We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT!”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #353 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights during Christmas time and during New years with my two daughters and my best friend and her daughter. When we arrived we were told that we had to go into a smoking room with a double bed that night as the flights being cancelled at the airport earlier that week had meant that people had to stay longer. The smoking room did live up to it's name as it smelt horrendous. But the next day we were assigned our room and it was nice. The pillows were amazing too. The beds were comfy, NO BEDBUGS! We were also given breakfast vouchers and drink vouchers for our whole stay because of the first night. The breakfast's were very nice but very expensive if you were paying full-price. The staff were lovely and very kind and helpful. Couldn't really fault it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flowers133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,352)
There are newer reviews for The Watson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,500 - 2,506 of 4,352 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

Get to the Hotel early. Our flight was delayed and we arrived at the hotel at 11pm they had given our rooms to someone else. There were no non smoking rooms left so they gave us smoking rooms instead and they were disgusting, the smell was through everything even the pillows and blankets. We were supposed to have twin rooms. One room was at one end of the building and the other at the other end. The 5 of us ended up all sleeping in two double beds. My wife and son both had asthma attacks during the night from the smell.
Our accommodation had been booked for three months and they said bad luck first in first served

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grahamearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

It is located in Manhattan, walking distance from Times Square. Rooms are no bad, but a little bit old. Its bar is nice and the service is ok. I know the rate I paid is worth for the place where it is located, but I still think the hotel could remodel someday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superfoodiemoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I booked the hotel on Priceline.com for a great price. I was later told any hotel in NYC under $400 has bed bugs. We stayed one night, 5/31/11. We were very impressed. It was our first trip to NYC. It was in a great, safe area close to midtown & Central Park South. Felt comfortable walking any where even to dinner at night. The beds were very comfortable. No bed bugs! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debbie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Felt very welcome as we arrived. Rooms were comfy and were a decent size. We had a buffet breakfast at the Gotham cafe downstairs which was yum. Great service there too! Very close to central park and other areas. All within walking distance - which is what you want to do in new York to see everything. Only about a ten minute walk to time square. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

You don't go to NYC to stay in your room but the rooms, although reasonably clean, were in need of new carpeting. As well he washrooms really need to have new wall-paper and the mold removed. The air-conditioners did not work in our room, or in our daughters' room. Overall the rooms, however, were fairly quiet in the part of the hotel we were in.

Public spaces somewhat better and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pentangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

When we walked down the hallway to our room, it smelled so badly of cigarette smoke, you could hardly breathe. The room was marginally better. There was a lot of noise, all night from the outside. It was very expensive, and we didn't have time to find alternative room. The carpet was very dirty, the shower grout had mold. The air conditioner control was broken, had to put the knob back on, then it never completely cooled the room. There was a sign by the elevator saying that renovation was in progress, but there was no evidence thaqt anything was being done. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very overpriced and awful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggykight1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#270 of 468 in New York City
2,539 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 468 in New York City
6,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#343 of 468 in New York City
6,153 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#388 of 468 in New York City
6,452 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $154 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing