We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Ranked #338 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here just last week, we arrived a day before hurricane sandy, and spent the whole time during the storm didn't lose any power, nor any tv reception during the storm, the location is great only a short distance away from everything 5mins to Central Park, and 10-15min walk to Times Square and herald square where all the good shops are. Overall the hotel is great if you need a hotel away from the action but still only a short distance back into it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Higo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    1,648
    1,038
    311
    215
See reviews for
1,279
886
194
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Close to Central Park and easy to get to many attractions in NYC. Our room was large,especially for a midtown hotel. The breakfast buffet was good but not included in the price. There were 2 good Irish pubs/restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel Staff very rude and unhelpful except for the concierge who was most obliging. The food in the hotel was the worst Ive ever eaten and we spent two nights with no hot water, and no discount because it wasnt "their fault". The room was very clean and comfortable but their was a lot of activity all through the night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickySE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear nicnadlea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad your liked you room accommodations. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with the hot water and the unacceptable service you received that fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

OK, this is no Waldorf, but neither are the prices! It is comfortable, clean, and the owner is personally involved and is an American. We actually met him on the elevator and he is quite the character. Looks like the guy on the Monopoly board. He also is part owner of the Chelsea in SoHo with Robert DeNiro. Anyway, I will definitely stay here again. In fact, it might become my "go to" hotel in this economy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We checked in here for one night and were glad it was ONLY one night. The location you can't beat if you are doing anything on the West side of Manhattan. Very easy to get to, and VERY easy to get back on the highway when you're going home. Rooms DEFINITELY need updating. The arms on our chair in the room look like cats had a field day and scratched it like crazy. They only had a smoking room left which was unfortunate since neither of us smoked, but we opened up both windows when we got there and it helped a bit. When we were checking out the lovely front desk attendant told us the rooms were in the process of being renovated and would hopefully be done by Spring. If you're picky and like a nice hotel experience I would skip this one until they're renovated. If you don't mind a no frills experience I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel...yes...all the hotels that NYC has to offer we stayed at the Holiday Inn!!!
IT is in a great location! Same street as Anderson and A few blocks down from The View.
The room was Very comfortable...away from the main NYC noise...has a great bar for a nightcap...nice restaurant for breakfast...And near great restaurants in Hells Kitchen!!!!!
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Booked on line through Hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Family of three stayed here for 11 nights.major party in room next door & across hall was taken care of by security who threatened eviction to the party animals on night one.that was the only problem for 11 nights. The rooms were comfortable and really big even for three of us with heaps of baggage.We had a south facing room back off the street and it was very quiet. Great to be able to open the windows..easy access to subway. Walking distance to central park & times square.Concierge got us tickets for "the book of Mormon" on the same day we asked him which had been sold out for over 12 months, so achieved mission impossible. Restaurant was good but a bit cafeteria like & staff were attentive.The bar staff were totally uninterested & close to useless. If you need a bit of space I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1962crash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#321 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,061 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,334 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#282 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#139 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,674 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#131 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St

Property: Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St 3*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques. JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing