considering most UK hotels charge for this. I would not recommend having a hire car in New York as parking charges are eye wateringly expensive. Cabs are plentyfull if you can stand the permanent gridlock on the roads. The subway is much better and cheap at $2.50 each way for the full length of Manhattan Island.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer a good view of the Manhattan skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Overall, a solid B+. Rooms show age but no biggie. Absolutely NO climate control in the room. We called and was told they have a one way system. Either set for ac or heat. We stayed in Nov and our room was about 110 degrees. When we called we were told "sorry".

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank made2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We normally stay at a Hilton (for member rewards) when we travel, however, on our recent trip, all available Hilton hotels were priced at $350 and up so we shopped around for a cheaper alternative but still a brand hotel that we have heard of which should avoid any unpleasant surprises. So we ended up at the Holiday Inn Midtown. No question, the location is the best thing about this hotel and the price of less than $250. Like most recent reviewers, we found the rooms essentially clean but in need of redoing, especially the mold in the bathroom needs attending to. However, we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room - for NYC standards it was huge. Another big plus was the free wi-fi, both in rooms and in the lobby. We had no issue with customer service - my husband to be forgot his razor and a replacement was brought up within 5 minutes of calling the front desk. Another plus for the hotel is a very nice hotel bar downstairs - overpriced, as all hotel bars are, but pleasant and handy for a night cap after a long day in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The bedbugs were not as bad as the staff's non-reaction and overall terrible attitudes. We could live with tired old rooms for $250 but seriously EVERY aspect of the staff there was terrible. Yes, we have several of our group get bug bites.
STAY away , what a terrible place.

Room Tip: Run, do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CWinstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear CWinstin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received and your overall experience at our property. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,063 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,338 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#282 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,255 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#140 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,677 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing