We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in early September. It was difficult to find a Manhattan hotel with a good location and at a reasonable price at that time of year. I was concerned after reading some previous posts, but I was pleasantly surprised by this Holiday Inn! As many have previously mentioned, the location is great - the Columbus Circle Subway Station is really close by - about 4 blocks. The room was fine, no problems with cleanliness or bugs and the beds were comfy. Had a few drinks and some food one night at the bar/lounge and the prices, service and food were all good. Overall highly recommend this hotel as value for money and a great location - just don't expect 5 star and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazy4travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    1,782
    1,122
    344
    236
See reviews for
1,383
985
219
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times, the location is good. The rooftop pool is great, fantastic views, but can be crowded in the afternoons. The concierge was very helpful for booking tours, theatre tickets etc. but as they take their time to help everyone the queues are long. It would be better if they had more staff for this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuniperBerry66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was just a few blocks away from time square, had on site parking which rare in NY. Friendly staff. Huge rooms with double queen bed room available. Great for people that are tourist don't mind to walk a couple of blocks to times square. Clean rooms although the decor was a little outdated but who cares we were there to b out having fun not staying cooped up in a room. Best value for your money. They have a little convenience store in the lobby, bar and restaurant. They r also three blocks away from the subway station great if you plan to ride the subway to9/11 memorial. Lots of guest in this hotel are young international travelers. best kept secret. Will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluegummybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The location of this hotel was about the best part about it. Service was non existent. Our room was satisfactory but had filthy windows and the drapes were very tired too. The lobby etc certainly need upgrading.. My husband is a Priority Club member but that did not achieve anything in any upgrades etc. Wouldn't rush back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahernen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Ahernen,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am happy to know that our location was suitable enough for your needs. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the staff and room accommodations that you received. Your comments have been documented and will certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for staying and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and found it was a very good hotel. Its nothing particularly special and you get what you pay for. We used the hotel as more of a base as we were out and about most of the time. The service of the staff is excellent and the rooms are well equipt. The location is perfect as it down the road from times square, columbus circle (where the subway is), central park and the intrepid air, sea space museum. We also went in the pool on a couple of days that we stayed and this was also well maintained although quite cold! I can't really fault this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Potcharmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Older building, resulting in a little ragged style, which gives some drawbacks on the feeling of cleanliness, but overall this was ok. Nice and friendly staff. Breakfast was average, not particularly good but not disappointing either. I'd say this is a safe bet if you want to stay in a mid range hotel in Manhattan, but don't expect any luxury.

I am a platinum member, and was a bit disappointed of the lack of available upgrades and extra service. I received an extra bagel for breakfast, that's pretty much it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Staff was very nice and helpful but the hotel itself was overpriced for what you got. At $350.00 a night I expected it to be much nicer. A/C unit was about thirty years old and did not work very well, housekeeping had to bring a fan up it was so hot. Rooms were clean but very old, elevators were blistering hot and hallways smelled musty. But again the staff was great and we enjoyed our time in New York before our cruise. The location was the biggest factor for this hotel, everything was within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the excellent location of our property. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the unusual condition of our elevators and hallways. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the rates. Prices do vary depending on the market. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to serve you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,591 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#343 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing